We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended for Krakow”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Stary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Stary
Ranked #52 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Highly recommended for Krakow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Hotel with style and character, though rooms were a bit sterile for our taste (but extremely spacious). We had a delightful dinner: beautiful setting and a great menu with creative interpretations of Polish food such as beetroot risotto. Breakfast was heavenly! We enjoyed the pool but the water was quite chilly. Definitely recommend having a massage in the salt grotto. Excellent location.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    165
    73
    28
    16
See reviews for
84
309
35
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

My wife and I travelled to Krakow last Christmas for the first time and were recommended by a friend to stay here. It certainly was a good tip - fantastic location, spacious room and bathroom, great bed, and we used the massage service in the health club which was one of the best I have ever had. Pool based off the gym was like swimming in an underground grotto. Breakfast was a varied spread of euro and western offerings. I think my only negative observation is the hotel came across a little stuffy. Service was faultless but the place needs a little more warmth.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location within walking distance of key sights including Cloth Hall, Wavel Castle, and tram ride to Kazimierz old Jewish Quarter. High ceilings, spa bath and spacious room...unbelievable pool and spa below the hotel...tranquil and exotic. Great breakfast and good service. Perfect stay. Recommended.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank COMEONTHISISRIDIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We were staying in Hotel Stary for the weekend for our friend's wedding. The hotel is just amazing and staff helpful and welcoming. We had some amazing breakfast. The hotel interior is just perfect - classy but with some modern twist. Rooftop out of this world, rooms spacious with either patio view or street view.
The wedding was organized by Hotel Stary and it was just amazing. Food was just as good as it could get. Hotel staff was amazing, event at the very late hour. I am looking forward to stay in Hotel Stary once again very, very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcincupial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I travel a ton for work, and have very high expectations from hotels. I don't mind spending money on a hotel room if it is impeccably clean, the service is attentive, and you can enjoy a relaxing cocktail at the hotel bar. Hotel Stary exceeded my expectations. I had an incredible room, which was very clean. The staff is young, but very competent, attentive, and nice. I would never stay at another hotel in Krakow.

Room Tip: Room 601 is fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triprick42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

What a gem! It was a pre xmas surprise and an amazing one!
Hotel Stary is a very stylish and luxurious place.
Our room was spacious and the bathroom fit for a king and queen!
We tried the Michelin star 3 Rybki restaurant downstairs, it was worth every penny!
Breakfast was one of the best we ever had, you will be spoiled for choices!
Spa very clean and very relaxing! We are definitely coming back! Love it!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shefford Woodlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

A lovely hotel! We stayed for two nights.. Just off the Market Square and it was pretty faultless!! The spa downstairs is also worth a visit.. Don't forget your trunks!!
Would like to try another Likus Brothers hotel! Very stylish!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickmoreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#44 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#8 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#33 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bonerowski Palace
#79 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#91 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Pod Roza
Hotel Pod Roza
#77 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stary

Property: Hotel Stary
Address: ul. Szczepanska 5, Krakow 31-011, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Krakow
#30 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#37 Family Hotel in Krakow
#56 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Stary 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stary Krakow
Stary Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing