We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish boutique hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Stary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Stary
Ranked #54 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Stylish boutique hotel in great location”
Reviewed 9 October 2008

The Hotel Stary is in the centre of Krakow, close to the main square and the Basilica, and is very well located for sight seeing as everything is within walking distance.

The Hotel itself is a modern boutique hotel, with stylish modern interiors and is spotlessly clean. Lots of the rooms had balconies or access to the various roof terraces, which were stylish with good views. My room was large, bright and quiet, and had an excellent bathroom (with spa bath!) with Molton Brown toiletries. The staff were polite & helpful and breakfast was lovely - buffet style with an excellent choice.

Some of the other guests complained about noise so if I would recommend future gugests ask for a room overlooking the courtyard as the street outside was noisy while we were there due to roadworks.

  • Liked — Stylish & location
  • Disliked — Nothing, although some of my fellow travellers with rooms overlooking the street complained re: noise from roadworks outside.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionapm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    172
    75
    29
    17
See reviews for
89
323
35
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

An excellent hotel. The check in was quick and courteous with a porter available to show us too our room, We`were in a standard but were more than happy with the room. The whirlpool bath is a real bonus after a day's sight seeing.

We used the spa twice and both times had it completely to ourselves, the pool is lovely and relaxing in the salt room is a great way to unwind.

The breakfast was good with good service and plenty of choice on the buffet.

We would defintely stay here again if we return to Krakow.

  • Liked — The spa, the location, the service
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

My 10 day trip to Poland was finished off beautifully with my final night stay at Hotel Stary. From the sweeping entrance to the attentive staff, not to mention the glorious leisure facilities available, it was a gem of a visit from start to finish. I had the pool and sauna to myself which was a treat, and the buffet breakfast kept me going till I got back to The Isle of Man. It really was the icing on the cake for a very memorable first (but not last!) visit to Poland. I felt like a queen!

  • Liked — Swimming pool in th cellar
  • Disliked — Nothing. It was perfect
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissCockcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate,
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Absolutey fantastic! I booked two nights for an anniversary treat in one of the luxury suites. Although expensive its location and attention to detail cannot be faulted.
The staff were attentive, polite and approachable and couldn't have done more for us. The swimming pool and spa area have to be seen to be believed, they are out of this world and make you want to relax and unwind.
The room was slighty smaller than I imagined, but still a very good size, with two lovely tub chairs. The mini bar is well stocked and not ridicously priced either.
The bathroom was clean, modern and gorgeous with a marble finish throughout, the jacuzzi bath and shower were to die for.
In general the Stary is a place where you may notice the price is more than other hotels, but it is worth every penny, and whilst there don't forget to use the rooftop bar with wonderful views to the main square.

  • Liked — Location and pool
  • Disliked — No sky sports!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tickytowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2008

We stayed for 3 nights at this very nice hotel which is close to the main square.

The spa pool in the basement is excellent with enough gym equipment for most needs.

The roof top restaurant was good but remarkably quiet.

The room was a standard sized hotel room with everything that you would expect from this type of hotel.

A good buffet style breakfast is included with the room.

Would definitely use the hotel again.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Only English TV were news channels
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doddove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2008

I have just returned from my trip to Krakow and stayed at the Hotel Stary. What an absolute gem of a hotel!! Checked in very speedily and given our key cards. I could believe my eyes when I walked through the door - the room was huge (and we only booked a standard!). Massive double bed in the middle of the room with high ceilings overlooking the street (which incidentally is ideally placed just of the main Market Square). Walked into the bathroom which was adequately sized with marble tops and jacuzzi bath - the shower was fab too!! There are some Molton Brown toiletries provided and lovely bathrobes. The minibar is well stocked and reasonably priced too.

Breakfast is a vast buffet with everything from bacon to cakes!! You can have eggs done as you wish with extras but you do need to make a point of asking for these - the serving staff do not approach you to ask if you want any.

We were advised by the receptionist on check in to go to the bar on the roof terrace and the health suite in the basement. We did try to go on the roof bar but because we didn't have a reservation we weren't allowed!! We did go to have a look around the swimming pool too and found some bloke walking round in his birthday suit!! The pool looked beautiful and I do regret that we didn't have enough time to try this out.

Overall, the hotel is fabulous and I would not hesitate to go back again - I feel we were spoilt.

About the rest of the trip - we visited Auschwitz using the local train service (the journey takes 90 minutes so make sure you set off by lunch at the latest) - cost £10 return for 2. Upon arriving at the museum we booked on the English speaking tour - takes 2 hours to go round Auschwitz 1 then a bus to Birkenau for another hour - although it might seem rather morbid this trip is well worth it - the tour guide was knowledgeable and it was professionally organised. The cost of entering is £10 per person for the tour. You do need to block out a whole day for this trip. TIP: if joining a guided tour you will need photo ID which they use as a deposit for the audio equipment.

We also visited the salt mines which is 30 minutes by train. To be honest, I thought this was a waste of money as there were far too many people included in the tour for the guide to be heard (they weren't as professional as Auschwitz and have not invested in audio equipment so you can hear the recital). It seemed as though we were just on a conveyerbelt with tour groups keep bumping into each other or having to wait for one to vacate a cavern. The highlight of this tour was the underground chapel - however wasn't worth the money!!!

Overall I would highly recommend a weekend to Krakow and Hotel Stary. The food cheap, drink cheap and travel cheap in the city!! We struggled to spend money - the most we spent was at the duty free shop at the airport on the way home!!

  • Liked — Classy room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ladytwem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2008

I booked this hotel months ago as a birthday present for my huasband via Expedia.
Very disappointed to learn 5 days before departure no rooms available due to overbooking.
Shame as we were looking forward to this.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank PaisleyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#31 of 259 in Krakow
486 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#92 of 259 in Krakow
614 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#12 of 259 in Krakow
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bonerowski Palace
#79 of 259 in Krakow
478 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#38 of 259 in Krakow
1,983 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#10 of 259 in Krakow
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stary

Property: Hotel Stary
Address: ul. Szczepanska 5, Krakow 31-011, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Krakow
#30 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#37 Family Hotel in Krakow
#56 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Stary 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Stary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stary Krakow
Stary Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing