We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
U Pana Cogito Hotel
Ranked #147 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Arlington, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Still Great”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Hotel is in a neighborhood.
We paid 212 zloty for one night which included breakfast and parking.

We've stayed at this hotel about 5 or 6 times in the last 12 years and we get a different room every time. Our room this time had its own private entrance around the side of the main building. We unlocked the outside door, went up the stairs and unlocked the door to our room. The rooms are not fancy but they are pretty functional. They have real air conditioning! The air conditioner is on the wall and has greater output than the central air conditioners used in the five star hotels. Neither building has an elevator. Garden between the two buildings is quite pleasant.

U Pana Cogito also has free WiFi, breakfast and locked parking. Our room had two beds, desk, 2 chairs, 2 night stands, 2 little tables, TV, phone, fridge with cheap snacks (!), closet with shelves. The bathroom had a tub with a hand-held shower and a shower curtain. We
are not big fans of this set-up but for one night we dealt with it. The bathroom was a good size with plenty of shelf space, hair dryer and a bidet. The windows, like most in Poland are hung so they can open from the side or the top. The curtains in this room were too thin to keep out any light.
If you come back to the hotel after 9:00 pm. you must ring the bell to gain entrance to the
parking.
The dining room only holds 20 people. Breakfast is not fancy but the room is quite pleasant. Breakfast consisted of instant coffee, tea, orange juice, breads, cereals, yogurt, poppy seed cake, one mixed salad, cottage cheese with celery and red peppers, "deviled" eggs, kielbasa, hams, brie, two other cheeses, pickles, butter, jam and eggs to order.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk outside from your room to breakfast (which is in the main building) th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polskamom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
16
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We have stayed in this hotel several times in the last 10 years and it continues to be a favorite. It is across the river from the Wawel Castle which means you're away from the heavy traffic and high prices. This is really an upscale pensjonat. No elevators. One night cost us 270 PLN/$81.00 which included locked parking, internet, and breakfast. Several years ago the hotel added air conditioning to its rooms and though it is not needed most of the time, it works great when you need it. Rooms are large and clean. Large bathroom.
Breakfast was good though serving Nescafe was a slip. Restaurant should serve brewed coffee.

Room Tip: Hotel is located within a neighborhood so it is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Polskamom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

WE ended up here by accident, the hotel we were booked into was full when we arrived... no matter.. U Pana Cogito was quiet, friendly and closer to the Old Tow and Jewish Quarter than our original hotel.

The room was good enough, nothing too fancy but comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good, continental spread and scrambled eggs and sausage cooked to order.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and the hotel seemed very very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HintonC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel for the first night of our trip to Krakow as our destination hotel had overbooked.
The room we had was well set out overlooking the main hotel building in the annex. The room itself was not the most luxurious we had stayed in, but was clean and well laid out. The only problem we had with the room was being able to hear everything that was happening in the next room!
Location of the hotel is approximately 15 minutes walk from Wawel Castle and about 20 minutes walk from the Old Town itself.
We awoke and tried the breakfast that was included in our stay. the food was fresh and of a good standard, in the main it was a continental buffet style, however if you wished scrambled eggs or sausages these were cooked to order.
All in all, if I was to return to Krakow I would stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Free hot and cold water from water dispenser. Lovely garden. Breakfast spread was decent. Scrambled eggs and sausages are freshly cooked when you order it. The restaurant was lovely. Service was very good. Rooms were quiet though the walls were thin (I can hear my friends talking in the next room if they spoke loudly). Rooms are spacious and thoughtfully furnished. For example, there were 2 chairs in the double rooms instead of the typical 1 chair offered in most hotels. The toiletries had a wonderful fragrance. Towels were fluffy. It is a 15-minute walk across the river to the town and Wawel castle. There are no restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank working4vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

A fabulous time in a wonderful location. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. Very clean and comfortable. In an ideal location for exploring the castle and old town. Would certainly return.

Room Tip: No preference. All rooms clean and comfortable. Hotel in a quiet location so no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

I stayed at U Pana Cogito for several days in December and was very happy with it. My room was simple and spare, but everything was extremely clean, including the en suite bathroom. The front desk staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke some English. Breakfast and dinner in the first floor restaurant were good and the location outside the city center was quiet. It was about a 15-20 minute walk to the town square center which I really enjoyed each day. Krakow is beautiful and I would recommend the city and this hotel to anyone. Again, my room was simple, but the price was right and who needs fancy amenities and super thick towels? Not me. Was out and about most of the time anyway. I'd stay here again. The building itself is old and charming. I look forward to a return to lovely Krakow!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caligal222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Benefis
#67 of 259 in Krakow
343 reviews
Hotel Wilga
#139 of 259 in Krakow
85 reviews
Lorenzo Hotel
#141 of 259 in Krakow
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Aparthotel Pergamin Hotel
Aparthotel Pergamin Hotel
#77 of 259 in Krakow
372 reviews
Stare Miasto
Pergamin Old Town Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Pana Cogito Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Pana Cogito Hotel

Property: U Pana Cogito Hotel
Address: 6 Baluckiego street, Krakow, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — U Pana Cogito Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your U Pana Cogito Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Pana Cogito Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing