We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsafe for females and it's very dirty”
Review of Flamingo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flamingo Hostel
Ranked #63 of 417 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unsafe for females and it's very dirty”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Filthy, rude staff, there was still dried caked on vomit around the bathroom sinks from the night before at 10am. The location was fine but there are way better hostels (like greg and toms beers).
At 1 am some english teenage guy was running around the dorm with his dick out trying to put his balls in people faces. The receptionist let me change rooms but no refund was offered and she didn't ask him to stop or leave. It might have been a good hostel a few years ago but Flamingos is terrible now.

Room Tip: Different hostel. Don't let this one spoil Krakow for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracyeloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    81
    51
    28
    28
See reviews for
11
70
82
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends for a few nights. Location is fab and right near the main square! Rooms are clean and nice enough- although abit hot in the summer! Friendly staff were happy to answer any questions and we booked a few trips from here too which we're well organised and good value for money!
Didn't have any issues with noise at night and beds were comfy enough
Great common room although breakfast wasn't great which wasn't an issue as plenty of places around to grab some food
Lovely city and would stay here again

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LOVELIFE1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I stayed here with 12 friends for a girly weekend away and the hostel couldn't have been better. Fab location right on market square, exactly where we wanted to be. Everywhere was clean and tidy, common room very big and staff friendly. We also did 2 excursions through the hostel and they can tell you anything you need to know. Breakfast was standard continental, cereal and bread/salami/cheese, had it one morning but wasn't bothered after that. The showers are good although tend to go cold due to over use and we had to wait 15 mins. No complaints though, loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This hostel in right in the mix of things, very social and heaps of fun. Going out in Krakow, your going to be out for most of the night and its a great hostel to come back to. Staff are very friendly and good to point you in the right direction EG: organising trips to auschwitz, walking tours.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2013

First time in a hostel for us, we were unexpectedly very happy and satisfied with our stay here.
Staff were very friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make our stay tops. Importantly really clean, noticed that toilets, sinks and floors cleaned regularly throughout day, really pleased to see that. Location is perfect just steps from main square, bars and restaurants all steps away. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liss57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

If you're in it simply to party, then this hostel is in the best location possible. Right across the road from so,e decent clubs and next door to McDonalds and a million Kebab stores, for your hungry late night drunken munchy needs. It has decent sleeping accommodation...one of the downfalls would probably be the unreliable wifi and the fact that the hot water in the showers runs out frequently and you have to wait about 30mins for the next batch of hot water to be heated, as well as beating off fellow hostelers to get there first. It's ok for a 1-3 day stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tia_Colaudolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This was my second stay at the Flamingo Hostel and it is one of the best hostels I have stayed at. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. I love this man from common room : ). The hostel is easy to find and in a very pleasant location, the rooms are clean, the bathrooms are regularly cleaned as well.The atmosphere is very nice and I can't wait for my next stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Pink Panther's Hostel
#26 of 417 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracow Hostel
Cracow Hostel
#41 of 417 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
#3 of 417 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Stare Miasto
Mundo Hostel
Mundo Hostel
#12 of 417 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Stare Miasto
Greg & Tom Beer House Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hostel

Property: Flamingo Hostel
Address: ul. Szewska 4, Krakow 31-009, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 417 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Flamingo Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Flamingo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing