We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value Hotel in Krakow”
Review of Pod Wawelem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pod Wawelem Hotel
Ranked #51 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

How this is only a 3 star hotel is beyond belief. 4 guys on a lads break stayed 4 nights in this hotel in April 2014. The service was superb and the standard of cleanliness exceptional. We stayed on a B & B basis and breakfast was very good with good choice of cereal, hot and cold food and fruit yoghurt. The roof terrace was a superb place to chill out with a drink overlooking river and castle.
Very good location for all nearby attractions. Krakow square ia a delight with plenty of bars and restauruants

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamblant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

Four night stay in this lovely hotel, Perfect location overlooking the river and castle and a ten minute walk from the main square. Ideal spot for a early morning walk or jog as there are paths on both sides of the river heading off in both directions and it is also next to the park which circles the old town.The rooms were spotless and comfortable. The hotel has a restaurant and sun terrace on the roof, did not eat in the restaurant but enjoyed a drink on the terrace in the afternoon sun. Warm enough in March, it must be perfect in summer.
One thing I was confused with, there is a Pod Wawelem restaurant but this is in a different hotel, the Royal, about a ten minute walk away.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 4th floor(only 5 floors). Light and sunny with windows on two sides and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeB2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraStefanska, Dyrektor generalny at Pod Wawelem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Mike,
Thank you very much for your favourable opinion about our hotel. We can only be very glad that you saw our effort to please our guests and make their stay with us as pleasant as possible.
Kind greetings and welcome again.
Yours sincerely,
Barbara Stefańska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was a great little find. The rooms were spotless, and adequate in size, the shower lovely and powerful. Superb location to explore from, and although the trams are great, anywhere on this side of the river is within a walk even Kazimerez although allow time for a longer gentle stroll.
The attached restaurant/bar is so easy to relax into at the end of the day, with a good tasty selection of food (with even a little Cuban thrown in) breakfast too is taken here, again a good selection of hot and cold food all great quality.
Transfers are so easy to arrange via e-mail to the hotel & cost 90pln each way. Trips easily booked upon arrival, pick up point only yards away opposite the Sheraton.
Special mention must be made of the staff who were a delight, and for whom nothing was too much trouble. Had, a wonderful time, and very much looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: I would request a room with a view of the river, my corner room also afforded me a view of the Castl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The hotel has an excellent location, fifty yards from the river Vistula walkway, below the castle walls and a ten minute walk from the old town main square, the Rynek Glowny.

Rooms were clean and well up to the standard expected of the hotel's price category. Rooms at the side of the building and not overlooking the river were quiet and the hotel generally was restful.

Staff were particularly helpful and friendly and eager to arrange tours and taxis, etc.,.

We ate at the hotel on our first and last nights and these were the best meals by far during our stay in Krakow.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river have a wonderful view, and although a road lies between the hotel and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aloisvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraStefanska, Dyrektor generalny at Pod Wawelem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback. We are grateful for your kind and warm words. We are very glad that the offer and service in our hotel fulfilled your expectations.
Yours sincerely,
Barbara Stefańska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights and were very pleased with the hotel. It is located right next to the castle - indeed I gather the name translates as "under the castle" - and beside the river. The view from our rooms was of the river and the castle foothill. There is a rooftop bar and terrace which is a great place to sit and take in the surroundings. We sat and enjoyed a wonderful sunset with a glass of the local brew. You can also eat here.
Rooms are clean, tidy, well equipped and comfortable. All looks very new. The shower was a little disappointing - it had very little pressure and the temperature was prone to fluctuate at times. Otherwise the bathroom provided all one would expect. The room itself was very warm and the thermostat was a little unclear so the first night we were very hot in bed. Once we had worked it out however there was less of a problem, and in any event both windows open to provide ventilation.
The main restaurant and bar on the ground floor seem to offer a good range, although we didn't eat there other than breakfast. It is a little small for the number of guests so getting a table at peak times may be a challenge. Breakfast as in so many places is a self service buffet. There is a reasonable choice of hot and cold although I would have liked to see more fresh fruit.
Reception staff are very helpful and will arrange taxis, airport transfers, restuarant bookings, advise on places to visit etc.

All in all a good choice.

Room Tip: As with most hotels the rooms nearest the lifts/stairs suffer from noise of other guests coming and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dig2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here a couple of days ago with friends for 3 nights. It was everything we could have wanted- certainly an ideal location by the river, just a couple of minutes stroll from the castle area, 10 from the Market Square, and 15 from the Jewish Quarter- all flat. It was nice and quite (admittedly we were out of season) We were fortunate to have beautiful weather and the roof terrace was a real joy. Our room was fairly plain but quite spacious and spotlessly clean, with a very good, hot shower. Plenty of toiletries, towels, hairdryer and tea and coffee, which you don't always get. My husband and friends used the sauna and said it was good. We did pay just a little extra for a river view and were pleased we had. The downstairs restaurant was closed but the cafe/ bar was open and the meals we had there were excellent and good value for money. We also ate on the terrace. Our inclusive breakfast was very good too- something for everyone. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful and spoke good English (luckily for us!) If we go back we would definitely use this hotel again, and would most certainly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Probably worth paying just a few £s extra for the rooms with a river view, or a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraStefanska, Dyrektor generalny at Pod Wawelem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Jennifer,
We are very happy that both our hotel and its location satisfied you and our staff could offer help to you. On your returning to Cracow, you are welcome to stay at our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Barbara Stefańska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I was in Kracow to work rather than as a tourist and this small hotel was perfect. It was busy but also quiet and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It is also in the best possible location right next to the castle and easy walking straight in to the old town and along the Vistula. I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacksopb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
ibis Krakow Centrum
#63 of 262 in Krakow
652 reviews
Stare Miasto
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#65 of 262 in Krakow
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#44 of 262 in Krakow
856 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Wyspianski
Hotel Wyspianski
#90 of 262 in Krakow
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod Wawelem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod Wawelem Hotel

Address: pl. Na Groblach 22, Krakow 31-101, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Krakow
#63 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £38 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod Wawelem Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pod Wawelem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Wawelem Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing