We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and modern”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #43 of 264 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here for three days to go and see the Christmas markets and found it to be a perfect location. A clean modern hotel tastefully decorated,where you can easily walk to the new and old districts.Polite staff and good choice for breakfast.Only slight criticism, is they have got only one, two slice toaster so had to wait. Wouldn't cost much to get a quicker, catering revolving one.There is no kettle in the rooms but this seams the norm in some city hotels.Our room was at the back of the hotel and as others have mentioned you can here the trams through the night.It is a city after all and its definitely not enough to upset your stay. Would stay again and reccomend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamaCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Krakow is a great place to come for a short break, we were here for five days, I would say that would be the minimum you consider, there is so much to see.
The hotel is very centrally situated, very near the train station from the Airport. You don't need really to get a taxi from the airport when the train is every half hour or so from very early to late. Cost is 12 plz about £2.50 each as against 77 plz for a taxi.
The rooms are not huge, but spotlessly clean. I picked up on what other reviewers have said, walls being a bit thin.
Hotel is very near to the Old Town, and you could walk it to the Basilica or the Market Square in 5 mins.
Next to the railway station is a huge shopping centre which would cater for most western needs. It.s like the Trafford Centre with 220 shops, international brands etc. but I hated it because if I wanted to shop in there then I could have stayed at home.
There is a big Carrefour in there though, for essentials. Decent prices on beer and spirits (e.g. a litre of whisky about £10, vodka cheaper. Wine is relatively expensive, similar to Tesco's at home.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueknightterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed here for a 3 night break. Very central, main square less than 10 minute walk. Huge shopping mall just up the road, and the Christmas tree there was absolutely amazing! The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout. We overlooked the tram line but it didn't disturb us at all. The only thing I found lacking was bedside tables, although there is a shelf above the bed, so let's face it, not exactly a major complaint! Breakfast was plentiful if you like continental, cheeses, hams, etc, but the bacon was slightly underdone and the eggs and sausages were cold. All the staff were helpful, friendly and polite. Would highly recommend this hotel for cleanliness, friendliness and being in such a central location

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g_j_7062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Just returned from a break to take in the Christmas market.The hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean and smart. There is a very small bar in the foyer for a night cap which we made use of. It is well stocked for such a small bar. However there is only seating for about 10 people ! All the staff were pleasant friendly and helpful.

We were in a room on the third floor overlooking the road and could not hear the trains. The major roadworks on the front are still on going and work commenced about 7.30. This did not disturb us as we were already awake.

Our biggest problem was noise from adjoining rooms. Not that people were being unreasonable but the walls are obviously very thin as you could hear people talking, coughing and laughing etc.

The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.

The hotel was very good value for money and in a good location.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Smithsholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just returned to UK after a 4 night stay at the Ascot Hotel. It is perfectly situated for sight seeing and just a short walk from Krakow railway station. The hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean with maid service in rooms every day. There is a small bar in the foyer for that night cap which we made use of. All the staff were pleasant friendly and helpful.
There is currently major road works going on outside the Hotel but that had absolutely no impact on our stay. We were in a room on the third floor overlooking the road and slept soundly without disruption on every night, though It is possible that our evening visits to the "Wodka" bar a 5 minute walk away may have helped. We stayed on a Bed and Breakfast basis and found plenty of choice to suit all tastes for breakfast.
I wouldn't hesitate returning to this Hotel. It represents excellent value and a perfect location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RustyHarwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel was good quality, very clean and modern, good value for money, pleasant staff and breakfast was good. It was a pity that the road outside the hotel was being dug up but the staff kept access to the hotel clear and the foyer clean! It was located just outside the historical centre and we would used this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and its one of the best hotel I have every stayed, period!!! I booked for double room with breakfast included!!

Positives:

1) The price is extremely affordable, like literally!!

2) The room is large, clean and very comfortable for the price range!! The bed is very comfortable!!

3) The toilets are very clean and its way beyond my expectation!!

4) The breakfast is complete!!

5) The check in staff are very friendly, they are able to accommodate my request to check in very early since I arrived them from my overnight train at 7AM.. They are also able to book my tours to the Salt Mine on the day itself without any hassle, though its on the expensive side!!

6) It is a very short walk from the train station, Galeria shopping mall and the Old Town

Negatives

1) The location, I got the room directly behind the railway lines and it can be very noisy when the trains are passing by. Furthermore, the road outside the hotel is under construction right now, though its not the fault of the hotel.

Overall,

I love this hotel and I will recommend this hotel to everyone who are planning to visit Krakow!!

Room Tip: Choose the room away from the railway line!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDirector, Front Office Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Sirs,

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ascot soon!

With Kind Regards,

Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Wyspianski
Hotel Wyspianski
#89 of 264 in Krakow
1,504 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#13 of 264 in Krakow
1,342 reviews
ibis Krakow Centrum
#64 of 264 in Krakow
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#65 of 264 in Krakow
206 reviews
Hotel Batory
#34 of 264 in Krakow
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: ul. Radziwillowska 3, Krakow 31-026, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto , Wesoła Zachód
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Krakow
#37 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £34 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Krakow
Hotel Ascot Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing