We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hotel Stary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Stary
Ranked #50 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Excellent hotel, in an excellent location and nice staff. Beautiful presentation of breakfast with plenty of choice. Beautiful pool area in the cellar, comfortable beds. We can highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisaswindells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just got back from a five night stay. We will go back, the staff was very friendly and the hotel was very clean. Our room was on the second floor so you could not hear the rooftop bar.
the hotel is right on the edge of the market square so location is everything. We would recommend this hotel to anyone planning an extended stay in Krakow.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Randall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. My husband had two tablets & a portable phone removed from the room! We had been warned to lock-up valuables in room safe but unfortunately forgot to include these items too. The Hotel management were extremely unhelpful despite very gentle handling of the situation on our part & no accusations. They refused to put in writing a note for our insurance & just as we were leaving suggested we go to the police which would have meant missing our flight! We had spent a lot of money giving two receptions during the time we were there & would have expected better treatment when things went wrong.

Room Tip: Try to avoid 5th floor as noise from aircondition unit bothersome. All rooms we saw - 6 - very dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The only good things about this hotel were the excellent location, the bedrooms (in the old building) and the pool. The list of disappointments we experienced is almost too long to mention.
1. when we checked in we were 'upgraded'. However the room they put us in was like a giant, characterless concrete cell which hummed constantly as it was directly under the central air con unit and had a view into a modern and fairly scuffy internal courtyard. We had booked this hotel because of its character and didn't want the upgrade. We asked to be moved to a smaller room with some character and less noise but were told there was no available room. After we persisted, at length, and after pointing out that alternative rooms were still being advertised on the website, we were moved to a very pleasant twin room on the third floor. The whole experience of trying to move was made difficult by the indifference - verging on hostility - of the reception staff.
2. There were weddings at the hotel on both nights that we stayed. The music was incredibly loud and continued until 5am. We were literally not able to sleep until the music stopped and were therefore exhausted and frustrated throughout our time in Krakow.
3. Because of the weddings, the rooftop bar was not available to us for the duration of our stay.
4. We booked a massage in the spa bu, when we arrived at the arranged time, there were no staff on duty. We waited 15 minutes until someone arrived and they were very offhand and said they had no record of any booking.
5. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
6. When we called housekeeping to ask for ironing facilities they were not able to help.
7. Portions at breakfast were ridiculously small.
Overall, it felt as though the hotel's entire focus was their wedding trade and that we were an inconvenient afterthought. Our stay in the hotel was by far the worst aspect of our visit to Krakow and I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cambersberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed for three nights and recommend highly. Superb breakfast with fresh berries, elegant&spacious rooms, friendly staff and central location next to main square. Lovely rooftop terrace. Lots of good restaurants nearby. Gym and spa are tiny. I took a foot massage which was really good.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank kauniselama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Dont knock it, location does count, especially if you are only in Krakow for a short trip and don't want to lose time travelling in taxis or in Krakow's case very expensive golf buggies. Krakow is superb, and being central, right on the edge of the main square, is the place to be. Beautiful architecture, restaurants, bars and shops are all within easy walking distance of the Stary.
The hotel itself is a little odd and a bit out of keeping with the City - odd because its a modern boutique style venue in a wonderful archaic place. But that doesnt mean its bad, albeit it could be a lot better.
Boutique should not be an excuse for sloppy, couldnt care less, casual style service...not all the staff by any means, but enough to annoy and frustrate. We knew more about things to do and restaurants from reading trip advisor than the staff did!
The rooms are great if you are overlooking the back, DO NOT take a room overlooking the front. They are smaller, the street noise does interrupt your peace and the building works opposite are very noisy from 6.30am. Rear facing rooms are excellent, spacious and quiet (do ask for more pillows when you check in, they wont give you them without and you need them).
Breakfast is good from the menu, but the buffet is poor and barely replenished through the morning. The Sky bar is excellent, the ground floor bar is rarely used except by diners, of whom there are very few. With so many superb restaurants nearby its not a surprise.
The basement swimming pool is lovely but small, saunas etc all very good. There is also a large terrace for drinks in the evening, its on floor five at the back but no one will tell you its there so go find it yourself.
Overall, a nice hotel, let down by a small handful of staff - with only a little more effort it could be so much better.

Room Tip: Never take a front facing room. All twins are small double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in a very nice stylish designer room. The bathroom is really special. What we liked most was the indoor swimming pool set in an old cellar with the vault ceiling done with red bricks.
Breakfast gorgeous. Location perfect near to the main square.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#49 of 262 in Krakow
517 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#88 of 262 in Krakow
644 reviews
The Bonerowski Palace
#79 of 262 in Krakow
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#37 of 262 in Krakow
2,110 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#15 of 262 in Krakow
1,107 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Pod Roza
Hotel Pod Roza
#74 of 262 in Krakow
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stary

Address: ul. Szczepanska 5, Krakow 31-011, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Krakow
#28 Business Hotel in Krakow
#28 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#56 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £94 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Stary 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Stary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stary Krakow
Stary Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing