We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kazimierz's Secret Apartments
Ranked #61 of 452 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Offered as apartments in the Jewish Quarter of Krakow, four of us shared two apartments and they were excellent. Impeccably clean comfortable and well furnished, they provided excellent sleeping accommodation with large well appointed toilet/shower rooms (including washing machines) and cooking facilities with dining table, and provision of tea and filtre coffee + sugar, ketle and coffe machine, toaster and cooking pans and utensils. If like us, you prefer to eat out, there is a superb range of local cuisine and bars available within yards of the apartments, available from 8am until midnight.

The facility not only stayed open to welcome us at 11pm on Sunday evening, but arranged for transport to and from the Airport, and for us to visit Auschwitz, all at the standard hire rates.

Krakow is a lovely City, and if you are reasonably fit, it's all within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBCEM2DAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

we apid around 40 pounds for an apartment. very clean, spacious and best of all in a brilliant location just around the corner from the main square in kazimirez. a bit impersonal but still good value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Due to flight delays we arrived around midnight - no problem getting keys and no hint that this had caused any inconvenience. Lovely studio apartment with tea, coffee and other basics provided, although some milk would have been helpful. Very friendly and helpful staff - eg. extra pillows no problem and very reasonable price for the room. Excellent location just a very short walk from Kazimierz main square (antiques market Sat am, Clothes market Sun am and bars/restaurants open long hours). Nice atmosphere, felt very safe and apartment was very secure. 15-20 minute walk to Krakow Old Town, but route can be varied to avoid becoming boring. Plenty of excellent trips around Krakow - beautiful city.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank thecrivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We do not travel often, but this apartments were great. They have very family character. High privacy level, friendly staff. Clean rooms in good conditions, nice place for those who prefer to eat at home. High level free wifi. Far from the bus station. Will surely stay here again and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tetiana123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We just happened to pick this property for no particular reason, and we were not disappointed at all. The location was lovely and the aprtment was immaculate. We organised with the office for an airport pick up which was great so I would recomment doing this. The apartment itself we could not fault, it was clean and well equipped and secure. We were right near the local square where there were bars and restaurants. We would recomment the Argentinian steak house which if you come out of the apartment and turn right it is just a little way up the path, it was lovely and very well priced.

We also went to the concentration camps which the office very kindly arranged for us and this was worth doing, also we also did a city tour on one of the gold buggies that are situated in the local square this was very informative and good.

If we were to go back to Poland I would definately recomment these apartments they were clean and the office staff arranged airport pick ups and trips, very good all round.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed here as a result of the TripAdvisor reviews and were very happy we did. As others have noted, these apartments are absolutely immaculate, completely refurbished and amazingly well-appointed with equipment and supplies -- better than any other apartment we've stayed in in several other European cities. We also loved the neighborhood, which is rich with history, and frequented by locals as much or more as by tourists (unlike the main square/Rynek Glowny area). It also has a huge number of very reasonably priced places to eat and drink.

That said, this place may not be for you. First, you may prefer the slicker, less gritty and more touristy area, including because you plan to spend a lot of time there and don't want to walk or take a tram (easy) or taxi. Second, you need to be prepared to climb stairs, as these apts have no lift. Third, at least some of these apartments are quite noisy. Ours faced Josefa St and we had to wear earplugs every night until the wee hours as the neighborhood is full of noisy people (again, locals as much as tourists, from what we could tell) who are frequenting the many places to eat and drink. Also, we rented a 2 bedroom apt even though we are just a couple, and used one bedroom more as a "lounge" for hanging out, but you should be aware that even the larger apts apparently don't have a living area per se.

While the neighborhood seems grittier than the more touristy areas, it's quite safe, and the apts themselves are amazingly secure (the 3 locked doors you pass through seemed like overkill to me, since I live in a city with a much higher crime rate than Krakow!). The Kazimierz area is obviously becoming quite trendy/popular with the younger locals, and I actually think it's heading towards being too much so. In a few years, I expect it to be as slick as the main square and having lost its local charm. So my advice for those who enjoy more of a local flavor in their travels is to stay here before that happens!

Room Tip: If there are apts that don't face Josefa, they're probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NETimeNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Ideally situated in the Kazimierz district, about a 20/25 minute walk from the main square (Rynek Glówny) in the old town, and 2/3 minutes from the local square (Plac Nowy),with loads of bars and restaurants close by.The area felt very safe, despite how it looks, and there was a lovely atmosphere there. It felt as if we were living in the area, rather than just being tourists there.
The apartment, while tight on space, was very well laid out and had everything you needed. It
was ideal for our purposes, as we were going to be out and about all day, and basically, we just needed a bed to sleep in at night. It was clean and bright with a kitchen area, toilet and shower unit. We found the bed comfortable - mind you, after all the walking we had done each day, I think we would have found a park bench comfortable!
Our apartment was on the first floor, facing the street and over a small restaurant. While there was a bit of muffled noise from the restaurant, which really didn’t bother us, the street was generally quiet - but we live in the flight path of an airport, so anything after that is quiet! The apartment above us had creaking floor boards, which was probably more annoying, as on one of the mornings (early), the occupant did a lot of pacing back and forth - creak, creak, creak!
There is no air con in the room, just a fan, and this would be a problem in very hot weather. Also there is no lift(elevator), so if you have mobility problems or very heavy luggage, this might be an issue for you. The only toiletries provided was a liquid hand soap - so don’t forget to bring your own shampoo and conditioner!!
For sheer convenience, we arranged with Michal to collect us at the airport, rather than having to get the train in, then get a tram and then start searching for the apartment, dragging cases behind us. It was well worth it. Michal was very helpful throughout our stay, with advice and recommendations, and will book tours and taxis for you.
When we go back to Krakow, we will definitely use here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fenlaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#48 of 262 in Krakow
590 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Kazimierz
Hotel Kazimierz
#83 of 262 in Krakow
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Kazimierz
Metropolitan Boutique Hotel
Topolowa Residence
#1 of 262 in Krakow
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kazimierz's Secret Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kazimierz's Secret Apartments

Address: ul. Jozefa 34, Krakow 31-056, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 452 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range: £31 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kazimierz's Secret Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 fully equipped and luxury furnished apartments in beautifully renovated historical townhouse in the heart of Krakow's Kazimierz. Every apartment was completed with exceptionally high standards. There are 7 two bedroom apartments and 3 studios. Every apartment has kitchen/kitchenette and the bathroom (with a bath or a shower). One of them is really exceptional-it has huge terrace with great sighting. There is a very nice cafe and pizza restaurant in the same building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kazimierz's Secret Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kazimierz`s Secret Apartments Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing