We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stary-tastic”
Review of Hotel Stary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Stary
Ranked #50 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We spent 5 days in Krakow to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and loved every single thing about it. We had an elegant suite on the 6th floor which was two steps away from the beautiful roof terrace bar which overlooks the market square. We were given a choice of rooms when we arrived and chose the one which allowed us to have some outside space as it had a small terrace. Both suites we saw were amazing and we were delighted with the one we chose which has lovely solid wood furniture, seperate spacious sitting area, bedroom and exquisite bathroom. The bed was comfier than the one we have at home which is saying something.
The staff were so courteous and laid back; nothing was a problem and we loved the fact that there were no rules, no lists of do's and don'ts. We had gifts in our room every day, strawberries and chocolates and on our anniversary we found a bottle of Prosecco on ice in the room with a lovely note from the staff.
We booked our trip to Auschwitz with the hotel which is a bit more expensive but worth it because it was door to door. We were assisted to book restaurants and loved the very relaxed attitudes.
The spa in the cellar is utterly gorgeous and we had a great time using everything; we especially loved and hated (in equal measure) the wooden bucket of cold water you can pour over yourself after the sauna. We screamed and laughed as there was nobody else there! All of the faciliies are super clean and maintained to very high standards.
We loved everything about Krakow and we loved this hotel. We will definately return and could not imagine going anywhere else, although we may consider the Copernicus as it is the same company so must be good too!
Well worth the money and as soon as you are there you forget what it cost you. Enjoy.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SazLac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2009

Oldtown Unbelievable Renovated Property Combining Both the Old and New. Basement Pool Area and Facilities were out of this world. I have never been to a more impressive place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2009

The Hotel Stary has its faults, but not so many,the general ambiance of the hotel is an absolute joy. Not an inch of laminate,nor ugly chipboard furniture,
no in-patterned carpets hiding the stains, no 'decorator' prints, and marble bathrooms that are anything but bland, which is the common practice of most hotel chains. (An offense that is quadrupled when they have obviously been quite an investment - which we, the paying guests, are answerable for) The building is superb and was, I am sure deservedly, winner of "Meilleure architecture intérieure d’hôtel en Europe 2007”. The medieval undercroft is truly spectacular with a beautiful indoor pool and other guest facilities.
Our assessment was understandably enhanced by being in the heart of Krakow, almost on the Rynek Glowny, the enormous market square, where there was an Easter Week fair. Krakow was about the warmest place in Europe that week, near 90degF warmer than the last time we were there and much brighter than home in Malta. From the hotel's roof-top terrace the lights of the fair and the smoke billowing up from the food cook stalls at night were a surreal reminder of Jma El Fna, the equally huge square of Marrakesh.
If you want to nit pick - the hotel was noticeably short-staffed, the breakfast only answered expectations for a place of this class, the lighting in the bathroom a trial and no child lock on the well-stocked minibar - an ordeal. Lots and lots of pretty little bottles marked "drink me" or "poison" if you are a parent.
The ramshackle propped-up buildings that form the interior of the city block and are plainly visible from some of the hotel rooms, (as likewise at Hotel Pod Roza) are quite picturesque to my taste, especially viewed from a haven of warmth and considerable luxury. Much preferable to the usual concrete offices and car dealerships. My one churlish gripe about Krakow as a whole is the Hejnal Mariacki, a bugle alarm sounded four times on the hour from the tower of the Mariaki basilica and purports to commemorate a warning of the approach of the Tartars in 1241. It is a quite tuneless and truncated air as the original bugler was supposed to have been struck in the throat by a (very lucky) Tartar archer. It is much beloved to all Poland. How fortunate for the good people of Boston that Paul Revere's raising of the countryside is not commemorated with the same frequency.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annibalepreca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights back in August 2008 and would recommend it to anyone looking for a stylish but affordable stay. The hotel is located just off the main square so ideal for seeing all the Krakow sites on foot. The hotel is very styllish but is surprisingly quiet for its location.

Room was extremely spacious with lots of nice touches like Molton Brown toiletrires and an extremely comfortable bed with was a delight after walking around all the cobbled streets

Hotel staff are extremely helpful in orgaising trips, restaurant tips etc . Did not use the hotel restaurant for dinner but buffet breakfast was excellent

Hotel also has a rooftop bar which was good for a pre dinner drink or a nightcap and a well equipped fitness centre and pool in the basement.

More expensive than a lot of Krakow hotels but a nice change from chain hotels and worth paying that bit extra for a hugely enjoyable and relaxing stay

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davgiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Since we travel a lot, surprises are rare to us, but this "designerhotel" was cozy, gave no feeling of vast spaces. Food was very agreable, if not "haut cuisine" Staff was very helpful.
Location : in the middle of everything in Cracow. Lots of history around and a gory must: A trio ti Auschwitz. A must is also restaurant Ariel and the jewish quarters.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

The Hotel Stary is a modern hotel, located metres from the main square that has been incorporated into a gutted medieval building. It is stunning to look at and is comparable to being in an art installation which, unfortunately does cause a few problems and it is expensive.
The interior lobby,/restaurant is all light and marble floor with exposed brick work. The entrance impresses immediately with an automaticly opening huge wooden door. The desk is manned by polite and perfect english speaking staff.
The rooms are extremely spacious with wooden floors throughout and a unique looking, large, solid, wooden wardrobe. There are other chairs, chaise longue, writing desk, coffee table, flat screen tv and a large, firm bed.
The all marble bathroom is equally spacious with a walk-in rain shower, a jet spa bath, heated floor, Molton Brown toiletries and thick, soft towels and bath robes,slippers.
So what are the faults. The rooms are full of light switches but as they are all either spots or hidden within units, even with all of them on the room is still dim. The lights above the bed are positioned so high that to turn them off, you effectively have to get out of bed. Also all that wood means that as the room cools you get to hear the cracks of contracting furniture during the night.
The bathroom is too dimly lit, the dark marble does not help and also makes the room cold. Its impossible to see properly in the mirror and the only other full length one is a trek away next to the room entrance. The shallow sink and highly pressured taps mean that everything in the vicinity gets soaked and that includes the towels as there are no rails. Plus wet marble floors are a skidding hazzard and there is no counter measure to prevent this.
Back to the positives though. The buffet breakfast is exemplery, ranging from several cereal choices, nuts, seeds and dried fruits. A selection of cold meats, cheeses, fish and vegetables. A cooked breakfast is also prepared to order and to finish there is yoghurt and cake.
The outstanding part of the hotel is the complimentary gym and spa located in the vaulted, atmospherically lit cellar. The gym is small but well equipped. The spa has two small pools, connected by a swimming channel.There is a wet and dry sauna with hot showers and drop buckets full of cold water. There is a largeish chill out room with wicker rocking loungers and a smaller, warmer, softly lit rock salt cellar, also with these loungers.
Lastly, a word of warning regarding NOT booking a street facing room. Theres nothing of interest to see anyway. Adjacent to the club and opposite are night clubs. Music at ear splitting levels and easily heard and felt is played into the street until 5am. At which point you get to hear all the clubbers noisely leave.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenMilward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

The Hotel Stary is in the centre of Krakow, close to the main square and the Basilica, and is very well located for sight seeing as everything is within walking distance.

The Hotel itself is a modern boutique hotel, with stylish modern interiors and is spotlessly clean. Lots of the rooms had balconies or access to the various roof terraces, which were stylish with good views. My room was large, bright and quiet, and had an excellent bathroom (with spa bath!) with Molton Brown toiletries. The staff were polite & helpful and breakfast was lovely - buffet style with an excellent choice.

Some of the other guests complained about noise so if I would recommend future gugests ask for a room overlooking the courtyard as the street outside was noisy while we were there due to roadworks.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionapm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#32 of 261 in Krakow
513 reviews
The Bonerowski Palace
#73 of 261 in Krakow
501 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#89 of 261 in Krakow
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#39 of 261 in Krakow
2,095 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Pod Roza
Hotel Pod Roza
#75 of 261 in Krakow
415 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#14 of 261 in Krakow
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stary

Address: ul. Szczepanska 5, Krakow 31-011, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Krakow
#29 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#37 Family Hotel in Krakow
#56 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £96 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Stary 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Stary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stary Krakow
Stary Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing