We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff. Fantastic value.”
Review of Flamingo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flamingo Hostel
Ranked #66 of 433 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing staff. Fantastic value.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed at the Flamengo for a long weekend with 6 friends. We had a great time. The staff were so welcoming and went out of their way to make sure we were having a good time during our stay. The hostel had great facilities and the bedrooms were very impressive. Power points in every bed were very welcome along with lockable cupboards. The Flamengo offers a very fun, affordable experience in the center of Krakow. Big fan!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelzie182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    82
    53
    29
    29
See reviews for
11
72
83
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed for a week. The staff could not have been friendlier, they were willing to show us all of the good places, and show us how to party on the weekend. The rooms were perfect and the noise from outside could not be helped. Across from clubs and just off the main square I didn't expect peace and quiet but location was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 42kd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The best part of this stay is the staff. All of the young workers, especially Kuba and Pawel are very friendly, knowledgable, and generous with their time and expertise. Thanks to them for some great chats and advice!

Otherwise, my stay was unremarkable and disappointing. This is a major party hostel, both in its location and its demeanor. They took out a kitchen to install a bar (I was yelled at one time when I tried to access the refrigerator), and throughout my week there, the shower lights changed from normal to blue in color. If you're looking for a great party, this is it. But otherwise it is quite run down, the mattresses are old, rooms are cramped, and everything from the street to the common room to the music at reception is very loud. Also there is no sense of security, with no keys just a buzzer that anyone can use to enter and access any room. Just know what you're getting into and if this is the right place for you.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ahc1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hostel has a great vibe! The staff are really friendly and always organising fun parties for the guests. I met some really interesting people there (guests and staff alike) and as a female, solo traveller this was an absolute highlight of my trip to Krakow.

The location is amazing, just a couple of steps away from the main market square, and maybe a 15min walk to the train station.

The beds were comfortable and clean, although the room I stayed in (10 bed mixed dorm) overlooked the street and it was quite noisy throughout the night. Someone vomited in our ensuite one night, so I ended up using the communal bathrooms instead of the one in our room which I had paid extra for. By the next day though, it was well cleaned up.

Security wasn't great- I feel that anyone could be buzzed up by reception as they often didn't even notice who was coming or going. You don't get given a key to enter the building or to enter your dorm so I would highly recommend using the lockers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Definitely one of the best hostels I've been regarding the good-vibe atmosphere! Everyone from the staff was super friendly and they really make sure you have a great time. If you like to meet people and go have some fun clubbing, I surely advice to start your night with the guys from the hostel and go on the pub crawl. Regarding the facilities, the common room is lovely; the kitchen was on remodelling but they ensured the breakfast at a cafeteria next to it. The toilets are normally very clean (except for some times of the day when obviously everyone wants to shower before going out).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackphant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Highly recommended to the energetic travelers who enjoy meeting people.The hostel is within 1 minute walk to the middle of central square, situated just in one of the lanes in old town. It's not only a budget place to stay overnight. Here you can make friends with other travelers and the locals(staff!). The staff will hold some pub crawl events on Thursday, Friday and Saturday as far as I know. Staff here are super helpful, young and passionate. 24 hours there'll always be someone at the counter so solo traveler could stay with less worries about safety. In my case, even though I encountered someone weird in the hostel (you never know who you'll meet during a trip) but the staff here cheer me up and make sure everything's fine. Great solo traveling experience!! Thank you Kasia : ) If i have chance, I'd definitely come again here visiting this fantastic city Krakow.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 302yifangl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Great hostel in an amazing location. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Lovely communal area and the place is quite safe with needing a buzzer to get in. Only downside is the bedrooms are very cramped and one bathroom for 12!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aajsmh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Elektor
Hotel Elektor
#89 of 260 in Krakow
163 reviews
Stare Miasto
Rembrandt Aparthotel
Rembrandt Aparthotel
#123 of 260 in Krakow
106 reviews
Hostel Faust
#193 of 260 in Krakow
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pink Panther's Hostel
#29 of 433 in Krakow
338 reviews
Kleparz
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
#2 of 433 in Krakow
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hostel

Property: Flamingo Hostel
Address: ul. Szewska 4, Krakow 31-009, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 433 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Flamingo Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Flamingo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing