We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vienna House Andel's Cracow
Ranked #32 of 267 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2008

Having stayed in the Andel's Design Hotel in Prague last year for New Years Eve we decided to book the Andel's in Krakow (aided by the great reviews).

The hotel is ultra modern and really clean. The bathroom is great with soft blue lighting (as well as the standard lighting). Beware of the glass panel between the toilet & the shower!

The staff were very friendly and the buffet breakfast is fantastic.

Krakow is a great place for a short break, the hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the old town (take the subway under the road, don't try to cross the main roads like we did the first day!). The market square is beautiful with amazing buildings and so much character. We took one of the golf buggy tours which was great fun and a reasonable price at about £20, the driver chatted to us as well as the recorded info, and would stop wherever you wanted for photos - it is a private tour with just your party, and the cost is per buggy, not per person. We even got cosy blankets to put over our knees as it was VERY cold! We used Royal Tours - the red one.

The food in Krakow is great and the people are all very friendly, We tried to learn a couple of words of Polish which went down very well. If you want a cafe for a coffee or lunch (or just to get out of the cold) look down all the little alleyways off the main roads as the best places are tucked away out of sight. Everything is very cheap. We spent about £120 (on top of flight & hotel) for 2 days & 2 nights, not scrimping on anything and eating in great restaurants - highly recommend Cherubino, Pod Aniolami & Bambus cafe. Make sure you try the hot spiced wine which is just like mulled wine...

One thing we did notice on the negative side is that EVERYONE smokes in all the bars and restaurants, which is quite alien to us nowadays being a smoke-free nation!

All in all a fab place, highly recommended for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Carolinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,290 - 1,296 of 1,888 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2007

Just returned from 2 days in Krakow which I can definitely recommend in December. There were 10 of us and not one could fault the hotel; the location is brilliant, easy transfer by rail to the airport, 5-10 mins walk into the main square; rooms are immaculate, staff friendly and helpful and they have a good breakfast! Stay there if you are going to Krakow.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tiny_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2007

Stayed here for a short trip to the Christmas markets from 9th - 12th December. Hotel location is great, about a five minute walk away from the main square and next door to a huge shopping centre. Service in the hotel was excellent and we were made to feel very welcome and comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic, wide variety of all breakfast foods. Hotel rooms had everything you could need. A great hotel for a long chilled out weekend :)

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jay_Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2007

Andel's Hotel is really wonderful--Euro chic, lovely staff, and in a great location. We stayed 6 nights and were very happy with our stay. Breakfast was wonderful in the beautiful dining room overlooking the shopping center and train station. The only problem was that we were on the first floor and on the second night there was a huge, noisy party that was to go on until 4:00am, and we decided to change rooms after we were already in our pajamas. I had asked the reception clerk when we checked in if it would be quiet on the first floor and she said yes. I don't know if she knew about the party. Although the bathroom is wonderfully modern, there is a design flaw. There is a colored window that separates the bathroom and bedroom. When someone goes to the bathroom at night, it wakes up the other. Also, there is no dresser in the room. Since we were staying for 6 nights, it was inconvenient to live out of our suitcases for the whole time. Despite these two inconveniences we definitely would stay at Andel's again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MrsWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2007

This 3 day city break was one of the best we've been on! Not only was the package cheap, the flight with BA from Gatwick was included and there was so much for us to enjoy! We really can't wait to return. Having read the reviews we took the shuttle bus outside the airport and then the train from the airport which took only 30 mins door to door! Absolutely convenient, especially when the walk from the station into the square where the hotel is took about 2 minutes!
We were right next to a huge new shopping mall, which opened late, and had everything inside if you needed anything. So good if you want some retail therapy.
The old town took us about 4 minutes to walk to, and it was beautiful, especially when it was misty or the snow was falling. It was great to experience this and it was a welcome relief to nip into the masses of coffee shops to take in a mulled wine or hot beer before we moved onto the next.
Fantastic array of restaurants, or take-away kebabs (if that takes your fancy!) and just an overall great place to visit. We've done lots of international travel, but this is a really special place for the reasons I've already mentioned, but also the history, the people and it's closeness to the UK. Highly recommend the trip to Auschwitz with Krakow Tours as the guide was amazingly informative. We felt like we were part of a TV documentary because his voice was so interesting! Also did the Salt Mines, this was good too, but more commercial. All in all we can't reccomend this place and hotel enough. Oh just remember your costume if you want to use the sauner in the hotel, that's if you have enough time that is! Enjoy yourselves!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lisa_Chellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2007

If you want to cut down your research time considerably - take my advise - just go for Andels. Great price from Alpharooms and top notch rooms and facilities. The ordinary rooms have state of the art bathrooms with baths and showers ( the executive rooms only showers!) and the flat screen tv is great - sky news, mtv and the odd english film (Casanova when we were there). Breakfast if very very good and considering we didn't have a great deal of luck with food in Krakow - much appreciated. And they serve until 11. Staff were very obliging and let us have a late check out (5pm) for no charge. The bar is quite expensive for Krakow but not compared to England but it is a very nice place for a drink. Only 5 mins from top of Florianska street and 10 mins from main square. Much handier than the Sheraton which we nearly went for. Oh and ofcourse you are adjacent to the railway station with not even a road to cross and there is a B***** great shopping complex just outside the side door!!! Really, it is perfect.
In the evening may I recomment Piano Rouge for a stylish drink before dinner and Showtime for great rock music after dinner. Both on the main square. Free admission.
Our fave 3 visits apart from the usual square and castle were
1. the Franciscan Church half way down Grodska st and then right. Fantastic art nouveau type decoration and stain glass
2. the museum with the Leonardo painting, Lady with Ermine.
3. the Joseph Manoffer museum? forgive me not knowing Polish names. Guide book not to hand.
also tried to attach photo's but unsuccessful! sorry

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank jean-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2007

Andels was our second choice for a 3 day visit ,and how glad we were that the first one was fully booked! This is a really superb hotel in the most convenient location one could wish for- near the station, and therefore we had an amazingly easy transfer from the airport. It looks out on a lovely plaza and is VERY stylish, especially the bathroom. Blissfully comfortable beds. We loved the Christmas market, every stall was different, and we especially liked the Gluwein on tap!
Cannot fault Andels

Stayed: December 2007
5  Thank raggybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
PURO Krakow Stare Miasto
Kleparz
Mercure Krakow Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#41 of 267 in Krakow
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vienna House Andel's Cracow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vienna House Andel's Cracow

Address: ul. Pawia 3, Krakow 31-154, Poland (Formerly Andel's Hotel Cracow)
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kleparz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Krakow
#10 Business Hotel in Krakow
#18 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#21 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £59 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vienna House Andel's Cracow 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Vienna House Andel's Cracow is situated directly in city center, just 100 metres from Market Square, the largest shopping mall in the city and the main train station (12 minutes to the airport). It contains 159 luxurious rooms and apartments and is the only design hotel in Cracow. The spacious modern conference centre makes the hotel ideal for business meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vienna House Andel's Cracow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andels Hotel Krakow
Andels Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing