We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hits the 3 C’s Central, Clean & Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Matejko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Matejko
Ranked #102 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Hits the 3 C’s Central, Clean & Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Matejko for 5 nights in March 2014. All the reviews on TA said it was Central, but I didn’t realise how close this was. We walked left out the hotel for 100’ish meters and in through the gates of the old city under the portcullis and surrounded by its high walls now used as a gallery by local artists selling their artworks.
The hotel is clean and efficiently run, thank to a lot of your advice here which said get a low floor, we unfortunately forgot of course holiday excitement won over. But we were lucky enough to end up on the first floor in an idealic corner room 105. With its gigantic balcony and suite like appearance including a separate sleeping chamber, I think it may have been one of the biggest rooms in the hotel.
The reason I said luckily we ended up on a low floor was because the lift was abysmally slow, I had read your reviews and we used it once on arrival and not again, sometimes life is just not worth wasting with its model T like speeds. The rooms were basic but clean, no safe and the TV had one English speaking channel, BBC world, but you don’t go away to watch tv. The shower was powerful and had a spa-like setup with multiple heads and lots of hot water and the bed was comfortable although it could have used more pillows. I think this is a winner and Yes, I am easy to please sometimes when it hits My 3 C’s criteria.
The Food, Breakfast was the typical European fare, including eggs, Boiled and scrambled, for some reason chopped hot-dogs, cheese, meats, cereals and lots of bread. The bread in Poland is something not to miss, although the breakfast bread is a basic example of this I would strongly advise you not to miss out on buying the bread from the cart vendors on the street, it costs 1.5Zt (Around .25cents) these became our staple snacks while exploring. Don’t go down to breakfast too late, they don’t restock the boiled eggs and some other products, also the coffee machine is probably one of the most infuriating items in the hotel, please Hotel Matejko put in a coffee pot, make it easier for us all.
We didn’t eat in the Hotel Matejko for dinner, there were too many options around, but it seems fairly priced and offers basic polish Fare to try, I don’t know if the hotel have them, but make sure the try the potato cakes while in Poland, well worth a try.
Finally, Location, there is one more gem just a few doors down from the hotel, a tour groups office, these are left out the door and a few doors down on the left. We actually used this company to go to auschwitz and birkenau and the salt mines, the great thing for people staying in the Hotel Matejko as pick up and drop off are at the office, so nice for the 9am pickups.
Other than that, we will go back and we will be staying in the Hotel Matejko again, hopefully in room 105.
Enjoy Poland and Krakow, the bread, the market, the Amazing Beer, the sweets, and everything else.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the corner, we had 105, although 205, 305 etc all have huge balcony'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    355
    128
    30
    12
See reviews for
104
302
42
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel couldn't be better located for the Main square, train station and shopping centre. Rooms are clean, beds comfy, shower decent and an ok breakfast (it's actually a very good breakfast just gets very boring after 3 days) but can't grumble at that for the price - fantastic value for money

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandungan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The main reasons I have stayed in this hotel for the second time are:
Pros:
-location ( 5 min walking to the Central train station and ''Brama Florianska'': main gate to the Old Town), and in the same time relatively quiet location ( not in the center of nightlife)
-excellent value for the centrally located hotel ( paid less than 30€ per night)
-good choice open buffet breakfast included ( although not the top quality)
-friendly staff at the reception

Cons
-outdated and low quality furniture
-very slow and loud lift
-quality of the breakfast was not the best ( especially processed juices)

Considering location and room prices, I would recommend this hotel to anybody on business or vacations

Room Tip: For the best views ( although they won't be spectacular ) choose the top floor far from the lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cezaryfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

This is our second year at this hotel with a large group of us. They are very accommodating. Rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable for price range. Very clean with nice bathrooms with counter space.

Great coffee and buffet in the morning.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chickefitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Positive
Close near old square, perfect breakfast, clean room.
Negative
Wi-fi for a fee, no hair dryer, no working TV (good bye Olympic translations), bad communication online.

Generally, it's a nice place for one night standing, but there are a lot of snug hotels and hostels around with friendly stuff who take care about guests.

Room Tip: It was bus station under our room. So it can be a problem in summertime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9krolikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband and son stayed here For three days to visit the salt mines and auchwitz. We had a pleasant stay the breakfast was ok and the beds were comfortable the room was cleaned everyday what more could you ask for it was a nice hotel staff were friendly to

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starachowice, Poland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The hotel is clean, comfortable and in a superb location for sightseeing in Krakow. The hotel is situated two minutes from the main shopping centre and five minutes from the market square. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. I got an online deal on a four day break in February and ended up paying around £23 per night, exceptional value for a nice hotel so near to the main tourist area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartM1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Maly Krakow Aparthotel
Maly Krakow Aparthotel
#54 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Kleparz
Polonia Hotel
Polonia Hotel
#83 of 256 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#21 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Europejski Hotel
#60 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Kleparz
andel’s by Vienna House Cracow
Kleparz
Hotel Atrium
Hotel Atrium
#69 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matejko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matejko

Property: Hotel Matejko
Address: pl. Jana Matejki 8, Krakow 31-157, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kleparz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matejko 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Matejko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matejko Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing