We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Stary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Stary
Ranked #57 of 267 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I stayed at Hotel Stary for 3 nights, main purpose of trip was to see the sights of Krakow. The hotel is right in the city centre and only a few minutes walk from the main square. My room was large and the bathroom had a jacuzzi bath in it, really nice after a day of sightseeing. The swimming pool and gym was excellent and the atmosphere there was really relaxing, they provide robes, water, fruit etc. I only ate breakfast at the hotel, which was nice, excellent quality. I would recommend this hotel for business or leisure. Would return

Room Tip: I had a room with a balcony, facing on the street, still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juls1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

After reading some reviews which said staff not helpful I was a bit reluctant.
However so pleased we went. The staff, rooms and breakfast was excellent.
2 couples went and we all said the same, will use this Hotel again in the future.
The situation couldnt have been better, a stones throw from the market square. Lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celeryEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My polish fiance and I decided to get married in Krakow and we chose Hotel Stary for the reception. We spent a lot of time with the restaurant manager Tomasz and I think we tested his patients but he never showed this and was always willing to help with all our arrangements. The day turned out to be absolutley wonderful with fantastic food and service from Tomasz and his team for which we are extremely grateful. Thank You!

Room Tip: Room 100 was huge and amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodieGastroGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The Stary Hotel is a gem of rehabilitation architecture just off the main square of lovely Kralow old town. Very kind and helpful personel, superb restaurant and breakfast. Lovely large room with wonderful features (except no place to hang towels in large bathroom; and light only at one side of the bathroom sink mirror). But this is a European comfortable hotel with many bits of the ancient buliding walls (hundreds of years old) showing. We are so glad we chose it for our 5 nights in remarkable Krakow. 12-15 minute walk to train station; 20 minute was to Meisdelka Street in the old Jewish quarter. Moderately pricy, but worth it.

Room Tip: any room is likely a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CintiKidCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We loved the Hotel Stary. It is located just off the central square with great access to many of the historic sites, great restaurants and even the park that goes around the old town. It is a very modern facility in a wonderfully restored old building. We had a junior suite which was very spacious and comfortable with all the modern conveniences. As noted on previous reviews our room did have a "view" of an inner courtyard which made the room slightly dark. Amazing buffet breakfast and lovely roof top bar. Also nice lounge on the first floor off the restaurant where you can sit and have a drink or cup of tea. Great gym and spa facilities. Had a very nice massage at a reasonable price. Would definitely go back and recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about a dark room ask for one not facing the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Stary last week for 3 days. This was our first visit to Krakow. We couldn't of picked a better location ... right next to the main square in the old city. The hotel was clean, attractive, and provided a complimentary wonderful breakfast complete with hot dishes made to order and a full buffet. I would stay there again! Also I loved Krakow... very interesting historic city!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank evita1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed for 4 nights whilst attending my brother's wedding at the same venue. Our room was pretty nice, big room and tall ceilings, and spacious bathroom.
It certainly was 5 star quality and breakfast was lovely too.
A couple little negatives, service was good but maybe a bit abrupt and the facilities were limited (cool pool but sorry, that was not a state of the art gym.......)
They did put on a good service for my brother's wedding though, and food in the hotel is excellent!
Finally, awesome location as you are just off the main square, plus you must have a drink on the roof terrace.
A lovely august bank holiday weekend indeed!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willho1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#45 of 267 in Krakow
526 reviews
The Bonerowski Palace
#77 of 267 in Krakow
521 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#84 of 267 in Krakow
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#39 of 267 in Krakow
2,167 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#17 of 267 in Krakow
1,120 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#14 of 267 in Krakow
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stary

Address: ul. Szczepanska 5, Krakow 31-011, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Krakow
#28 Business Hotel in Krakow
#32 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#56 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £105 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Stary 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Stary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stary Krakow
Stary Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing