We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”
Review of Hotel Stary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Stary
Ranked #52 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Just returned from our honeymoon in Krakow and we had such a good experience with Hotel Stary.
The staff were extremely helpful. We took an overnight train from Prague and reached Krakow at 7am, so we could not check in till 12 noon. We were only expecting to deposit our bags at the counter while we go for a guided tour of the city.. To our surprise, we were offered to check into our room immediately!
And what greeted us was beyond our expectations.
The room was huge, somewhat like a junior suite. The room was tastefully designed with wooden floors, nice cupboards etc. The toilet was also huge with a shower stall as well as a bathtub, and complete with heated flooring.
The breakfast over the next 2 mornings were also great. We especially liked the omelettes!
And lastly, the location of the hotel can't be better. It is literally a stone's throw away from the main square (Rynek Glowny). Definitely recommended! =)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manufesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2011

Wow! What a stunning hotel just steps from the main square in the old town. Reception desk was friendly upon arrival and helpful giving an upgrade to a higher room class. The room was gorgeously appointed with oriental rugs and faux painted walls. It was warm and inviting. The all marble bathroom was oversized for a boutique, especially in Europe. The bed was typical European but comfortable and the duvet great.

Spa/ pool/ sauna area was a top notch amazing experience that would rival top experiences anywhere in the world, and certainly better than many European 5 star hotels. Spending time in the salt cave was relaxing after what was sadly a very short 1 day tour of the city.
Breakfast the next morning was extremely good and well prepared.

Stary made the Krakow experience a most enjoyable one. In a trip in which I thought before hand would be a one time experience, I will definitely want to return to Poland and Krakow and the Stary was key in a great experience. Bravo!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palmster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Staff, (EXCEPT) 2 memebers of barstaff, were so helpful and polite. The rooms were spotless, the hotel was just beautiful, and within 1minutes walk to town centre. Breakfast was fantastic, anything you wanted. Didn't dine there, but it looked great. The swimming pool & well-being centre was a bit small (for a 5* hotel), but it was still very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SballNewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Spent a great two days in this hotel to enjoy the Christmas market. Situated just off the main square, no noise problems in December. Weather was cols - 2C but hotel comfortable and warm. Lovely breakfast, choice of hams, eggs, salads, cereals and cooked from the menu. Comfortable rooms with a/c and flat screen TV. Wireless WiFi free. Spa bath and plenty of free shampoos and towels, slippers, robes.
Beautiful spa in the cellar, sauna, steamroom (both of which can be used au naturel if you wish), relaxing salt cave, pool with counterflow current and well equiped gym.
Stay again? - you bet!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james_cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

This is a wonderful boutique hotel in a great location in Krakow (just a few metres off the main sqaure). The style is a real mix of modern and old-world and the spa in the cellar is just beautiful. Staff are friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wardeim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Hotel Stary is a really beautiful place to stay. Old town house with top design, perfect location close to the Square and the most terrible sleep quality you can imagine. Small, dark rooms, uncomfortable, queen/ not king size beds, very bad lighting, but absolutely awful: the bed sheets! old, smelly pillows, just ONE per person, NO materasse protection!, No bed pad, a thin sheet directly on the mat., thin, sintetic comforter... So we had 2 sleepless nights for a lot of money!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maledi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I recently stayed at the Stary in Krakow and was extreamly disappointed. It is listed as a 5 start hotel and the price is certainly in line with that rating, but absolutely nothing else about it ranked 5 starts.
The room was small and dark. The walls were thin and the place was very noisy.
The heating/air conditioning did not work. Well it worked as long as you're ok with 22 degrees C. It could not be changed.
The bathroom smelled very moldy. I thought I'd use the spa bath tub, I fill it with water and turned on the spa, I was blasted with moldy, stinky water.

The breakfast was ok, rather unimaginative, but ok. The coffee was way to strong and bitter and way too small.
The service at the front desk was friendly and helpful, that was the only bright point of this dismal place. Please find some other place to stay, you will be disappointed with this one.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenscfld51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#29 of 261 in Krakow
513 reviews
The Bonerowski Palace
#76 of 261 in Krakow
500 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#91 of 261 in Krakow
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#38 of 261 in Krakow
2,092 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#14 of 261 in Krakow
1,103 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stary

Address: ul. Szczepanska 5, Krakow 31-011, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Krakow
#30 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#37 Family Hotel in Krakow
#56 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £96 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Stary 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Stary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stary Krakow
Stary Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing