We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel, great staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Giraffe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Giraffe
Ranked #183 of 404 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great hostel, great staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I really loved this place, very clean, very secure, incredibly friendly and sound staff. Deadly drinks in the 24 hour bar. 11 of us went and had a great time! We went in June, and didn't see many other customers, so definitely no issue of overcrowding! uite close to the square too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    27
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
12
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We were wary of the hostel because they have a bad reputation of being small, crowded, dirty etc. but Giraffe was none of these. We stayed in one of the dorms and there was little to complain about. There were plenty of showers and toilets for all guests which we did not expect and they were always clean. We were surprised that breakfast was included as we only paid £10 a night. The staff were extremely friendly and easy to chat with. The bar is also a great place to spend time and meet other travellers.

Room Tip: We were lucky that our dorm was never full but can imagine it would be less pleasant if you were sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMJPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 10 bed dorm, and the rooms were tidier than what I have experienced in other hostels, the beds were comfy - although pillow a little lumpy, but at £13/night you can't complain! - there were large lockers in the rooms which the hostel provided padlocks for. The staff were all very friendly and spoke good English. Although the bar doesn't look like its open for the 24hr, you just have to ask the reception staff if you want a drink! We had a fantastic stay here, and met some fabulous people in our rooms too! Enjoy :)

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WrightZj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bled, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

I had a great time staying in this hostel. All the stuff there are really friendly, willing to share any information like free parking and locations of places you would like to visit, or just to chat while drinking your (free:) morning coffee. Bathrooms are cleaned few times a day and they offer you cleaning your laundry for a good price. They have a nice bar and well equipt kitchen and they also have all the things you need and don't have room in your suitcase like hairdryer or ironing machine. Overall I think you won't regret if you decide to stay there. Not to mention the hostel is just two minutes away from the old town.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Špela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

A great place to stay, very central, only a few mins walk into the main square. The staff here were especially brilliant, very helpful and friendly, easy to ask for advice and on a few occasions took us and some other guests out to a few good local pubs and clubs with them once their shifts had finished.
If you want to stay in though the bar there was really good too, drinks are cheap and it is a great place to meet other guests, there is usually some form of entertainment on too which was always good fun.
We stayed in a ten bunk dorm and after getting chatty with everyone else in the room, decided to go out as a group, this way no one was disturbed at different times during the night and we all had a better time getting to know each other.
The breakfast was basic but adequate, toast, cereal, etc. Considering how cheap it is to stay here I would have paid more and still not expected breakfast to be included in the deal.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoombeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

My check-in with Magda (staff) was remarkable. She was helpful, courteous, and had me checked-in and booked on am affordable tour to Auschwitz in a few minutes. The other staff were equally helpful & friendly.

Getting there: SO close to the train station. I think it was about a 10-15 minute walk.

Rooms: nice & clean. Solid bunk beds. Individual lockers with locks provided by the hostel.Clean sheets and comfortable beds.

Washrooms: not bad, but older and not as renovated as the rooms. But good water pressure & warm water supply. Toilet paper provided.

Services: free breakfast 07h00 - 11h00 (toast, cereal, coffee, tea). Free welcome shot at the bar. Toiletries available at very cheap prices. Towel rental available for about a euro. Coffee & tea available all day in the kitchen.
They can book you a tour to Auschwitz-Birkenau. I recommend the tour they offer as the group size is smaller than many of the other tour companies that you'll see there.
TIP: book an early morning tour to beat the massive crowds.

Caution: as other travellers have mentioned, this hostel is popular with young groups. It was the one down-side to my stay here. They were loud, ignorant, and oblivious to others in the hostel that wanted to sleep, even at 2-5am they were drunk & rowdy. When I came back from my evening out, one of the party-boys had helped himself to my bed. The staff were accomodating, did their best, and found me another bed. This is NO reflection on the hostel or its staff, just a warning as to the sort of travellers that seem to end up here.

I feel like the hostel staff could be more diligent about making sure that people entering the rooms-area from the bar follow the quiet times from 23h-07h. Many of these young people (and I am young myself!) seem to treat this place like their university dorm rooms instead of a hostel where people come to sleep.

Room Tip: Since it's a popular place for groups, if you want to avoid rooming with a noisy group of friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dadarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleator, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Top quality hostel, very welcoming and friendly staff, great facilities and An upstair bar, was a little quiet but guess that's just bad luck really, would deffo stop there again if I returned to krakow!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazzer113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Lwowska26 Hostel
#197 of 404 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Deco Hostel
#48 of 404 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Pillows Party Hostel
#110 of 404 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel Submarine
#66 of 404 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Shishkin Art hostel
#258 of 404 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Stare Miasto
Good Bye Lenin Revolution Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Giraffe

Property: Hostel Giraffe
Address: ul. Krowoderska 31, Krakow 31-141, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 404 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Giraffe 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giraffe Hostel & Bar - best place to stay in Krakow. Our hostel is located in the city center - in walking distance from the Main Square, Wawel castle, Barbican and the main train/bus station.We offer you cheap and comfortable accommodation in dorms and private rooms. Our price includes:- all-you-can-eat breakfast- free use of computer, internet and WiFi- free welcoming shot in our bar- free use of pool table, Playstation, football table, TV and collection of DVD movies- free use of clean sheets and blankets- towels in private rooms- free safe and luggage room- free map- wide range of tour tickets available at the reception- free tourist info- and last but not least - extremely good atmosphere which our amazing staff will provide!We will make your stay in Krakow unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing