We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very appealing hotel right off central square”
Review of Hotel Stary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Stary
Ranked #51 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Buehler
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very appealing hotel right off central square”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This hotel has a great atmosphere and is located in a quite street just minutes from the historical central square of Cracow. Food is good, the staff accommodating and everything works.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_Stibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    167
    75
    28
    17
See reviews for
85
315
35
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki - Finland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I spent five nights at the hotel Stary during April 2012. The hotel was advertised to be a 5-star hotel, but there is still plenty to do with the management to get to this point.

First of all the excellent points of the hotel, the location is superb. It is difficult to get closer to the Old square of Krakow. You are literally 50 meters from the market. Also, the interior design of the hotel is very unique, both modern and still at the same time very respectful towards the history of the building and the area. All of the rooms we had for our guests were very big and they had everything you would need in a hotel of this class. The bathroom has wonderful soaps, shampoos and other cosmetics for the traveler - wonderful.

The roof terrace is definitely something worth mentioning, since on a beautiful evening the sights and the atmosphere is fantastic. Also, the gym and pool in the basement are something that you do not encounter in most hotels. The pool is almost magical.

Also the breakfast and lunces we had at the hotel we very good.

But then, call me picky, but with 250+ travel days per year and with some experience from 5-star hotels, I disagree with the hotel rating. Our room was not always made during the day and during the evening while getting ready for the dinners (showers etc.) the staff came around on several evenings to turn down our beds. Only on the last evening we discovered the "do not disturb" sign from underneath the laundry bags from the closet. Just a suggestion, it could be closer to the door and not in the closet around the corner. Also, there was no lock in the bathroom door. Having no intimacy problems with my wife, I would appreciate some privacy while in the washroom. My wife did comment, that in the bathroom the mirror had a fantastic designer-like light on the other side of the mirror, but this also made make-up extremely difficult, since the light was not even.

During our seminar, our group of 70 guests ran out of coffee on the first day and on the second day the breakfast room guests were not allowed to have coffee from the conference break room (even though we attended the conference). Also, for some reason booking to the hotel (conference rate) was not available through a separate website but with a downloadable pdf-document. Unfortunately, since I handle most of my bookings with iPad, this was not an option for me. Arrival and departure to the hotel did not meet the 5-star requirements either. One would easily assume, that the bell boy would be by the door to wait for guests to arrive and when leaving the hotel, the bell boy would carry your (or in this case your wife's) luggage to the taxi. Unfortunately my wife who arrived with a different time schedule than myself, did not have this luxury.

In the long run, no biggies and we survived, but with all the small bumps in the road, definitely not a 5-star hotel, but certainly 5-star prices compared to most hotels in Krakow. Most of the issues were not related to the building or services available, but rather to the overall quality of the service staff. Some more work for the management to fine tone the level of service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Totti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Stary for four nights on a brief vacation to Krakow (amazing place!). The location of the hotel is excellent...close to great restaurants, and very easy walking distance to all the usual tourist sites. The property itself is beautiful...wonderful renovation, with a great combination of the original features of the historic building and all the necessary modern conveniences. The breakfast each morning was lovely. The pool/spa in the basement is fantastic, and the rooftop bar is great.

We stayed in a junior suite, which was quite large and comfortable. We had only two complaints... First, the room was simply too dark (and we like low lighting!)...the windows face an interior courtyard, so there is very little natural light. They need to add a brighter lamp at the desk, and add a floor lamp or some kind of additional lighting in the seating area. Secondly, while the bathroom has beautiful marble and a jacuzzi tub, the shower stall is quite small, with no door, and there was no way to keep the water from getting all over the bathroom. I'm really not sure how this can be fixed, but it was kind of annoying.

All in all, a great hotel, and I would recommend it for a vacation stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralphsophieshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Had a really lovely Easter weekend in Krakow, and Hotel Stary made it even better. The rooms were very comfortable, full of luxurious extras like toiletries, bath robes, slippers, drinking water and there was an amazing jacuzzi bath in the lovely modern bathroom. The heating system is quite powerful, so even if it's a snowy weekend don't turn it up too high or you'll be boiling! There was a lovely looking roof terrace with sun loungers, tables and chairs. In the summer I would definitely have made the most of it! The beds in the twin room were relatively small, but the sheets were super soft and the mattress was comfortable.

The facilities are awesome, the funky glass lift goes down to the gorgeous underground swimming pool with a sauna, steam room, salt room and lots of gym equipment. Definitely enough to keep you from leaving the hotel in the evenings! We were told that the England football team are staying in Hotel Stary this summer for the Euro championships, if it's good enough for them then it was definitely good enough for us! It did guilt me into using the gym once or twice...

The staff were very attentive and seemed to be always around at breakfast or when just sitting in the lobby with a cup of coffee. They happily booked tours and taxis for us at the front desk and the chamber maids even come round in the early evening to provide fresh towels, turn down your beds and give you a sweet treat.

The breakfasts were amazing, literally anything you could ever want to eat. Hot food like eggs benedict, omelettes, soup, then piles of cold buffet food, breads, meats, fruit, yoghurt, pastries, fish, salads etc etc. Could have easily stocked up for a few meals!

The location is perfect, a few steps from all the happenings in the main square. There are countless bars and cafes round the outside of the square, and loads of fabulous restaurants and cheap and cheerful pierogi joints in the little streets off from it.

Room Tip: We asked for a higher floor after a tip from another reviewer, so we were put on the 5th floor. In r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ic060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I cannot rate Hotel Stary highly enough. The service was impeccable from start to finish. A very helpful Reception who assisted with everything from arranging a 1-2-1 tour of Nowa Huta to booking us train tickerts to Warsaw (language was proving a barrier...)
Beautiful, tasteful decor, gorgeous pool (although not as warm as some might like), lovely breakfasts, and a 10 second walk into the Main Square, Rynek Glowny.
The Stary team made our stay in Krakow as perfect as it could have been - we will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 501, the 5th floor is quiet and has some views although no rooms look directly ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honkinonbobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is a spectacular hotel in a perfect location just steps away from the Krakow market Square. I understand that it's been recently renovated and the public areas and rooms were beautiful. There's a gym downstairs with a stunning swimming pool as part of the fitness complex, unfortunately we'd left our swimmers at home.

Two minor niggles stop me giving this hotel an 'excellent' rating. Firstly the wooden floors throughout look stunning but they are a bit noisy so, when in our room, we had some corridor noise and some noise from the room above. Secondly the service at breakfast was consistently not good. We had to attract attention each morning to get coffee and order a cooked breakfast. Both were good once we got them but the service was not in keeping with the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnaveSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This hotel is less than 100 meters from the main square in the old town yet in one of the quieter streets so little if any outside noise.
The hotel is a boutique style hotel with rooms, junior suites as well as full suites.

Facilities, staff and position are excellent. The room has a modern feel yet is structured around some of the original walls and architecture.

Ths location next to the main square is ideal with easy access to shops, nightlife and restaurants. We also walked to the opera, however, this was around 20 minute so we had a taxi back.

There are some fantastic restaurants (Sapronos) and nightspots ( Jazz at Piec Art) literally around 5 minutes walk away.

Being honest I would find it difficult to consider returning to the town without retuning to the Stary hotel. Excellent and thanks for you service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikie346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#39 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#9 of 258 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#34 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bonerowski Palace
#74 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#89 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Pod Roza
Hotel Pod Roza
#80 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stary

Property: Hotel Stary
Address: ul. Szczepanska 5, Krakow 31-011, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Krakow
#30 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#37 Family Hotel in Krakow
#56 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Stary 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stary Krakow
Stary Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing