We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just 10 minutes away (walk distance) from the Old City” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deco Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Deco Hostel
Ranked #49 of 403 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just 10 minutes away (walk distance) from the Old City”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Pretty close to the center of Krakau; totally walk distance!

The hostel is huge but the decoration of our room was a little bit weird and old school. It was a spacious double one, big bed with shared bathroom. The common room was super nice and big with a huge TV. Kitchen was also nice and we were able to cook delicious pasta over there.

I'd like to say a big thank you to the front desk girl (the blond one who also speaks Portuguese! That was surprising and sweet!) for being very helpful and kind.

You can free Wifi access and it has a pretty nice Net connection.
No breakfast (just if you pay some Zlotys) but you have all the equipments to prepare your own.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    58
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
4
50
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Value for money! Great place with very helpful and friendly staff, family atmosphere.
Large and clean rooms. Close to the city center. Nice garden area. breakfast and laundry is included in the price. Breakfast is basic but good with sandwiches and cereals.
There is free WiFi, 24 hour reception and self service hot drinks
I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Izabela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed here for 1 night during our school trip.
Pros:
-tastefully decorated
-large and clean rooms
-close to the old town
-OK wifi almost everywhere
-friendly, young staff
-garden area
-basic, but good breakfast (sandwiches and cereal)
-large guest kitchen with a fridge

Cons:
-there were some problems with getting hot water in the shower
-a lot of traffic noise

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rein L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in a 6 person dorm and the bathroom was new and renovated but the room itself was very dated. Light was so dark and dim I could hardly see. No lifts so lugging my backpack up 4 flights of stairs was horrible. Around 20 min walk to main square so the location wasn't really good. Small breakfast area, wouldn't recommend staying here

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AhBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Booked a weekend break to Krakow and came across Deco Hostel. Clean rooms, friendly staff and great facilities. Short walk into main market square. Don't be put off by the bad reviews, location and rooms are great in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daffyd85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Spent a lovely weekend in Karkow recently. We stayed in Deco hostel. It was lovely, beautiful rooms and friendly staff. Walking distance to the Market square(which is beautiful by the way!!) I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Goo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Deco is located on dirty suburbs of the centre. To the market square you have to walk around 25 minutes, passing the number of grey and sad streets. Surrounding areas are horrible depressing and loud - there is a very big and noisy street next to the hostel building.
Rooms design is very interesting and old fashioned. That's the only advantage of Deco Hostel. Rooms are almost unfurnished - there is no proper wardrobes and storage facilities. In my room was only a bed and a chair! For the first sight room was pretty clean, but I discovered lot of dust on the bed frame, windows, and on the floor. The common room was even worse - very dirty and dusty!
Breakfast was included, but I got only one poor sandwich and cereals.
Staff was not helpfull at all. The chambermaid didn't speak english! I asked the reception to send somebody to clean my ensuite bathroom, what they refused to do... the only thing they did, was taking the rubbish.
After I came home I discovered I am missing several things - mostly make-up cosmetics, perfums and some cheap jewellery. It is hard to belive for me I simply left it in the room, because I carefully check it before I left.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AggiWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Dizzy Daisy Hostel DD Downtown
Pink Panther's Hostel
#26 of 403 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Kleparz
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
#3 of 403 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wesoła Zachód
Atlantis Hostel
Atlantis Hostel
#29 of 403 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracow Hostel
Cracow Hostel
#42 of 403 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Lwowska26 Hostel
#196 of 403 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deco Hostel

Property: Deco Hostel
Address: ul. Mazowiecka 3A, Krakow 30-019, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 403 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Deco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Deco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing