We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't trust their website and the comments”
Review of Momotown Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Momotown Hostel
Ranked #99 of 417 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Lille
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't trust their website and the comments”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stayed at Momotown hostel 3 nights in August. I travelled alone and the guides said that it is a good and charming place to meet people far from partying hostels.
When I arrive after I have paid for my room the receptionnist - that spoke barely english and that I was obviolusly anoying - said to me afterward that the room was in an other place. I must admit that it was a central place , rather ok a nice building within little square but then I discover a room in with sticky floor with dust and hair without ventilation or heating. As It was very late I stayed late and had a very bad night. I am a girl travelling solo and then I realize in the morning that I was alone in the all 3 last floors.
So before booking check where you will be located, dont go there to meet people as not much was done to "mingle" when I was there but gummy bears vodka parties. Also note that they offer drinks to people that put good comments so do not trust everything that is written.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    32
    16
    10
    10
See reviews for
6
21
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The place was abominable, the staff nasty. It is more a hostel than B&B. I chose it because they had "protected parking" but at night they allowed a swarm of drunken "guests" sit on and play with my €25000 bike. Check in is blocks away from the rooms, so you have to drag your suitcases a long way after check in. Breakfast should have been included but they told me "sorry, someone stole yours, go make your own breakfast somewhere else". They also told me I cannot complain because parking and breakfast were "free", so I have "no right". Bathroom was dirty with filthy towels, one wet half-roll of toilet paper, and it was one of two times in 50 years that I had to change hotels mid vacation.

Room Tip: AVOID THIS LIKE A 14th CENTURY PLAGUE! They have a Hostel, a few blocks away, which may be OK. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fluglotse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Krakow hotels

Bydgoszcz, Poland
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I've stayed here with my girlfriend in a private room with bathroom. For the price the room and location (market squer in old, climatic district) were just perfect! Room was clean, staff friendly and helpful and the sandwiches we got every day were delicious. Momotown fitted perfectly in a grat trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I stayed at Momotown recently on a trip to Krakow for my friends wedding. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful with regards to directions. The room was a great size for two people and the location was absolutely perfect situated in a great spot in Kazimierz and the two restaurants we ate in next door to us. Rubenstein's in particular is worth checking out. We missed our 12:00 check out time on account of rolling in the door at 6:00am after drinking copious amounts of vodka which meant we had a visit from the manager but thankfully he and the staff have experienced it all before and were very understanding. I highly recommend this hostel to anyone visiting beautiful Krakow, well worth the cost and I'll definitely be back. It's only drawback was being issued with one key which we took joint responsibility of.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porkchopexpress1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Da Lat, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is absolutely one of the best accommodation values in Krakow. I stayed in Poland much longer than originally planned due to the supreme hospitality I received. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonnyDazeArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

stayed in momotown with my husband recently. we had booked a twin room with shared bathroom but upon arrival were informed that they didn't actually have twin rooms, so we got a room with four bunk beds which was not ideal (though we were the only ones in the room). the best thing about the hostel is the location. miodowa is one of the main roads in kazimierz and close to alot of lovely cafes and restaurants. kazimierz has a real unique feel to the rest of krakow and i am glad we stayed in the area. breakfast was very basic and we skipped it most of the time - also be prepared to wash your own dishes! the hostel could get a bit rowdy in the evening. the toilet facilities also seem a bit inadequate for the number of guests and sometimes there was a wait to use the shower rooms and toilets, some of which had no locks on. the room was not cleaned at all when we were there. we know we were in a hostel and were not expecting the beds to be made up or anything, but it would have been nice for the floor to have been cleaned and the rubbish cleared. the mattresses were very thin but at least we didn't detect any bed bugs!! curtains were hanging off their hooks and pretty useless in general. we chose momotown for its value for money, but probably won't return if we visit krakow again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doofvfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2011

My husband and I recently stayed in Krakow - Momotown Hostel, Private room with en-suite bathroom. For roughly 40 euros a night this place was SERIOUSLY good value for money. The room was huge (probably classed as an apartment in the States) and very clean and tidy with a pretty spacious en-suite bathroom. It was superbly located right in the centre of Kasemir - a beautiful town!! There was a shared kitchenette and a breakfast of cereal, cheese, breads, tea, coffee and juice. which you took over in the main hostel building, was included in the price. The staff at the hostel could not have been more helpful and helped us plan our daily trips with excellent knowledge of the area. In the mornings we met people who were staying in the main hostel and they all seemed happy and comfortable.
My advice.......forget hotels, this set up is perfect for a short city break. We would definitely use these guys again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozza2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Oberza Sasiadow Apartments
Kazimierz
Blueberry Hostel
Blueberry Hostel
#33 of 417 in Krakow
79 reviews
Stare Miasto
Tramp Aparthostel
Tramp Aparthostel
#70 of 417 in Krakow
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lwowska26 Hostel
#198 of 417 in Krakow
38 reviews
Greg & Tom Party Hostel
#13 of 417 in Krakow
330 reviews
Chilli Hostel
#76 of 417 in Krakow
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Momotown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Momotown Hostel

Property: Momotown Hostel
Address: ul. Miodowa 28, Krakow 31-055, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 417 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Momotown Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Momotown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing