We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly special hotel”
Review of Hotel Stary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Stary
Ranked #50 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A truly special hotel”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I had the wonderfull fortune to stay at this incredable hotel with my family in October 2010 .We stayed in a junior suite for two nights and I was so sad to leave. Everything about this hotel is outstanding. The atmosphere is sophisicated and elegant. The staff are attentive and welcoming. My husband booked directly with the hotel and they were so helpfull. This hotel is so special, you feel as if you are cocooned the moment you walk through the door. The Stary has the added treat of a beautifull underground pool and salt room. The rooms were beautifully appointed. Housekeeping do an excellent job. I have stayed at many 5* hotels and this hotel has my top vote. I would travel to Kracow just for the chance to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Moonbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    175
    77
    29
    18
See reviews for
92
327
35
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincs
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

A very understated entrance to this impressive hotel situated almost on the main square of Krakow. Real boutique hotel feel. Rooms are stunning - although the lighting is a bit on the dark side! Many of the rooms have brilliant jacuzzi baths and the toiletries are moulton and brown - bliss. Lovely spa - although I didn't have time to take advantage - colleagues loved it. Food was a little disappointing - but may have been because we were a conference. Also conference seating was quite uncomfortable, Lots to see and do round about - and I would recommend hotel for short breaks.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for room with spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincsPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Very smart hotel in the centre of Krakow. A converted monastery with tasteful modern touches. The Pool in the crypt is very unique.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happylovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

we stayed there for 2 nights in 2009, an it was perfect from the start till end. the location of the hotel is superb and the city is very nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfbam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ards Co Down
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Just back after 3 night stay and truely loved this hotel. Had lovely room on 5th floor overlooking outdoor restaurant and patio at the back of the hotel. The restaurant was not open so our room was very quiet. Started our evenings in the rooftop bar overlooking a corner of the mainsquare .
.The decor throughout is stunning and no expense spared from the solid wooden doors etc (loved the self opening hotel entrance door) to the glass fronted lift; marble tiled bathroom and ultra modern lightfittings and objet d'art. Our buffet breakfast was excellent befitting its mention in the Michelin Guide. The staff were all friendly and very helpful.
The swimming pool was lovely and although the water cool to the first touch soon felt warm after a few strokes. I didn't have any spa treatments but the spa area has an air of tranquility to it.
The sitation of this hotel litrerally steps from the main square was a huge plus for us and we definately look forward to returning.
The hotel booked a trip to Auschwitz and on the next day to The Salt Mine for us and also booked a taxi for our return to the airport.
All in all we loved Krakow especially sitting watching the world go by in one of the numerous openair cafes around the main square returning to our lovely hotel for a night cap in the bar before retiring to our luxurious soft kingsize bed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glentoran63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2011

After finding many hotels in Krakow full we splurged and booked two nights at this hotel. The hotel was beautiful and well located, but there were definitely some shortfalls.

Restaurant (breakfast and room service) and housekeeping staff were great, but front desk staff were cold and not very helpful. Whenever we walked through the reception area we felt that we were disturbing personal conversations between front desk staff and other male staff standing in the area. The final straw was when we were leaving and there were no taxis in sight after waiting outside for ten minutes the front desk staff were unable to help except to tell us to walk a few blocks with our luggage to the next square.

Our room was large and beds comfortable but there were some oddities - lighting throughout room was hard to operate (I've never said that before!), sinks in bathroom were very shallow, and noise from hallway excessive.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelers039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We arrived at around 10pm on a Thursday evening. The girl on reception was very effecient, she was expecting us and had our key ready. The hotel itself though was dead. We thought we'd have a nightcap in the bar after our journey, but the barman had to re-open it for us and we were asked to settle our bill after 2 drinks. As the restaurant was totally empty we thought we get some room service, which it said ran until 2am. However when we called down we were told that the chef had gone home! We went to bed hungry.

The rooms are dark and seemed to lack furniture ie a coffee table would have been helpful. The mini bar was fully and well stocked and the bathroom, clean and functional.

The location just of the main square was perfect, but I'd say that if I was going back to, or recommending to a friend, I would try a different hotel. For the level of accommodation, it was totally over-priced.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosieL67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#32 of 260 in Krakow
494 reviews
The Bonerowski Palace
#75 of 260 in Krakow
480 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#13 of 260 in Krakow
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#40 of 260 in Krakow
2,011 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#89 of 260 in Krakow
623 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#12 of 260 in Krakow
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stary

Property: Hotel Stary
Address: ul. Szczepanska 5, Krakow 31-011, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Krakow
#28 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#37 Family Hotel in Krakow
#56 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Stary 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Stary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stary Krakow
Stary Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing