We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Stary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Stary
Ranked #52 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

I stayed in this hotel for 10 days and the whole experience was great. The location is fantastic, breakfast was good and the staff were very welcoming.

There is also an impressive pool.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honey333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    165
    73
    28
    16
See reviews for
84
309
35
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

The staff was very helpful, providing recommendations for dinner that were spot-on. Thee rooms were very clean and sophisticated, if a bit modern for my taste. The bathrooms were granite and top-of-the line.

The hotel also has excellent breakfast facilities, a fantastic spa, and rooftop bar - all this and steps away from the main Square, while still quiet inside the heavy doors. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visting Krakow.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC_girl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

We stayed for two nights at the Hotel Stary in Krakow. The hotel is just off the main square in Krakow - an excellent location. Despite being so central, the hotel was quiet and relaxing.

The hotel is very well decorated - clean and contemporary. Our room was wonderful - granite sinks, big jakuzzi bath with Molton Brown. The room was finished in dark wood and trendy slate lamps. The minibar was well stocked and very cheap (around £2 for a bottle of beer).

In the basement is a lovely spa/fitness center. The pool is decorated as an underground cave with water jet. There is a steam room/sauna and a salt cave. All lit by candles.

The staff were very helpful - happy to provide a packed breakfast for us because we were leaving before breakfast was served.

As an aside, if going to Krakow we highly recommend the Ancorra restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexnkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Stary for 6 nights over New Year (08/09). The staff were great and organised airport taxi transfers and day trips (Auschwitz and Salt Mines) with no hassle at all.

The weather was excellent, very dry and bright but obviously extremely cold. The spa was the most amazing thing to come back to after a day out in the cold, sight-seeing - we used it at least twice a day. For all that, it was always very quiet when we were there - quite idyllic.

We ate breakfast there each day (and asked for eggs as well as the buffet). The buffet was topped up regularly but did run a bit empty a few times. The staff were always helpful when we asked for things though.

The room was lovely, we grew very fond of BBC World news. We weren't there to watch TV so we didn't mind not having other channels.

We spent New Year's Eve in a restaurant and then on the square, which was really good (and not as scary as I'd thought - I hate being near fireworks as they're set off and a lot of people had brought their own along!). The Stary had a big gala party on New Year, with champagne on the roof terrace at midnight. We went up after that and were offered free champagne on the roof - the view over the Square was spectacular.

We'll definitely be back!

Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank badsparklythings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

We spent 5 days in Krakow to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and loved every single thing about it. We had an elegant suite on the 6th floor which was two steps away from the beautiful roof terrace bar which overlooks the market square. We were given a choice of rooms when we arrived and chose the one which allowed us to have some outside space as it had a small terrace. Both suites we saw were amazing and we were delighted with the one we chose which has lovely solid wood furniture, seperate spacious sitting area, bedroom and exquisite bathroom. The bed was comfier than the one we have at home which is saying something.
The staff were so courteous and laid back; nothing was a problem and we loved the fact that there were no rules, no lists of do's and don'ts. We had gifts in our room every day, strawberries and chocolates and on our anniversary we found a bottle of Prosecco on ice in the room with a lovely note from the staff.
We booked our trip to Auschwitz with the hotel which is a bit more expensive but worth it because it was door to door. We were assisted to book restaurants and loved the very relaxed attitudes.
The spa in the cellar is utterly gorgeous and we had a great time using everything; we especially loved and hated (in equal measure) the wooden bucket of cold water you can pour over yourself after the sauna. We screamed and laughed as there was nobody else there! All of the faciliies are super clean and maintained to very high standards.
We loved everything about Krakow and we loved this hotel. We will definately return and could not imagine going anywhere else, although we may consider the Copernicus as it is the same company so must be good too!
Well worth the money and as soon as you are there you forget what it cost you. Enjoy.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SazLac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2009

Oldtown Unbelievable Renovated Property Combining Both the Old and New. Basement Pool Area and Facilities were out of this world. I have never been to a more impressive place.

  • Liked — Arciticture
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2009

The Hotel Stary has its faults, but not so many,the general ambiance of the hotel is an absolute joy. Not an inch of laminate,nor ugly chipboard furniture,
no in-patterned carpets hiding the stains, no 'decorator' prints, and marble bathrooms that are anything but bland, which is the common practice of most hotel chains. (An offense that is quadrupled when they have obviously been quite an investment - which we, the paying guests, are answerable for) The building is superb and was, I am sure deservedly, winner of "Meilleure architecture intérieure d’hôtel en Europe 2007”. The medieval undercroft is truly spectacular with a beautiful indoor pool and other guest facilities.
Our assessment was understandably enhanced by being in the heart of Krakow, almost on the Rynek Glowny, the enormous market square, where there was an Easter Week fair. Krakow was about the warmest place in Europe that week, near 90degF warmer than the last time we were there and much brighter than home in Malta. From the hotel's roof-top terrace the lights of the fair and the smoke billowing up from the food cook stalls at night were a surreal reminder of Jma El Fna, the equally huge square of Marrakesh.
If you want to nit pick - the hotel was noticeably short-staffed, the breakfast only answered expectations for a place of this class, the lighting in the bathroom a trial and no child lock on the well-stocked minibar - an ordeal. Lots and lots of pretty little bottles marked "drink me" or "poison" if you are a parent.
The ramshackle propped-up buildings that form the interior of the city block and are plainly visible from some of the hotel rooms, (as likewise at Hotel Pod Roza) are quite picturesque to my taste, especially viewed from a haven of warmth and considerable luxury. Much preferable to the usual concrete offices and car dealerships. My one churlish gripe about Krakow as a whole is the Hejnal Mariacki, a bugle alarm sounded four times on the hour from the tower of the Mariaki basilica and purports to commemorate a warning of the approach of the Tartars in 1241. It is a quite tuneless and truncated air as the original bugler was supposed to have been struck in the throat by a (very lucky) Tartar archer. It is much beloved to all Poland. How fortunate for the good people of Boston that Paul Revere's raising of the countryside is not commemorated with the same frequency.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annibalepreca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#44 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#8 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#32 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bonerowski Palace
#80 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#92 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Pod Roza
Hotel Pod Roza
#77 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stary

Property: Hotel Stary
Address: ul. Szczepanska 5, Krakow 31-011, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Krakow
#30 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#37 Family Hotel in Krakow
#56 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Stary 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stary Krakow
Stary Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing