We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An over-rated hostel”
Review of Greg & Tom Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greg & Tom Hostel
Ranked #4 of 427 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“An over-rated hostel”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

When I arrived at this hostel, I was "greeted" by a World War II scene of a dreary entrance, damp stairs, and a lobby so chock full of huge backpacks that I decided to stay at another less-confested, more congenial hostel.
It was very clear to me that after seeing this hole-in-the-wall dump, the hostel was WAY over-rated. The young gals signing in guests were as pleasant as could be under the circumstances: complete chaos at check-in! I had to wait 20 minutes before even talking to one of them. It wasn't their fault; it was the fact that they were booked up to the hilt. Those massive backpacks had been left by hostelers who simply dumped their stuff and headed for the Old Town, only to return later when things we a bit more calmer.
I advise anyone thinking of staying at this hostel to seriously consider booking elsewhere. Krakow is loaded with excellent hostels, but Greg and Tom's place is an overcrowded arm pit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cyclopath43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    78
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
80
148
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The previous reviews speak for themselves. This hostel is wonderful. Great staff, great vibe and all in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redmozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Best of my hostel stays. Rooms large and not over crowded with beds or bunks. Soft beds! Bundle of keys for security, not card swipe. This probably won't be changed as out is located over several floors of a normal apartment block. Large lockers in each room for each person. Decent showers with space to get changed. Breakfast every morning plus a dinner a couple of times a week. I was there on make your own mega burger night. But best of all is the gorgeous staff. There seemed to be a never ending number of new staff for each day and every one had the same cheerfulness and focus. They really would drop everything to come and help you out. I got a half hour guide to the city when I turned up at 8 am straight off an overnight train, complete with circled map, and offer of
breakfast if I wanted. You can see the hostel looking from the train station down the side of the mega mall outside. Cross the street and you are there. The tours recommended by the hostel were awesome. Made my holidays so easy. Big hugs to you guys. Best hostel!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

everything is perfect and amazing, free dinner and breakfast both great food. great vibes, great staff. price includes everything. best

Room Tip: dont get a thin blanket
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamerena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

What can I say.. you'd have to experience this place for yourself! I stayed in the 6-bedded dorms and they were more than spacious for me. The staff here is extremely friendly and they'd even party with us sometimes.

This place is really centralized - about 5-15 minutes walk to all the main attractions of Krakow. There's quite a good variety for breakfast, a wide selection of DVDs, free wifi with good connection and 3 computers available for use. Not to forget the PS3, PS2 and wii should decide to rest in the hostel anytime, you won't be bored!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jstatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

I usually find something poor about every hostel except Greg and Tom!
The directions provided were very easy to follow
The hostel is large, clean, many gathering spaces perfect to meet transports
The staff is friendly and speaks good English, upon check in they go through the map of krakow and point out things to see and can answer all your questions
Free laundry, wifi, breakfast, and dinner (twice a week. Dinner was a large buffet of delicious cooked food)
The showers were clean and there are plenty
The private room was huge! Well worth the money, dorms are also spacious
Kitchen and showers on each floor
And they take credit card payment!
This hostel was really impressive and makes me want to come back to krakow even more!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samj16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Krakow is a hidden gem, and Greg & Tom is the place to stay while there!

Great place to meet people and party. Awesome deals on vodka every night. The staff will take you out and show you a good time. Make friends with the people working the desk and buy an energy drink from them - it comes w/ a free shot of vodka!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twall2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Mercure Krakow Stare Miasto
Kleparz
Vienna House Andel's Cracow
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#27 of 259 in Krakow
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Ibis Budget Krakow Stare Miasto
Kleparz
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
#2 of 427 in Krakow
717 reviews
Stare Miasto
Greg & Tom Beer House Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greg & Tom Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greg & Tom Hostel

Property: Greg & Tom Hostel
Address: Ul. Pawia 12/7, Krakow 31-154, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kleparz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 427 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contrary to some hostels, you can check in at any time and wait for your bed in our comfortably furnished common room, having cup of coffee and a chat with our staff. Check out time is at 10am but after that you can still use the common areas of the hostel.For the hungry ones: DAILY FREE BREAKFASTS & FREE DINNERS!!What else do we offer: Three fully-equipped kitchens with microwaves, cooker, toaster, fridge with free filtered water and an ice maker for your fancy drinks. Free tea, coffee, milk fruits and cereal available 24/7 Spacious dorms and double rooms, modern bathrooms with massage showers. Free Internet and Wi-Fi, CD burning and printing, 3 huge flat screen TVs with hundreds of channels (music, sport, film, fashion) and a massive collection of DVDs (over 300 movies!) to enjoy while comfortably seated on our soft sofas. Free towel, linen, padlocks and security lockers. No curfew, no lockout!Broad tourist information, free maps and guidebooks.We also provide: Multilingual, experienced and energetic staff available 24/7 to help with the craziest issues: we help to buy tickets, look for the best bus or trains connections. IMPORTANT: AGE LIMIT FOR GREG&TOM from 18 to 50 YEARS OLD. No stags, no school groups. We only accept group bookings of no more than 6 people. Anyone caught breaking this rule will be charged for the whole stay and have their reservation cancelled. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing