We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very clean, loud”
Review of Hostel Giraffe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Giraffe
Ranked #308 of 434 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
1 review
“Not very clean, loud”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed in a private room with a double bed. Unfortunately there was only a single bed cover there... The staff wasn't very helpful, saying they didn't know if they could provide us with another one.
No towels in private room...
Also, there were some problems with cleanliness. And I mean not only with fungi on the walls in bathrooms, but also filth in the kitchen and our room.
If you don't mind staying up till 3-4 in the morning because of guests playing games in the hall (staff don't react at all) and a club with loud music outside - this is a place for you. Good luck with hygiene!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinKash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    28
    24
    8
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
15
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aveiro, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

I have been to four hostels till now and this was the only one that had breakfast included even though I paid only 10€. The downside is the amount of people in the same room, but this is what hostels are :)

Lovely staff, always nice and helpful. The kitchen is very clean and the beds are already prepared for you :D has a bar with pool table and fuseball, as well as other games and ia close to the center. 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjbsantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Good and bad
This hostel is very basic, cheap, and well located. The staff is helpful and knowledgeable. The really cool thing about this place is that they offer to wash your clothes for about 5$. This was a blessing because after 2 weeks of traveling, I really needed it.

Overall, the facilities are clean. However, I got in late at night. Therefore, I tiptoed my way to the bed. When I slipped myself into the coverts, I felt a wet spot. I opened the lights that in addition to the “wet spot”, there was chewing Tabaco around my bed… Anyways, I hope you will be luckier that I. Cheers

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The services are all awesome! We had really good times here with easigoing peoplr in the center of krakow! Was really nice and it's a good way to start experience this incredible city! The rooms is clean and all staff are very comprehensive! Its the best place for students to know eachother! Im from brazil and just loved here! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel is clean and very central. It was easy to find and the receptionist on our arrival was nice and friendly. It is not a party hostel, it is very quiet and we were the only ones in the bar one of the nights. The biggest shock and the worst part of the hostel is the gym that was underneath our room. We had to keep the window open because it was so warm. From about 6am every morning the extremely loud shouting and dance music from the gym would start, this was ridiculous and left us with a bad impression of this otherwise decent hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haydon Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This was an ideal hostel for our short stay exploring Krakow. It is not centrally located but only a 10 minute walk away meaning the prices are competitive. The hostel facilities are excellent. The staff are really lovely and helpful and the bar has a fun relaxed atmosphere. Myself and my partner got a 'welcome shot' on arrival and he got an extra Cherry shot because his surname is Cherry, brilliant!

Room Tip: I think some of the rooms are further away from the bar than others but ours was near the bar and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthEChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I really loved this place, very clean, very secure, incredibly friendly and sound staff. Deadly drinks in the 24 hour bar. 11 of us went and had a great time! We went in June, and didn't see many other customers, so definitely no issue of overcrowding! uite close to the square too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hostel Faust
#193 of 260 in Krakow
60 reviews
Deco Hostel
#53 of 434 in Krakow
163 reviews
Pillows Party Hostel
#121 of 434 in Krakow
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hostel Yellow
Hostel Yellow
#314 of 434 in Krakow
62 reviews
Wesoła Zachód
Atlantis Hostel
Atlantis Hostel
#30 of 434 in Krakow
264 reviews
Stare Miasto
Good Bye Lenin Revolution Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Giraffe

Property: Hostel Giraffe
Address: ul. Krowoderska 31, Krakow 31-141, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 434 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Giraffe 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Giraffe Hostel & Bar - best place to stay in Krakow. Our hostel is located in the city center - in walking distance from the Main Square, Wawel castle, Barbican and the main train/bus station.We offer you cheap and comfortable accommodation in dorms and private rooms. Our price includes:- all-you-can-eat breakfast- free use of computer, internet and WiFi- free welcoming shot in our bar- free use of pool table, Playstation, football table, TV and collection of DVD movies- free use of clean sheets and blankets- towels in private rooms- free safe and luggage room- free map- wide range of tour tickets available at the reception- free tourist info- and last but not least - extremely good atmosphere which our amazing staff will provide!We will make your stay in Krakow unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing