We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£174
Expedia.com
£174
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£149
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,009)
Filter reviews
1,009 results
Traveller rating
604
239
95
38
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
604
239
95
38
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main square old town beautiful hotel perfect location spa cellar auschwitz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 1,009 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2019

The hotel is 2 minute walk from the old town but despite that is very quiet. The rooms are huge, wonderfully decorated. I was lucky enough to stay in a room with a walk in closet and a bath tub with jets.

The staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MartaG848
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 December 2019 via mobile

Located 100 yards from the main square which ideally located. The staff , venue was excellent and the rooms were very well designed. The spar was great for relaxation.

Really excellent weekend and would come back and use this hotel .

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank glenc832
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2019

Great location! Right next to main square and the breakfast had a great, varied buffet with chef on duty to create omelettes and fried eggs.

The bedrooms are dark, with no extra lighting near a mirror. No tea/coffee facilities in room but they supplied us with a kettle when requested.

We had a twin room and the beds were larger than single size and the room spacious and comfortable. However, the sockets are located on the floor in corners and not handy for any electronic devices near your bed. The bedside tables were tall consoles, so not really useful for a bedside, as you would need to sit or stand up to reach anything.

The spa and pool in the basement was great! Room service seemed to know were were there and gave us extra towels too!

Location was great, especially if visiting the Xmas market (which was excellent!). Good local restaurants and bars nearby.

Oh, almost forgot to say, everything very clean and the jacuzzi in the bathroom was a treat.

So if it wasn't for the sockets and bedside table, would have been happy to give this a 5+ rating!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Guest01398
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2019 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with very good service. Good comfortable and spacious rooms. Only two criticisms really - great mood lighting in bathroom and bedroom, but totally useless for seeing oneself in the mirror. Had to go out to the hall and use handbag mirror to put makeup on to go out for the evening. Got some funny looks. Might have been funnier if id tried to put the makeup on with the mood lighting lol! Secondly, small one but still found it surprising and irritating- no tea/coffee making facilities. Would have been nice after walking tours etc when having a little rest. Staff were lovely and gave me an extra pillow when requested. When booking ask about view from bedroom window. Ours was on the 4th floor and we were looking at a concrete wall. Didnt mind that so much as we were there to see beautiful Krakow and spent very little time in the hotel. Plus point - only 30secs walk to the main square in the old town. Massively convenient for everything. Nice rooftop bar but only open in summer.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank MichelleD126
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2019

Location is amazing, right off the main square. That's about the best thing about Hotel Stary.

We were a party of 4 checking in for 3 nights, on arrival the hotel entrance is lovely, not easy to find the door but it opens automatically.

One room was ready so we all headed up to leave the bags there. The room (216) was huge, very spacious but I felt like I was in a monestary or a communist prison - it was all dark brown wood with no nice soft furnishings (apart from a sparse twig in a vase).
The bed was so low it was practically on the floor and it was covered in what looked like a dirty brown rag. We put the lights on to see if it brightened the room but alas it only added a dim gloom to the darkness.
The bathroom was spectacular - lovely marble etc but the bedroom was just so depressing.

We went back to reception and were told that the hotel was pretty much full so very difficult to find us another room, we asked if they could add some lamps or anything to make it a bit better - but after some furious tapping on a computer he came up with a room in the main part of the hotel that we could look at - this was just as dark and gloomy. We were resigned to spend the weekend in darkness.

Our friends then checked into their room to find it was a third of the size of our room and very dark also. Back to reception to the gentleman who was clearly getting annoyed at us and miraculously he found us another room to look at (even though he told us there were no other rooms). This had nice big windows - it was smaller than our original but at least we wouldn't feel like vampires all weekend. After looking at another room both parties changed to different rooms.

We weren't the only ones room swapping, another group that had checked in after us were on the hunt for bright rooms but as the reception kept telling us, it's the style of the hotel bla bla bla......I think they eventually settled for semi dark rooms like us!

The rooms have not been well thought out.
The stylish sinks in the bathrooms - look great but as soon as you turn on the tap it soaks you with water.
The bed is so unbelievably uncomfortable, at one point I considered lying on the hard floor instead.
There is a wheely desk chair at the dressing table / large shelf (that sloped forward so my make up rolled forward and fell off) and twice when I sat on it to put my boots on I fell off! It topples very easily and really shouldn't be on a shiny wooden floor.
The windows are very drafty, like they haven't been sealed properly - add to that flimsy, thin curtains that don't do much and you get a draft all night long.
The bedside tables were 5ft high.....not ideal for placing a glass of water on to reach for through the night.

No extra pillows or blankets in the wardrobe so my husband asked at reception for a foam pillow and was rudely told, housekeeping didn't have any pillows left......but miraculously when we enquired the next day we were told not a problem and 3 extra pillows were delivered to the room!

Really not sure who put these rooms together but they have failed immensely!!

We used the pool / spa as well - it was again very stylish but as soon as we walked in we all slipped on the wet marble floor - surely it wouldn't take much for the staff to mop up excess water in the relaxation area?

On a plus the hotel was very clean - lovely toiletries in the bathroom - nice chocolates with the turn down service in the evening.

We had pre paid for the hotel in advance, but if we hadn't I would have left to find somewhere else to stay. Just because it looks stylish it doesn't mean it's comfortable.
Such a shame as this could be a great hotel, but it's let down by so many simple design flaws.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RachelA-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews