We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Pod Wawelem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pod Wawelem Hotel
Ranked #54 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Location superb. Room and shower clean, spacious and comfortable. I paid a small amount extra for a corner room and the views of the river and castle were lovely. Breakfast good. The air conditioning was too cold for my taste but they turned it off with good grace. Don't miss the roof bar / grill. Reception staff reserved but friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the 2nd, 3rd or 4th floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for Pod Wawelem Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

well, very difficult to begin this review.we arrived for a 4 night stay.when I saw the room I asked to change it since it was above street level, above car parking place+ airconditioning was not working in the room on a n extremely hot day.Receptionist agreed to change our room and gave us the only apartment they had-it was their best room-airconditioning was hardly working. We were told we will have to move the next morning-which was fair . Next morning we moved our luggage to room 510 and as we were planning to go out , we were told that we must move to another room again-explanation we got did not make any sense-so wasted our time again and moved to410, which was exactly the same room. The receptionist apologized and compansated us with lunch and a bottle of wine.
Our friends had also problems with their room and were moved to another room after midnight. their room had a window which could not open -they were also compansated.
so, after these strange events we finally settled down for 3 additional nights.
Location of the hotel is very good and the view is magnificent.Size of room-there are very small rooms but they also have bigger rooms. Wi-fi is hardly working, airconditioning is problematic.
no inroom safe, bedding is poor and bathroom is poorly equipped.
Breakfast is o.k
would I stay here again? no

Room Tip: some rooms are nice and pleasant to stay.check if the aircondition in the room is working.avoid fir...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liorhaifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stopped here in May 2014 and found this hotel to be ideally located for exploring the sights of Krakow. It is right by the castle and only about fifteen minutes walk to the main square.
Our room was basic but of a good standard considering the cost; it was tidy and kept clean throughout our stay.
The bar on the roof has good views of the surrounding area and the location itself is an attractive one - the hotel is on the corner of a block so is not overlooked on two sides.
The breakfast provided was the normal buffet style and was fine - we were there first thing so I cannot comment as to what it is like for those who get up a little later.
We ate one evening meal at the hotel restaurant and enjoyed the food very much. The portions and price were great and my only criticism was that they were clearly distracted by a large party who arrived part way through our meal and I had to chase the staff down to get any attention.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrpheusUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

First time I've stayed in a 3 star hotel and I was very pleasantly surprised. The Pod Wawelem is a few minutes walk from the castle and only 10 minutes from the main square. The terrible and poor reviews should be instantly dismissed because whatever the place was like several years ago it's not a bit dingy now. The whole hotel is clean and bright and the rooms and spotless. We had rooms 507 and 501 and they were faultless. They're not the biggest rooms I've ever had but they are completely adequate for a stay of any duration. You don't spend the days in your hotel room after all. We had complimentary coffee, tea, sparkling and still bottled water. Beds were clean and comfortable and there was no noise to disturb our sleep. The buffet breakfast was adequate with choice of cheese, meats, several kinds of bread, hot bacon, scrambled egg, sausages, nice butter and excellent preserves. Choices of yogurts, tinned fruit salad or fresh apples. There were the usual cakes and pastries too. Fruit juices were of decent quality and the coffee was excellent!! Liptons tea was available also.
The restaurant operates all day and the meals are of a very high quality and very reasonably priced. We ate a couple of evening meals here and were very impressed.
There is a roof terrace where you can have a drink or something to eat if the weather permits. We enjoyed a drink there on our first evening but it was too chilly and wet after that !!! The basement pub offers drinks and TV and you can eat there too if you wish.
All the staff were very helpful and spoke perfect English. It was a pleasure to stay here and anyone who has read any of my other reviews will know that I don't give compliments lightly.
It's about £18 to or from the airport at the moment by taxi. You can easily do the journey at a fraction of that price by bus from just outside the arrivals hall. The bus station is next to the train station in Krakow and is about 20 minutes gentle stroll from the hotel. Just follow signs for the castle and you can't get lost. If you need English chocolate or something else to sustain you there is a supermarket called REPUBLIK within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. As you stand outside the hotel facing the river it's to your right and it's large and you can't miss it. For those people (like us) who refuse to pay Ryanair's ridiculous luggage charges you can get toiletries and disposable razors there for very little money.

Room Tip: We paid extra for river views as the hotel is on a bend of the Vistula river. It wasn't a lot mo...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sundaydiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraStefanska, Dyrektor generalny at Pod Wawelem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Sirs,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel and writing such a positive opinion about us.
Thank you for all kind words about our hotel, rooms, restaurants and stuff.
Your recommendation is really precious to us. Reading your review, I think that you like our hotel.
We do hope that you will come back to Cracow and choose our hotel again. You are always very welcome.
Yours sincerely,
Barbara Stefańska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

a fantastic location, views from rooftop bar/restaurant fantastic at night. looking to Wawel castle and the Vistula riverside. 10min.walk to main square.breakfast basic.bread,cheese,juice and tea ok for me. Hot choice-sausage, egg, streaky bacon did not appeal to me. had dinner once in Malecon and snacks and drinks each night in rooftop bar. Love the fleece blankets for keeping warm in the outside area of rooftop.Try the hot chocolate with rum/warming while watching the lights of the castle/riverside

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraStefanska, Dyrektor generalny at Pod Wawelem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Mary,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing this opinion after your stay.
We are pleased that the location of our hotel suited you and the food served by our restaurant took your fancy. During your next visit to Cracow we invite you to the Hotel “Pod Wawelem” and Malecon Restaurant as well.
Yours sincerely,
Barbara Stefańska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

3-stars hotel really nice, staff is wonderful, location is perfect, rooms are cleaned every day, free wifi, and you can know the city walking with no need to get taxis. I was really happy with my choice and I trully recomend Pod Wawelen.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmdsilva25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

On arrival we was welcomed by very friendly and helpful staff, full of knowledge about their wonderful and very interesting city. The hotel was set in an ideal position over looking Wawel castle and the river Wisla.The room we were in had a balcony making it perfect to take in the view.After sampling a vodka or two in the roof terrace bar , it was only a short stroll to the market square.A big recommendation is the free city walking tours.

Room Tip: Ask for river view stunning
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilesD780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraStefanska, Dyrektor generalny at Pod Wawelem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Sirs,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and writing this review. Thank you for all kind words about our stuff. We hope that we will have pleasure to welcome you again during your next trip to Cracow.
Yours sincerely,
Barbara Stefańska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Wawel Hotel
Wawel Hotel
#30 of 261 in Krakow
729 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#39 of 261 in Krakow
2,047 reviews
ibis Krakow Centrum
#64 of 261 in Krakow
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#59 of 261 in Krakow
177 reviews
Novotel Krakow Centrum
#45 of 261 in Krakow
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pod Wawelem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pod Wawelem Hotel

Address: pl. Na Groblach 22, Krakow 31-101, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Krakow
#63 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £42 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pod Wawelem Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pod Wawelem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pod Wawelem Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing