We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Hotel Matejko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Matejko
Ranked #107 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The hotel is clean, comfortable and in a superb location for sightseeing in Krakow. The hotel is situated two minutes from the main shopping centre and five minutes from the market square. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. I got an online deal on a four day break in February and ended up paying around £23 per night, exceptional value for a nice hotel so near to the main tourist area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuartM1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

Spent four nights at Matejko hotel at end of January 2014 and couldnt fault it.Was clean and warm which was great as it was snowing and absolutely freezing outside.Rooms cleaned daily and beds were comfortable.We knew not to expect a fry but the continental breakfast was lovely and there was plenty of it.Staff where pleasant,helpfull and all spoke English.We hope to return to Krakow in the future and will definately stay here again as it was close to everything we wanted to do.Tried restaurant in hotel on one night and the food was nice but we wanted to try different places while there.

Room Tip: Room 108 maybe a problem if you are a light sleeper as bus stops outside through the night and some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vintyg121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights at the start of February . Was great value for money. Hotel was Clean, Quiet with a nice breakfast. 5 minutes walk from the old town. Would stay again - lifts are the slowest I've ever been in but... They need to get a turbo fitted.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank nelgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I was a little concerned at the cheapness of this hotel. A friend had booked a stay on his own and we decided to join him. It wouldn't have been our first choice but it worked out really well. Our room was massive, if a little tired decoratively. Try and book a corner room. 105, 205, 305 or 405. Only one English TV channel but are you going to be watching TV all day? Staff were helpful when we wanted information and the breakfast was superb though you must be open to the continental style. For the money paid it was great. We'll stay again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are big 105, 205, 305, 405.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Great place to stay for very good value of money. Polite service, clean rooms, and great location in centrum of old town. Would definitely recommend for all travelers.
Thank you to all the staff for great service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylwia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Large rooms with very comfortable beds. Large en suite with plenty towels. Excellent large curtains help to enhance a good nights sleep. The breakfast was included in our price of only 169 Zloty for a twin room with an extra bed. Fantastic value. Fantastic location for the main attractions near the Old Town, the Galeria Krakowska shopping centre, or for the bus and train stations. The only thing missing was tea/coffee facilities in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for not higher than the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aldosda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

we have stayed in this hotel on short break to visit the city. Location of the hotel is very good near to Old Town, connection to trips for area around. Hotel itself very clean, rooms ok, although we asked for 1 double bed (as our room has 2 singles beds) and we have been told that we can slide together those beds no help from the staff. We chosen this hotel as we saw on website that internet is free, but we get there the wi fi is not free of charge and we had to pay for it.
Restaurant - that's the issue. We had included breakfast and dinner in price of the room. Breakfast - ok, but dinner not. We have ordered the food, which was not good, so we have asked to talk to chef, so we did and his attitude was unacceptable. He was rude and after our complaint, we could hear him swearing and shouting in the kitchen. Our meal was exchanged, we could not have any apologize. We have asked to see Manager, but he (she) was not on duty, we were told that he(she) will be there in the morning. Next morning we were told that Manager won't be there until afternoon. Again no one were interesting to talk and resolve the problem.
Overall staff seems not interesting with customer service.
Major complaint was the Caesar Salad, which was not a Caesar Salad. Dear Chef I think this link will be helpful to do it properly: http://youtu.be/9oDfEzWFeQk

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michalutka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#26 of 261 in Krakow
543 reviews
Kleparz
Polonia Hotel
Polonia Hotel
#91 of 261 in Krakow
488 reviews
Stare Miasto
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#45 of 261 in Krakow
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Maly Krakow Aparthotel
Maly Krakow Aparthotel
#70 of 261 in Krakow
482 reviews
Kleparz
Ibis Krakow Stare Miasto
Kleparz
Mercure Krakow Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matejko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matejko

Address: pl. Jana Matejki 8, Krakow 31-157, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kleparz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £38 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matejko 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Matejko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matejko Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing