We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed the mark”
Review of Hotel Stary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Stary
Ranked #51 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Missed the mark”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We arrived at around 10pm on a Thursday evening. The girl on reception was very effecient, she was expecting us and had our key ready. The hotel itself though was dead. We thought we'd have a nightcap in the bar after our journey, but the barman had to re-open it for us and we were asked to settle our bill after 2 drinks. As the restaurant was totally empty we thought we get some room service, which it said ran until 2am. However when we called down we were told that the chef had gone home! We went to bed hungry.

The rooms are dark and seemed to lack furniture ie a coffee table would have been helpful. The mini bar was fully and well stocked and the bathroom, clean and functional.

The location just of the main square was perfect, but I'd say that if I was going back to, or recommending to a friend, I would try a different hotel. For the level of accommodation, it was totally over-priced.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosieL67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    175
    77
    29
    17
See reviews for
90
326
35
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

The Hotel Stary is situated just a few steps from the main plaza in Krakow. A beautiful job has been done integrating old architecture with modern high design. Sometimes, however, form takes precedence over function. The rooms have many lamps and lights, and while they are good looking, they don't provide sufficient light and the rooms are dark. The bathroom had two hooks on the wall but no other towel rails. The bathroom sink is a wave pattern, but the tap will cause a big splash until one learns to turn on the water at half pressure.

The staff is efficient, helpful and friendly. The rooftop bar is very pleasant, but the view of the plaza is only a partial one. The breakfast is first rate with all the usual items as well as egg dishes cooked to order.

I would recommend the Hotel Stary.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flygirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed in a junior suite at the back of the hotel for two nghts in April. The location is brilliant, just around the corner from the main square (a great place to have a drink and watch the world and horse drawn carriages go by). The hotel interior has a modern solid design, solid (and I mean solid!) wooden furnitue and doors (including the automatic front door), concrete ceiling in room, glass lift. We really liked the design (unlike so many other boring room renovations in historic buildings). The junior suite was spacious, with a large bathroom, and separate wardrobe room (the only hotel on our holiday to have space for our two suitcases). The windows and rather pointless little balcony faced inside so not much view. The bed was very comfortable. The only quibbles were a bit of an electrical hum and the switches for the bedside lamps which were too high to reach. For breakfast there is a buffet with a small range of high quality items and eggs can be ordered freshly cooked (they are dedicious but you won't feel overfed). There was a rooftop bar which wasn't open at the time. There is a spa in the basement cavern with pool, sauna, steam room and salt room - sadly the pool was cold. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_n_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

I am just back from Krakow and spent 4 days at hotel Stary. The location is great, litterally a few meters away from the heart of the city which is the main square.
This old building has been very well renovated, combining old and modern style.
The single room are quite decent size, some rooms (109,209,309,409) are jut enormous.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyril_madrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Just returned from our honeymoon in Krakow and we had such a good experience with Hotel Stary.
The staff were extremely helpful. We took an overnight train from Prague and reached Krakow at 7am, so we could not check in till 12 noon. We were only expecting to deposit our bags at the counter while we go for a guided tour of the city.. To our surprise, we were offered to check into our room immediately!
And what greeted us was beyond our expectations.
The room was huge, somewhat like a junior suite. The room was tastefully designed with wooden floors, nice cupboards etc. The toilet was also huge with a shower stall as well as a bathtub, and complete with heated flooring.
The breakfast over the next 2 mornings were also great. We especially liked the omelettes!
And lastly, the location of the hotel can't be better. It is literally a stone's throw away from the main square (Rynek Glowny). Definitely recommended! =)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manufesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, PA
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Wow! What a stunning hotel just steps from the main square in the old town. Reception desk was friendly upon arrival and helpful giving an upgrade to a higher room class. The room was gorgeously appointed with oriental rugs and faux painted walls. It was warm and inviting. The all marble bathroom was oversized for a boutique, especially in Europe. The bed was typical European but comfortable and the duvet great.

Spa/ pool/ sauna area was a top notch amazing experience that would rival top experiences anywhere in the world, and certainly better than many European 5 star hotels. Spending time in the salt cave was relaxing after what was sadly a very short 1 day tour of the city.
Breakfast the next morning was extremely good and well prepared.

Stary made the Krakow experience a most enjoyable one. In a trip in which I thought before hand would be a one time experience, I will definitely want to return to Poland and Krakow and the Stary was key in a great experience. Bravo!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palmster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Staff, (EXCEPT) 2 memebers of barstaff, were so helpful and polite. The rooms were spotless, the hotel was just beautiful, and within 1minutes walk to town centre. Breakfast was fantastic, anything you wanted. Didn't dine there, but it looked great. The swimming pool & well-being centre was a bit small (for a 5* hotel), but it was still very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SballNewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#29 of 260 in Krakow
492 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#13 of 260 in Krakow
1,077 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#38 of 260 in Krakow
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bonerowski Palace
#79 of 260 in Krakow
479 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#90 of 260 in Krakow
622 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#10 of 260 in Krakow
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stary

Property: Hotel Stary
Address: ul. Szczepanska 5, Krakow 31-011, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Krakow
#29 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#37 Family Hotel in Krakow
#56 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Stary 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Stary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stary Krakow
Stary Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing