We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT, Cheap and great location!!”
Review of Flamingo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flamingo Hostel
Ranked #63 of 418 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT, Cheap and great location!!”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed in this hostel for 3 nights, early January. Had a private room, was very impressed with the location as its a stones throw away from the centre square. Our room was lovely and clean, staff were very friendly and great to ask for advice for things as cheap eats, supermarkets and questions about tours (auschwitzz and salt mines) etc etc. It was the down season so the hotel was quiet and not very many people staying there, but that didnt bother us and we just took advantage of where we were. There is a lovely living room, with kitchen, breakfasts are small and simple, but they are included. Free wifi throughout the hostel and 2 computers to surf the net if you dont have any technology with you. I would highly recommend this hostel, as you cannot beat its price with the location and how helpful the staff are.

Room Tip: Ask for kokos restaurant!! will not be dissappointed for price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank touristillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    82
    52
    29
    28
See reviews for
11
72
82
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed as 4 girls in flamingo hostel in September whilst interrailing around eastern Europe and this hostel was by far the most fun out of everywhere we stayed. There was always something going on and was easy to meet people, and its location was perfect for going out and sight seeing as it is right on the main square. There was predrinks happening each night so we always had a group to go out with and make friends with, and if you woke up in time for the free breakfast it was very good to say how little we were paying to stay there.
I would definitely recommend and stay there again if I go back to Krakow in the near future

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kanika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Like the other reviews the location is amazing...almost worth choosing the hostel on location alone for sightseeing and partying. However the hostel itself does not have a great atmosphere. The staff were not helpful and often were not able to be found. My bed linen did not fit the bed. The power outlets did not work on a lot of the beds in the dorm. Our room had a broken shower screen and the sink was blocked a lot. There was no toilet in the bathroom in the room. The general cleanliness was good. Wifi was weak in some areas. Breakfast was a chaotic affair and there was never enough food to go around. It was difficult to was your plates because the area was so small. Noise from the street and the club directly across the road and people loitering around the kebab shops in the street. I would look for another hostel if I revisit Krakow. There are just too many things that were annoying.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi_ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Flamingo Hostel for 3 nights in a private double room. The hostel offers breakfast each morning and a lot of help with any activities or things to do while visiting. The location was amazing, just steps from the main square.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

after travelling all around Poland this was by far the worst hostel ive stayed in - the staff were rude -- Laughing at our questions in our faces in polish
- no introductory information about the city eg maps or bar/restaurant recontamination (even when asked)
- spent hours happily chatting with other males guests while my friends and i received nothing but one word answers

I had other guests come ask me questions about the tours offered because they could get nothing out of the girls at reception ( this happened on 2 occasions )

Aside from the location - the dorms were stuffy, noisy, we had furniture being moved in and out of our room at strange hours.

I would not recommend this hostel to my friends or stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikki2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Great breakfast spread. We had three different kinds of meats, cheeses, cereal, etc. I found the front desk to be super friendly and all the girls that work there are super cute (if you are into that sort of thing). I found my room/bed to be clean and didn't experience any bed bugs.

This hostel is located right smack in the middle of the party district. So, if you want a quiet hostel, this is NOT it. You can hear all the loud music from the clubs downstairs. One of my roommates was from a different part of Poland, came special to Krakow to party. I swear all he brought was a small backpack, a large bottle of Vodka, and McDonald's.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenJen808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Very good location, a few meters from the main square and next to night clubs.

Other than that, we were frustrated with this hostel. Unbearably hot rooms due to lack of airflow, we had to sleep with the door open to make through it. 2 out of 3 showers didn't have hot water. Noisy guests during the night. Worst hostel from our summer eurotrip, and it was highly regarded in theory. Breakfast is very good though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandzroxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Cracow Hostel
Cracow Hostel
#39 of 418 in Krakow
159 reviews
Pink Panther's Hostel
#26 of 418 in Krakow
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
#2 of 418 in Krakow
706 reviews
Stare Miasto
Greg & Tom Beer House Hostel
Stare Miasto
Tramp Aparthostel
Tramp Aparthostel
#71 of 418 in Krakow
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hostel

Property: Flamingo Hostel
Address: ul. Szewska 4, Krakow 31-009, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 418 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Flamingo Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Flamingo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing