We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming choice”
Review of Hotel Pugetow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pugetow
Ranked #75 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A charming choice”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This is a small but affordable quaint boutique hotel, with only 7 rooms. My bedroom on the second floor was small-ish and a little cramped, but the bathroom was large. No elevator or A/C, which in my case were not critical even though I visited in July. The building itself is a well-preserved outbuilding to the Pugetow "palace" next door, built by a rich French emigre many years ago. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is generous, with a number of offerings. My room with Rick Steves discount was 330 zloty/night, or just over $100, an attractive price. The location is an easy walk of 3-4 blocks to Old Town. I enjoyed my stay and would patronize this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigEasyTraveler-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    42
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
117
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

What a fantastic hotel, the staff are friendly and go out of their way to help, they really are quite brilliant. Our plane was diverted and we arrived two hours later than expected, but the taxi we had ordered via the hotel was still there waiting for us, now that really is service. Our room was gorgeous, a little "mini" suite, with air conditioning, which given it was 35c was a real godsend. The breakfasts are plentiful to say the least, a fantastic aray of cheese, meats, fruit, pastries, yogurts etc etc and they will also cook eggs for you, I can recommend the scrambled eggs. The old town and all the sites are within a 5 minute walk and there is a tram stop just across the road. This really was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CSarah1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson River Valley, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Every hotel should have a staff like the folks at Hotel Pugetow. They went out of their way to help us purchase concert tickets, arrange tours, find restaurants etc. They were responsive and a pleasure to deal with. The accommodations were pleasant, attractive and spacious and there was air conditioning ( a huge plus during the recent heat wave). The location is perfectly set between the old town and Kashimiez. I would absolutely stay there again.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The hotel is small and in an old building that's not very charming from the outside but the rooms are fine. It was a short walk to the old square and a Kantor and ATM machines were very close. An Italian restaurant atttached to the hotel is very good.
What really made this hotel standout for me was the service provided by the staff. We were a six persons in two to three rooms during our stay. Three different staff responded to questions and requests from three of us and they always made us feel like they were happy to help, even when they were busy. Restaurant recommendations were all very good. They called several first to ensure we would not have a long wait or be turned away. They spoke English well which was great. Even during breakfast which was mostly a good buffet of cold foods, they eagerly offered and made ommelettes (which were simply prepared, slightly loose, but excellent tasting). I definitely recommend this hotel but keep in mind as an old building someone with limited mobility could be challenged walking down to the reception area where breakfast is served.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoMedicineMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This hotel is in a great location and an easy walk to just about everything. it was a perfect boutique hotel. friendly efficient service. Very good breakfasts. If you ask they will make you any kind of eggs that you want. the shower was good and the bed comfortable. Very clean. they have a mini bar and coffee and tea in the room. built in a beautiful historic building and totally remodeled rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bartschmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Luckily we decided against booking a hotel on the main square and picked the Hotel Pugetow – a quiet little oasis only 5 minutes’ walk from the old town and main touristy bits.
It’s small and elegant and a refreshing change from the major hotel chains. The unassuming entrance makes it feel like your entering someone’s house instead of a hotel.
Staff are all very welcoming, helpful and on hand to give useful tips on where to visit and eat.
Breakfast selection is fresh and plenty of it and the ever smiling waitress is on hand to provide freshly made scrambled eggs and coffee.
We stayed in Room 2 which is actually a small apartment with ensuite bedroom and sitting room. It was comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean. Bear in mind it’s on the ground floor looking onto the car park but as it’s double glazed we never heard a thing. Central heating and air conditioning are controllable locally and Wi-Fi is available in all rooms.
The perfect choice for those who want to be close to the main attractions but not kept awake all night by them.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

A charming little hotel with beautifully furnished, well-equipped rooms. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Don't be put off by its inauspicious position between a car-park and main road - the rooms are quiet and there is no disturbance by traffic. Excellent position just outside the walls of the Old Town. Fresh, generous and beautifully presented breakfast in the cosy cellar.
In the winter you can almost toast your toes on the bathroom floor thanks to the underfloor heating! True joy ...

Room Tip: Room 2 offers loads of space in two beautifully furnished rooms + fantastic bathroom. Mini bar + t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobCul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Wielopole Hotel
#15 of 260 in Krakow
1,217 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#12 of 260 in Krakow
668 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#23 of 260 in Krakow
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Legend Hotel
#10 of 260 in Krakow
160 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Jan
Hotel Jan
#31 of 260 in Krakow
345 reviews
Stare Miasto
Wawel Hotel
Wawel Hotel
#28 of 260 in Krakow
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pugetow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pugetow

Property: Hotel Pugetow
Address: ul. Starowislna 15a, Krakow 31-038, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto , Wesoła Zachód
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#31 Family Hotel in Krakow
#51 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pugetow 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Pugetow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pugetow Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing