We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Amber Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amber Hotel
Ranked #21 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Larvik
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 22 March 2009

We had a wonderful time at Amber hotel. The girls in the reception was very helpful and when they heard it was our honeymoon the upgraded the room!! The room was clean and the breakfast very good with fresh wholemeal bread. We recommend anybody going to Krakow to stay at this fantastic and cheap hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    213
    35
    3
    8
See reviews for
122
354
33
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2009

Fantastic Hotel, a jewel. Brillant location. Staff very helpful, couldn't do more for you. I went with a party of four 'mature' ladies all first timers in Krakow. We all felt very safe in Krakow and recommend very highly Hotel and City.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2009

Just spent 3 nights in the Hotel Amber. There were 9 of us in our party and we were all very pleased with the the service provided by the desk staff. We arrived on 14th Feb. A heart shped box of Lindt chocs had been left in each room. Each afternoon, coffee, tea and biscuits were available at reception. The staff booked taxis to meet us at the airport for 180 zloties in total. They also recommended and booked restaurants for us. They also offered to book our tours, but as we had been to Krakow before, we knew that we could negotiate a better deal than the one on offer at the hotel. Room 102 and 202 were larger than the other rooms, although all were very comfortable. The bathrooms are particularly well appointed. The hotel is on a very quiet street which is no more than a 10 minute walk from Old Town Square.C K Brewer is at the end of the next street. We would recommend this for either a drink or a meal. I would book, if you want to go in the evening. We ate, again, in The Batory Restaurant. It is between the Square & the Castle. Although a bit tatty, it is worth a visit for the experience alone! If anything, the portions are too big. One Goulash Soup Starter fed four of us. None of us ever managed a desert. The hotel recommended the Hawelka Restaurant in the Square. Posh dining room & service but, with wine & beer, still no more than £20/head.$ of the men shared the Meat Feast. It would have fed all of us. We visted Auschwitz & the Salt Mines. Auschwitz was particularly grim in the snow. The Salt Mines were amazing. On both visits we had excellent guides. We booked these in a booth next to the Florian Gate. The price is negotiable & is cheaper than prebooking on the internet. However, you have to book a day in advance.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chad18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We stayed at this hotel for four days on a shightseeing trip to Kracow. Extremely pleased with our choice - the room was very nice, very clean and had lots of nice touches which weren't expected for the cheap-ish price. My only complaint would be that it didn't have a very big window, or it would have been full marks! The location was terrific - a short walk to the main square and lots of restuarants, but quiet enough to avoid the tourist noise (and prices). The staff were absolutely fantastic - could not do enough to help us at all hours - printing information off, finding cheap prices for tours (not pushing their tours on us). They even gave us Lindt chocolates for Valentines's Day!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mynameiskitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2009

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay in Krakow, and Hotel Amber was the perfect place. On arrival we were given coffee and biscuits in reception and in 5 minutes the room was ready for us, even though we arrived early. We only booked a "standard" room but had a balcony which was lovely (room 103). The staff were the most helpful we have come across and were keen to help with restaurant choices and trip/taxi bookings. Breakfast was fine with a variety of cheeses, meats, cereals, fruits and cooked. The hotel is really well situated - 10-15 minutes walk from the train station with suitcases (we got the train from the airport for only a couple of pounds) and about 5-10 minute leisurely walk to the main square. We ate at Miod Malina which was recommended by the front desk and at the Wentzl - both excellent meals. The trips to the Salt Mines and Auschwitz were certainly worth it and we enjoyed walking around the city, especially the "Royal Route" which can be found in all guide books.
If we ever visit Krakow again, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OandRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night trip to Krakow, staying at the Hotel Amber. Our flight from Liverpool was diverted at the very last minute to Warsaw, when we were then coached down to Krakow, arriving at the hotel at 2 am. We had already contacted the hotel, and they made sure there was tea and coffee waiting for us. We had a standard plus room - the bed was very comfortable and the shower in the bathroom was fantastic - and there was absolute silence at night so we slept very well. There was also a kettle / coffee/ tea tray in the room. All the hotel has been decorated to a very high standard - in the current minimalist style, and is squeaky clean. Breakfast was excellent - boiled or scrambled eggs, frankfurter sausage, pancakes, fruit juice, tea, coffee, yoghurts, fresh fruit, cold meats, salads, cake and the wonderful Polish bread.

We must add to the praise of the staff. All the receptionists were very pleasant and extremely good on tourist information. However there are numerous tourist offices within minutes of each other in the centre - all extremely helpful.

The hotel is in a fantastic position - about 10 minutes gentle stroll from the old town square, 2 minutes from the tramstop/bus stops. The Jewish quarter, the Castle/Cathedral and the old town are all easily walkable. There are loads of restaurants and most of them cater for vegetarians which is a pleasant change. Beware ordering a starter - the main courses are huge!

We decided to go to the Salt Mines under our own steam (as we loathe guided tours) - by bus from the bus station which is behind the railway station. It was extremely easy and much cheaper than being on a tour. The English tour at the Salt Mine was super. There are about 700 steps down inside the mine - and a lift to take you back up. There is disabled access. We had lunch in their cafe - which was absolutely fine.

The Rail and Bus and tram facilities are all excellent. Do make sure you have a ticket on the tram - the inspectors are very keen and we saw a local man being booked for not having a ticket.

My husband is a jazz musician and was delighted to find so many jazz venues in the centre. There is also classical music available - do visit the Jewish Museum if they have the trio of violin, accordion and bass playing Polish music in concert.

The shopping mall next to the railway station is definitely worth a trip (make sure you take an empty suitcase! we just had hand luggage), and the amber stalls in the old Cloth Hall are some of the best I have seen in Eastern Europe.

There is so much to see in Krakow that we hope to return so that we can go out into the country side and to the mountains.

We would have no hesitation in returning to the Amber Hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The comfort of the beds, the super shower and the very friendly staff
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen Barrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2009

We stayed here with another couple, and although the hotel is a reasonable (5-10min) walk from the station the walk is not currently what I'd call scenic, though with some investment in the area apparent this is likely to improve given time.
Turn the corner out of the hotel and the walk into the centre (again 5-10 mins) is pleasing with plenty of shops and architecture to appreciate.
The hotel rooms themselves were modern and comfortable, as was the hotel lobby area, with free internet access via the PC in the corner of the lobby a bonus, handy for keeping in touch with those back home.
The staff were pleasant, welcoming, informative, knowledgeable and spoke good English.
Breakfast is typical of the fare you can expect in this part of Europe, and is sufficient to fill the gap until you dine later.

Bad points are few, though I must mention that noise does carry through this hotel, we had some boisterous young men who came home in the early hours worse the wear for alcohol and gave no consideration to those wanting not to be disrurbed at this time of day. Most of the guests complained to the hotel staff and unfortunately there just does not appear to be the backup to handle this behaviour at that time of night, although the matter was dealt with the following day as the party left the hotel, though we'd had 2 night's disturbed sleep.
Although the hotel backs directly onto a railway line I did not find the noise from this too intrusive (our room was on the other side of the hotel though).

The town of Krakow is well worth a visit, just be careful crossing the roads to watch out for the almost silent trams that may travel contra-flow to the traffic and do not give way to any other road users, the restaurants are plenty and the food hearty, though not as cheap as I'd expected (hoped!)
We could easily have spent a week here (we stayed 4 days)


Not to be missed are the salt mines at Wieliczka, and the essential visit to Auschwitz (Oswiecim as it is in Polish) but you must get there early to see it all, it is massive and touched us even though we have no Jewish blood. In the same vein (no pun intended) we would highly recommend the walking tour of Kazimierz, we went with the tour organised by the tourist office in the centre of town, there is also a golf buggy tour for those of an American bent.
At the end of the walking tour we also highly recommend the cafe on the left next to (but nothing to do with) the High Synagogue, the cafe entrance is up a few stone steps and looks a bit of a dive from the outside, and is a little cramped inside but is well worth the effort, the cakes are delicious as is the coffee (and tea).

  • Liked — attentive staff
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spearman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Amber Design
#37 of 259 in Krakow
285 reviews
Wielopole Hotel
#14 of 259 in Krakow
1,195 reviews
Venetian House Aparthotel
#16 of 259 in Krakow
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#13 of 259 in Krakow
1,256 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#4 of 259 in Krakow
969 reviews
Kleparz
andel’s by Vienna House Cracow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Hotel

Property: Amber Hotel
Address: Ul. Garbarska 8/10, Krakow 31-131, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Krakow
#19 Family Hotel in Krakow
#22 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amber Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of this magical city, right next to the enchanting and picturesque Krakow old town, in a secluded street there is an unusual place, XIX century tenement house, and inside - a little, unbelievably hospitable boutique Amber Hotel with a unique atmosphere. Even though the hotel is situated in the very centre of the old town, only 500 meters from the main square, it manages to remain distant from urban noise. Elegant and functional rooms provide our guests with ideal conditions for both work and relaxation. Comfortably furnished rooms, coffee/tea making facilities, satellite TV, free and fast internet connection contribute to creating a comfortable and friendly place for every guest. The hotel is frequently visited, apart from tourists and businessmen, by renowned personalities from cultural, artistic and political circles. Extremely friendly service, always ready to help, makes it an exceptional place, full of good manners and taste, where every desire of the Guests is immediately satisfied by the professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing