We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little hotel in a perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
U Pana Cogito Hotel
Ranked #147 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed 8 September 2010

I stayed here on my first trip to Poland, for 3 nights before moving south to Zakopane. I absolutly loved all aspects of this, the older, part of the city. The old town itself is 10 minutes (max) walk away, while the riverside is a mere 3 or so. The location of this hotel really is fabulous, in the old sector, with cham and quaintities whilst still being within walking distance (or tram for the lazies) from a massive TESCO!
The hotel itself is on the plush side of basic, with lovely looking bathrooms with everything you could need (including bidets). The beds were just right for me and my family and the rooms were kept at a very good level of cleanliness.
The continental breakfast seemed a little small, until we discovered you can order hot food like egg or fish from a waiter.
All in all, this was an excellent base for my stay, the staff were polite and helpful without being in your face. Brilliant hotel

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevegw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2010

We've stayed at this hotel three times in the last 6 years. Though it does not have an elevator everything else about this little hotel (pensjonat) is great. Since 2008 this hotel added air conditioning to its rooms and put screens on the windows - unheard of in Poland but oh so welcomed.
Hotel is in a neighborhood across from Wawel Castle and the Wisla River so it is cheaper and quieter.
Restaurant has nice breakfast buffet and there is locked parking.

We will return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polskamom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

U Pana Cogito is located just across the river from the main sights of Krakow, an easy and picturesque walk. It's in a nice neighborhood with an unassuming square that contains fruit sellers and other ordinary vendors. You can feel you're part of a typical area temporarily. Here are other advantages:
---It's quiet, no noise nearby, and this is a premium in Krakow.
---It's clean and bright and there is good service daily to make beds, provide towels, and so on.
---The place rents bikes for a good rate.
---The value is excellent.
---Air conditioning was most welcome during the hot spell we experienced. It worked beautifully.
---The staff strives to be helpful as can be. Sometimes there is a language problem, but this can usually be overcome.
---Someone is around all the time, no matter the hour.

Here are a few disadvantages:
---Breakfast gets old pretty fast and is not very imaginative.
---The music played in the breakfast room is the worst kind of cheap rock. (This is not rare, unfortunately.)


Those are small problems in what is otherwise a fine place. I'd go back there and hope to do so with my wife during the next year or so.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

This is a great guest house with a very nice breakfast, there is full continental breakfast and a waiter will approach and ask if you want cooked sausage and eggs. Its not full of busloads of tourists and the staff is helpful. Its in a residential neighborhood across the river from the Castle and not too far walking distance to the main square. The rooms were modern, clean and had air conditioning, like all Polish hotels the beds are hard. No sense fighting it, we found this everywhere in Poland. Travel tip, catch the bus yourself to the Salt Mines it cost us about $7 round trip. Just around the corner from the guest house is a bus stop. They are small mini-buses and you have to wave them down when you see them approaching or they won't stop. Ask the Desk clerk to write down the correct Bus name in Polish and stand just to the left of the covered bus stand. The local tour companies will charge about eighty dollars per person on a "guided tour" and you get the same thing. We saved a ton on copying the Tour Company itineraries and just doing it with local transport. Krakow is a great stop, don't miss the Jewish ghetto best values for dining are to be found off the square. We found a restaraunt just outside the main square next door to the highly advertised restaruant for tourists that has a look of a home with different dining rooms. The meal was about 7 bucks and quite good. Next door you would pay forty each for the same thing. I think this guest house was one of the best values in Poland.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nancyNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2008

This little hotel is a little out of the way, but don't let that put you off. It's a pleasant walk to the castle and city, plus has a great onsite restaurant with delicious traditional Polish food. The staff treated you as honoured guests and really went out of the way to make everything as pleasant as possible - even the staff who didn't know english.

The room we were in was clean and modern, although had two single beds (not the best for the honeymooners like us). We also raided the mini-bar as the pricing was reasonable!

One other benefit is the hotel is a not-for-profit organisation. Profits from the hotel go to rehabilitating disabled locals.

The best endorsement a traveller can give is that they're willing to return to the hotel over any other choice - next time I am in Krakow I will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

What a fantastic hotel, on beautiful grounds. So close to the city centre that we strolled in for dinner (only a ten minute walk).

A lovely touch on arrival was the gardener cutting roses from the garden and putting them in our room.
The hotel had free internet access, good sized rooms and very spacious clean tidy bathroom.

Breakfast is served in a lovely dining room overlooking the rose gardens, and the dining room itself was full of natural light. Breakfast buffet was classic European style and the staff approached us at the table to ask if we would like cooked items.

A big plus for this hotel is that although it is close to the city centre, it is not right in the middle of the other hotels so you are away from the drunken groups in Krakow for stag nights, and away from the more famous overcrowded areas heavily promoted in travel guides.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we re-booked to stay later the same week after a short trip down to Slovakia and enjoyed ourselves just as much the second time.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tumnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2006

A lovely little hotel a mere 10 minute walk from the main attractions. Very helpful staff - being Polish they will wait to be asked rather than offer assistance but once asked will help with everything. The city centre is very attractive with excellent bars and restaurants. It was very good value for money. The other benefit of staying here is that the profits help support a charity for disabled people. Food is good if limited choice, breakfast is good but you must ask what the hot choices are. The hotel is very quite is lovely grounds - ideal for a relaxed stay in a lovely city.

5  Thank Shaugho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Szary Residence
#104 of 262 in Krakow
56 reviews
Perla Hotel
#101 of 262 in Krakow
156 reviews
Q Hotel Krakow
#75 of 262 in Krakow
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#50 of 262 in Krakow
588 reviews
Wielopole Hotel
#17 of 262 in Krakow
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Pana Cogito Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Pana Cogito Hotel

Address: 6 Baluckiego street, Krakow, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range: £40 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — U Pana Cogito Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your U Pana Cogito Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Pana Cogito Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing