We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful small hotel”
Review of Hotel Pugetow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pugetow
Ranked #72 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Kent UK
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
“Delightful small hotel”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is an absolutely delightful small boutique hotel run by a team of lovely people. The gorgeous buffet breakfast (with cooked eggs if you want) is in a pretty cellar streaming - in our case - with sunlight.
Our bedroom, number 6, on the top floor (this could be a problem for you if your legs are not up to it) was delightful, clean, cosy yet spacious and very airy and light with a really nice bathroom which was underfloor heated. Only criticism, is that the bed was not brilliant, in that it was slightly small, soft mattress and the bed linen especially the cover could have been a mite larger. Heating in fact was to your choice but very efficient and offered air conditioning for the summer months. We had a spare bedroom so if you came with a child or third person the space was more than ample. At £50 a night, including that lovely breakfast, it must have been by far the best deal in Krakow.
Its position is also ideal, being just 5 minutes pleasant stroll from the central square.
Krakow is beautiful and offers a lot for a long weekend. We spent a much time in cafes and most of that in our clear favourite, the wonderfully atmospheric Cafe Camelot, where you can eat the most delicious cakes (huge portions) and appreciate the huge selection of unusual drinks, hot and cold: we loved the hot mead infused with herbs, spices and honey. The museums and churches are very interesting, though the former are out of the dark ages and staffed by horrendously fierce and unfriendly security staff who stare at you and dog your footsteps - almost a fascination in itself. Poland needs to attend to this anomaly where museum staff are, without exception, grossly unhelpful and officious, steeped in an authorative attitude that has clearly been passed on from Communist times. The museums and galleries are also all unnecessarily very dark and dingy and disabled access is non existant. Generally though, the Polish people are particularly friendly and willing to help and service in restaurants and cafes is always very cheerful.
By the way, don't be put off by the bad press Polish food gets. Generally Polish restaurants and cafes, in Krakow anyway, are not just cheap but very good, once you have got past the huge portions of very boring beetroot dishes. We twice ate in the absolutely superb Miod Malina (Honey and Raspberry) restaurant, Grodska 40, where the venison is so tender and the herring starter an absolute treat. Not one usually for soup but try the chicken broth here - absolutely delicious. Desserts also tremendous and including a brilliant Chilean house wine, all for well under £50 for two. Conversely, avoid the Chimera restaurant which seems to attract British people with really bad, apalling taste in food. Huge portions of awful meat cooked to death in a thick sickly sauce that made us feel ill and an awful starter - quite the most horrible place we have been to in years - an absolute tourist rip off. The service was patronising and uncaring. Avoid at all cost! Looked like something that badly needed a re-fit.
Auschwitz was inevitably intensely moving and you must do that day trip. However, more than enough elsewhere to keep you busy pottering around the city centre, drinking hot chocolate and trying out the delicious home made choccies.
All in all, a great long weekend and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 if you are infirm or disabled. The steps are quite difficult to navigate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lemniot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    42
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
116
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This boutique hotel, a short walk from the old town, offered wonderful hospitality, a welcome change from the big hotel chains. It was minus 15 outside but very cosy inside. Our room was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated with original oil paintings. Breakfast was freshly prepared with plenty of choice. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We booked an apartment, so we had an entrance hall and a sitting room as well as a bedroom/bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

As experienced travellers we can honestly say that this is one of the most charming and welcoming hotels we have stayed in throughout the world. The staff were superb as was the breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble and they even gave us a free upgrade to a beautifully decored suite. I would book quick, as its location close enough to the town centre with a 10 minute walk coupled with elegance comfort at a bargain price will ensure you will enjoy the break.We visited Auschwitz which is about 50 miles away and Schindlers Factory ( a short taxi ride away). We hired a cab for the day for £70 - a bargain.
Go before it gets too busy as this place is a gem!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikeleppard4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton on sea, essex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The hotel arranged a taxi for us at a charge of approx £16, which was waiting for us when we arrived at the airport, and saved us time and hassle. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we were impressed by the warmth and personal customer service that we experienced. We arrived early morning and were offered breakfast on arrival. We sat and had a leisurely breakfast of cold meats, cheeses, cereals, fruit, rolls, pastries, yogurts, etc, etc, very good quality and variety. By the time we had breakfast our rooms were ready, It was my sisters sixtieth birthday and she had been upgraded to a suite. My husband and I had the room number 5, which had the beautiful round window, the hotel was well heated and very warm and cozy. I think that all the rooms would be lovely. The position is perfect for a weekend as 5 mins walk to old town, which is the main area to visit, and arrange tours from. The hotel staff can book tours for you and provide tourist information, they also reccomended a most enjoyable restuarent, which I would also reccomend called the Miod MalIIina(Honey Raspberry). If I went to Krakow again, I would not want to stay anywhere else. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

What a gem. A small but very individual hotel. Location was great, within easy walking distance of everything. The hotel was warm and cosy. The staff were very polite and helpful and could`nt do enough for you. The rooms were decorated on individual themes and were very clean and comfortable. The dining room was in a converted basement with a roaring log burner...very cosy and quirky. All in all a lovely hotel, very reasonably priced and conveniently located.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family4cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

My wife and I stayed for four nights from the 13th oct . Though the weather outside was very cold, the hotel was very warm ! as was the welcome and the treatment we received during our stay ! The staff were just lovely ! could not have asked for more. Very spacious and nicely decorated room . Small hotel but very cosy, only 5 mins from the main square. Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My husband and I just returned from 9 days in Europe, the last three of which were stayed at the Hotel Pugetow. We were so glad we stayed at this boutique hotel; it was small, comfortable, tastefully decorated and had all the amenities one could ask for. The breakfast had much to choose from, and the dining room had lots of ambiance. The hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating, and we were minutes away from the center of town. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel when you are in Krakow. One bit of advice, though, if you have mobility issues: due to the historic nature of this hotel, there is no elevator. We were on the 4th floor, which was not an issue at all for us, however, if you do have a little trouble getting up and down stairs, it's best to ask for a room on the lower level. Also, if you need a taxi from the main station or the airport, ask the hotel to arrange one for you; you will pay the driver in cash, but it will be much less than if you hail a cab off of the street. From the main train station, the cost was only 30 zloty, and to the airport, it was 80.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Wielopole Hotel
#14 of 259 in Krakow
1,201 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#10 of 259 in Krakow
661 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#22 of 259 in Krakow
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Legend Hotel
#23 of 259 in Krakow
139 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Jan
Hotel Jan
#31 of 259 in Krakow
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pugetow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pugetow

Property: Hotel Pugetow
Address: ul. Starowislna 15a, Krakow 31-038, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto , Wesoła Zachód
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#31 Family Hotel in Krakow
#51 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pugetow 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Pugetow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pugetow Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing