We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star Perfection”
Review of Hotel Stary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Stary
Ranked #51 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate,
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“5 Star Perfection”
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Absolutey fantastic! I booked two nights for an anniversary treat in one of the luxury suites. Although expensive its location and attention to detail cannot be faulted.
The staff were attentive, polite and approachable and couldn't have done more for us. The swimming pool and spa area have to be seen to be believed, they are out of this world and make you want to relax and unwind.
The room was slighty smaller than I imagined, but still a very good size, with two lovely tub chairs. The mini bar is well stocked and not ridicously priced either.
The bathroom was clean, modern and gorgeous with a marble finish throughout, the jacuzzi bath and shower were to die for.
In general the Stary is a place where you may notice the price is more than other hotels, but it is worth every penny, and whilst there don't forget to use the rooftop bar with wonderful views to the main square.

  • Liked — Location and pool
  • Disliked — No sky sports!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tickytowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    167
    75
    28
    16
See reviews for
85
314
35
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2008

We stayed for 3 nights at this very nice hotel which is close to the main square.

The spa pool in the basement is excellent with enough gym equipment for most needs.

The roof top restaurant was good but remarkably quiet.

The room was a standard sized hotel room with everything that you would expect from this type of hotel.

A good buffet style breakfast is included with the room.

Would definitely use the hotel again.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Only English TV were news channels
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doddove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2008

I have just returned from my trip to Krakow and stayed at the Hotel Stary. What an absolute gem of a hotel!! Checked in very speedily and given our key cards. I could believe my eyes when I walked through the door - the room was huge (and we only booked a standard!). Massive double bed in the middle of the room with high ceilings overlooking the street (which incidentally is ideally placed just of the main Market Square). Walked into the bathroom which was adequately sized with marble tops and jacuzzi bath - the shower was fab too!! There are some Molton Brown toiletries provided and lovely bathrobes. The minibar is well stocked and reasonably priced too.

Breakfast is a vast buffet with everything from bacon to cakes!! You can have eggs done as you wish with extras but you do need to make a point of asking for these - the serving staff do not approach you to ask if you want any.

We were advised by the receptionist on check in to go to the bar on the roof terrace and the health suite in the basement. We did try to go on the roof bar but because we didn't have a reservation we weren't allowed!! We did go to have a look around the swimming pool too and found some bloke walking round in his birthday suit!! The pool looked beautiful and I do regret that we didn't have enough time to try this out.

Overall, the hotel is fabulous and I would not hesitate to go back again - I feel we were spoilt.

About the rest of the trip - we visited Auschwitz using the local train service (the journey takes 90 minutes so make sure you set off by lunch at the latest) - cost £10 return for 2. Upon arriving at the museum we booked on the English speaking tour - takes 2 hours to go round Auschwitz 1 then a bus to Birkenau for another hour - although it might seem rather morbid this trip is well worth it - the tour guide was knowledgeable and it was professionally organised. The cost of entering is £10 per person for the tour. You do need to block out a whole day for this trip. TIP: if joining a guided tour you will need photo ID which they use as a deposit for the audio equipment.

We also visited the salt mines which is 30 minutes by train. To be honest, I thought this was a waste of money as there were far too many people included in the tour for the guide to be heard (they weren't as professional as Auschwitz and have not invested in audio equipment so you can hear the recital). It seemed as though we were just on a conveyerbelt with tour groups keep bumping into each other or having to wait for one to vacate a cavern. The highlight of this tour was the underground chapel - however wasn't worth the money!!!

Overall I would highly recommend a weekend to Krakow and Hotel Stary. The food cheap, drink cheap and travel cheap in the city!! We struggled to spend money - the most we spent was at the duty free shop at the airport on the way home!!

  • Liked — Classy room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ladytwem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2008

I booked this hotel months ago as a birthday present for my huasband via Expedia.
Very disappointed to learn 5 days before departure no rooms available due to overbooking.
Shame as we were looking forward to this.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank PaisleyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Datchworth, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Hotel Stary.

The hotel oozes class and is ideally placed adjacent to the Town square.

We had a double room, which was fairly large, clean and ideal for our needs.

Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice to cater for all tastes.

The staff were helpful and friendly and always eager to please.

The leisure facilities were great, check out the pool which is a fantastic design.

The roof top bar is very pleasent, a little pricey by Krakow's standards but still much cheaper than the UK. (About £2 for a pint instead of £1.50 elsewhere in the town!)

Krakow is a beautiful city with wonderful architechture. We managed to time our visit with the student rag weekend and Krakow FC's end of season fans party in the town square!

We had a great time though and the Hotel is a gem.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2008

stayed for three nights found the hotel a very high standard rooms large food very good not a five star as people expect ,staff not falling over you with every move you make or to carry your bags,listen to your whims ,but they are always there should you need anything a nice quiet way of dealing with things ,a small hotel by normal standards ,a very nice spa section which is free for guests and never to full all in all i had a very nice stay and as i always say would i go back, yes. alan billington

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2008

Beautiful hotel right beside the main square. Stylish, tasteful, comfortable and convenient I can find nothing to say other than one of the best ive stayed in. We always stay in top designer/boutique style hotels (if we can find them) and this is as good as any we've visted around the world. Staff charming and helpful, food great.

Its a sin that this is rated only moderately just because a couple of people gave it a crazy 1 star rating due to one-off problems. Ignore the ratings this must be the best in town!!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank absolutbargain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#32 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#8 of 258 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#34 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bonerowski Palace
#77 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#92 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Pod Roza
Hotel Pod Roza
#81 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stary

Property: Hotel Stary
Address: ul. Szczepanska 5, Krakow 31-011, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Krakow
#30 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#37 Family Hotel in Krakow
#56 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Stary 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stary Krakow
Stary Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing