We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, fair enough for staying in KRK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Matejko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Matejko
Ranked #101 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good location, fair enough for staying in KRK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Typical 3* hotel in a very good location - firstly because it's few minutes walk from the main square, secondly - because in Matejko square you may find many parking places, which is unique in Krakow city center. Nice and helpful reception stuff. Nothing to be amazed by, but for a weekend in Krakow - what you need more but bed near the heart of the city? ;-)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    349
    125
    30
    12
See reviews for
104
295
41
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Have just returned from a short break in Krakow and booked Hotel Matejko on the strength of Tripadvisor comments. Really glad we did as this proved to be a real treasure that made our stay a relaxing and enjoyable experience. Arriving at check in 3 hours early due to a very early flight the management were unfazed and quickly allowed us into our room. First impressions of the hotel were of its spotless appearance throughout. I wish I could find a vacuum cleaner that cleans my carpets like theirs! Our room was spacious, as was the bathroom. Free internet access was provided for the duration of our stay using a wired connection. Wireless connection was available for a small charge.

Breakfast was the sort of thing to be expected in a Polish hotel - a varied selection of hams, cheeses and pickles, plus scrambled eggs and frankfurters as a hot option. Cereals, yoghurts, jams, biscuits, bread and rolls added to the wide choice.

Despite there being many other guests during our stay we heard nothing and slept soundly on the very comfortable beds. Of course there was the normal multi-channel TV in the room. The lack of a channel showing live Premier League football was easily rectified by walking 30 yards down the street to a highly friendly bar (Bar Tiffany) with an English-speaking host and a room half-filled with ex-pats.

Its location is superb, only two minutes walk from the Barbican, about 5 from the very large Galleria Krakovia shopping centre. On leaving they were happy to store our luggage for us to collect later, thereby leaving us with a final day's sightseeing without the hassle of suitcases in tow.

If you want to stay in a superb and welcoming hotel at a sensible price this must be the one.

Room Tip: Try a high level room facing the church for a nice view and the sound of musical chimes to start you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

I recently stayed in Hotel Matejko in Krakow. I was a lone traveller and found this hotel to be just perfect, very near the main tourist area, Stare Miaste and also the bus/train station. It was clean and comfortable with good food and efficient staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

Very good 3 star hotel. Excellent location as only few minutes from stations and main square . Rooms big, breakfast filling and front staff very Helpful.
Had to leave early to catch plane after my visit and they made me a take away breakfast. Super. Thank you really enjoyed my stay in krakow

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipB396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea wales
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Spent 3 nights here with my husband, our room was big and warm with a comfy bed. Breakfast was good and plenty of choice. It's location is ideal not far from train station or the main square. I think we a good choice staying at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hendygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

I have been to Cracow many times, but this is the first time that I have stayed at Hotel Matejko. I didn't know what to expect, but I quickly discovered that I made the right choice. I really did enjoy my stay at Hotel Matejko. If arriving by train, save yourself some money and just walk to the place from the train station, plus you'll go by a nice galleria mall and get a chance to grab something that you may need before you check into the hotel. Checking in is a breeze, lovely front desk staff, and you will feel at ease and at home as soon as you walk into the place. My room was very clean and I had a nice view of a church and beautiful mature trees. What I love about these smaller hotels in central Cracow, and in Poland in general, is that you can open the windows and get some fresh morning air. The location of this hotel is absolutely fantastic, and you can walk to all the main attractions. The breakfast was included and I enjoyed it very much. I also had dinner once at the hotel restaurant. It was very good and both the waitress and the chef were very accommodating with respect to some changes and additions to what I have ordered that evening. The hotel has a little courtyard and I took my breakfast over there, plus would drop by there for a drink or coffee. It's a very small outdoor space, but cozy. There is a tour guide business on the same street, so you can have breakfast and then just take any tour that it offers. I went to Wieliczka, the famous salt mine, which is a must to see when visiting Cracow and the area. Great location, excellent value, very clean, safe, and pleasant staff. I will be returning to Cracow and I do plan to stay at Hotel Matejko for the second time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mirelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Great location 150 yds From the station. Clean and good value. Buffet breakfast not bad and served 7-10. Nice warm rooms and again clean. TV and a phone book, thats it, no coffee making facilities, hair dryer, pen and paper, maps, guide books etc. although I'm sure most of these things would have been avaliable from reception. BIG gripe - they charge for wi-fi. come on this is 2013 !! Still at least they do have it. I paid £25 a night early Feb. Have stayed before and will use again.

Room Tip: If you have a choice book lower floors. Lift is not super quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hughyjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Maly Krakow Aparthotel
Maly Krakow Aparthotel
#57 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Kleparz
Polonia Hotel
Polonia Hotel
#84 of 256 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#19 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Hotel Atrium
Hotel Atrium
#70 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Europejski Hotel
#60 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Alexander II
Hotel Alexander II
#116 of 256 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matejko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matejko

Property: Hotel Matejko
Address: pl. Jana Matejki 8, Krakow 31-157, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kleparz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matejko 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Matejko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matejko Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing