We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, Great Location”
Review of Pod Wawelem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pod Wawelem Hotel
Ranked #51 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We arrived in Krakow from Prauge and hadn't made any hotel arrangements. We literally stumbled upon the Pod Wawelem and we're glad we did! To begin with, the staff are super helpful and friendly. The hotel is located just a few doors down from the Sheraton (which is a lovely hotel with the amenities this one doesn't have but its MUCH more expensive.) Its on the river, right near the castle and a 10 min walk to the Main Market Square. The location just couldn't be better. Our room had a great river view and was immaculate. Rooftop bar has terrific views. The staff really helped us figure out what to see and how to get there to maximize the limited time we had. If you are looking for an economical, clean and nice place to stay in Krakow, then this is the place for you. Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was 107--great views of the river.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorilikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraStefanska, General Manager at Pod Wawelem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. I am glad that your stay in Krakow was a very successful and that our hotel has contributed to this. We are a small hotel, but it does create a warm and familiar atmosphere.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,
Barbara Stefańska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for Pod Wawelem Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

You cannot believe this place, it has alot of character, the food is superior, the waitress Ilona beautiful and attentive, the beers are HUGE! and best of all, the food was great. My new favorite restaurant in Krakow

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Booked 5 nights at Pod Wawalem as part of a 2 week trip to this part of the world. The hotel had a good review on Foders. Only a fair review on Tripadvisor. Go with Tripadvisor reviews.
Booked a Deluxe Double. No problem checking in and the area rear the Castle was very good. A reasonable cab fare from the train station and very close to the start of the Old Town.
Granted this is a 3 star hotel but some items were not up to par. First there was no English TV the entire week we were there. At first we were told it was the city then after I asked the next day they said it was a problem at the Hotel. Second, and these are small things that should be in a room: no tissues in the room, only 1 small trash can in the bathroom, the soaps were the smallest I have ever seen, the internet was spotty at best and the very nice staff was unable to get it working WiFi or at the free computer in the lobby.
The breakfast was the same every day. Some of the items looked like they were leftover and some were fine. Twice the eggs were emply and the pan crusted with old eggs one hour before the end of breakfast. Desserts were poor.
The Hotel is very simple but clean. The 6th floor restaurant, overlooking the river, was very nice.

On the plus side, after I gave them a list of the items that bothered us, they said they spoke to the Manager, who was not available the time we asked to speak to him, and they upgraded us to a very nice apartment on the 5th floor.
On the plus side, the staff at the front desk was very nice, very helpful with directions, always asking if we needed anything and always apologizing for the TV issue.
On the plus side when they asked the reason for our trip and we said we are on our Anniversary Trip, the presented us with a beautiful flower arrangement.

The room had a beautiful view of the river, the front desk staff was wonderful (breakfast staff ..... fair at best). Location good.
If you can get a good price then it's ok otherwise read the tripadvisor reviews for better choices.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFoodguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraStefanska, General Manager at Pod Wawelem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying in our hotel and for taking time to write your opinion. We much appreciate your comments, treat them seriously and strive for better efficiency in order to raise the standard and quality of our services, and thereby increase the satisfaction of our guests.
Regarding the problems with TV and WiFi, the first was associated with the change of the analogue television into terrestrial digital one, but it has already been repaired, and the Internet signal has been reinforced.
The issue of the meals was raised at the board meeting for the restaurant staff. I am sure that this situation will never happen again.
Thank you for your kind and warm words for the reception staff. I am glad that their attitude and skills meet the expectations of our guests.
Once again, thank you for all remarks and welcome again.

Yours sincerely,
Barbara Stefańska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

we went for a short break in april and found the hotel to be very nice and clean the rooms were small but large enough for a short break, we found the reception to be very helpful as this was our first visit, the breakfast was varied but basic, it is within walking distance of all the major points of interest and within the shadow of the wavel castle, enjoyed a meal and acouple of drinks on the rooftop bar, if going back would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room that has a view of the river.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janbyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

A group of 4 friends were visiting for the Christmas market, the hotel was a 10 min walk from the square and right at the foot of wavel castle. Our rooms looked over the river and I would imagine it would be wonderful in the summer. Rooms were clean as was the bathroom , even if a touch basic. Breakfast was varied and plentiful, we ate once in the restaurant, the waiter let us chose from the early bird menu even though it was after it had finished, food was good. All in all excellent value and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bishoptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

3rd time in 3 years we have stayed here and love the hotel and the area in general.close to all the sights and square the hotel is fantastic value for money as is krakow.will be back next year we always come here in late november the weather is cold but have never seen rain here so you can explore without getting soaked.

Room Tip: get one facing the castle
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertf50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraStefanska, General Manager at Pod Wawelem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are grateful for the trust you place in us. We invite you to visit our hotel again.

Yours sincerely,
Barbara Stefańska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The hotel is located in the area of the Old city near the famous Wawel castle - a residence of Polish kings.The location is perfect ! The hotel itself is very comfortable, great breakfast, free Wi-Fi access, the rooms are small but everyting is in place even the tea/coffee kit is available.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Wawel Hotel
Wawel Hotel
#30 of 261 in Krakow
731 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#40 of 261 in Krakow
2,048 reviews
ibis Krakow Centrum
#65 of 261 in Krakow
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#61 of 261 in Krakow
178 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Novotel Krakow Centrum
#45 of 261 in Krakow
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod Wawelem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod Wawelem Hotel

Address: pl. Na Groblach 22, Krakow 31-101, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Krakow
#63 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £43 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod Wawelem Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pod Wawelem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Wawelem Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing