We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pod Wawelem Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$388
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ascot Hotel(Krakow)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel(Krakow)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
258
255
58
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
255
58
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barwawel castlegreat locationoverlooking the riverthe main squarejewish quarterold townminute walkday's sightseeinglovely hotelcity breakrecommend this hotelquiet locationscrambled eggsrooms are smalltea and coffeerooms were spotless
Filter
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was a great little find. The rooms were spotless, and adequate in size, the shower lovely and powerful. Superb location to explore from, and although the trams are great, anywhere on this side of the river is within a walk even Kazimerez although allow time for a longer gentle stroll.
The attached restaurant/bar is so easy to relax into at the end of the day, with a good tasty selection of food (with even a little Cuban thrown in) breakfast too is taken here, again a good selection of hot and cold food all great quality.
Transfers are so easy to arrange via e-mail to the hotel & cost 90pln each way. Trips easily booked upon arrival, pick up point only yards away opposite the Sheraton.
Special mention must be made of the staff who were a delight, and for whom nothing was too much trouble. Had, a wonderful time, and very much looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: I would request a room with a view of the river, my corner room also afforded me a view of the Castle.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The hotel has an excellent location, fifty yards from the river Vistula walkway, below the castle walls and a ten minute walk from the old town main square, the Rynek Glowny.

Rooms were clean and well up to the standard expected of the hotel's price category. Rooms at the side of the building and not overlooking the river were quiet and the hotel generally was restful.

Staff were particularly helpful and friendly and eager to arrange tours and taxis, etc.,.

We ate at the hotel on our first and last nights and these were the best meals by far during our stay in Krakow.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river have a wonderful view, and although a road lies between the hotel and the river traffic is light at night.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aloisvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraStefanska, Dyrektor generalny at Pod Wawelem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback. We are grateful for your kind and warm words. We are very glad that the offer and service in our hotel fulfilled your expectations.
Yours sincerely,
Barbara Stefańska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights and were very pleased with the hotel. It is located right next to the castle - indeed I gather the name translates as "under the castle" - and beside the river. The view from our rooms was of the river and the castle foothill. There is a rooftop bar and terrace which is a great place to sit and take in the surroundings. We sat and enjoyed a wonderful sunset with a glass of the local brew. You can also eat here.
Rooms are clean, tidy, well equipped and comfortable. All looks very new. The shower was a little disappointing - it had very little pressure and the temperature was prone to fluctuate at times. Otherwise the bathroom provided all one would expect. The room itself was very warm and the thermostat was a little unclear so the first night we were very hot in bed. Once we had worked it out however there was less of a problem, and in any event both windows open to provide ventilation.
The main restaurant and bar on the ground floor seem to offer a good range, although we didn't eat there other than breakfast. It is a little small for the number of guests so getting a table at peak times may be a challenge. Breakfast as in so many places is a self service buffet. There is a reasonable choice of hot and cold although I would have liked to see more fresh fruit.
Reception staff are very helpful and will arrange taxis, airport transfers, restuarant bookings, advise on places to visit etc.

All in all a good choice.

Room Tip: As with most hotels the rooms nearest the lifts/stairs suffer from noise of other guests coming and going especially on changeover day (as a city break destination this is usually Sunday). Rooms on the river side of the hotel I suspect will have the best views, although I admit to not knowing what the alternative aspect is.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dig2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here a couple of days ago with friends for 3 nights. It was everything we could have wanted- certainly an ideal location by the river, just a couple of minutes stroll from the castle area, 10 from the Market Square, and 15 from the Jewish Quarter- all flat. It was nice and quite (admittedly we were out of season) We were fortunate to have beautiful weather and the roof terrace was a real joy. Our room was fairly plain but quite spacious and spotlessly clean, with a very good, hot shower. Plenty of toiletries, towels, hairdryer and tea and coffee, which you don't always get. My husband and friends used the sauna and said it was good. We did pay just a little extra for a river view and were pleased we had. The downstairs restaurant was closed but the cafe/ bar was open and the meals we had there were excellent and good value for money. We also ate on the terrace. Our inclusive breakfast was very good too- something for everyone. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful and spoke good English (luckily for us!) If we go back we would definitely use this hotel again, and would most certainly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Probably worth paying just a few £s extra for the rooms with a river view, or a superior room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraStefanska, Dyrektor generalny at Pod Wawelem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Jennifer,
We are very happy that both our hotel and its location satisfied you and our staff could offer help to you. On your returning to Cracow, you are welcome to stay at our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Barbara Stefańska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I was in Kracow to work rather than as a tourist and this small hotel was perfect. It was busy but also quiet and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It is also in the best possible location right next to the castle and easy walking straight in to the old town and along the Vistula. I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacksopb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews