We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Krakow is a Wonderful place”
Review of Hotel Wilga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Wilga
Ranked #144 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed 7 May 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights, loved it, typically eastern europe as regards customer service, but it's culture rather than ignorance. The poles know how to get every penny from you. The hotel is very clean and comfortable the staff spoke good english and were helpful at times but not all the time. We arrived 10pm immediately given our room which was brilliant clean and roomy we asked what time the restraunt closed was told 11pm. So we unpacked went to restraunt at 10.30 then we were told there was no food restraunt as it closed at 10 ? they couldn't serve us and they didn't know anywhere in Krakow where we could get food ?? Breakfast was good and plenty of it.only 15 mins walk to the centre lots to see, castle, cloth market, loads of little shops selling amber jewelery, bus 179 bus took you to shopping centre if you couldn't walk and is only seconds away. Airport is easy to get to from the town centre the bus 292 goes every hour but for 10 pln each we could get a taxi that took us to the door with no hassle, the bus is 2.5 pln. Visited the salt mines (well worth it) and the concentration camps (very sad but again well worth it) on all these things you can do it on the cheap with trains and buses but if you travel for 3 hrs on a plane to get to Poland are you really that desperate to save £10 or so? For a first visit i would use the tours, take advantage of the locals experience and then next time i go i will do it myself and enjoy it without the hassle,I would definately use the same Hotel again, loved it there and will be going to Krakow as soon as i can. As far as money is concerned question everything manytimes they have an offer but when you commit to pay for it the offer isn't what you expected, doesn't apply to you or you didn't read the same print, this applies to food drinks and taxis. This is not negative, I'm sure many of our shops would try the same things if they could get away with it, but take it as a warning. hope this is useful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavieboyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2008

The hotel is located outside the city centre but within easy walking distance of all the main sights. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the food in the restaurant was fine.

The staff however were most unpleasant. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel unwelcome. We were told we could not book the bowling alley until the day we wanted it, despite requesting it when we originally booked. When we came to book it, we were told the room was already booked for a buffet! We therefore had a problem as we had a group of 33 with nowhere to relax in the hotel - and as previous reviews have mentioned, the surrounding area is not pleasant during the day, let alone at night.

Overall, the hotel itself was fine but the staff ruined our stay. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank McSkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

Friends of mine stayed here and found it now overrun with drunk groups of men who kept them up at night. On their way back one night they were also mugged close to the hotel. The area around the hotel has a lot of derelict housing and is known for being dangerous. There are really much better choices in Krakow.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ewainkrakow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

Took a group of 28 here in Feb 2008 with much success. The prices were great (especially with a group discount of 15%) and the only problem with the booking was that a deposit can only be made via bank transfer. I'd rather pay be card than pay my bank to do it.

The hotel is south of the Wisla and in a bit of a random part of town. there's not a lot about but its a pleasant walk into the centre and takes about 20mins. A taxi is around 10-20 zloty.

Rooms are comfortable and variable in size and style. There were clean though, comfortable and quiet. In the basement you'll find a two lane bowling alley, pool table and large screen tv along with the bar. The restaurant seemed okay and they were happy to organise a set menu for us for lunch.

The staff were very welcoming and accomodating and most speak pretty good English. If you don't mind the stroll (or tram) into the centre of Krakow, then I'd reccommend the Wilga.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil_to_capacity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2007

Eight of us were booked into Hotel Petrus but when we arrived there they said that they are moving us into another hotel due to some noisy Italian guests and thought that we would be happier in another hotel. The Petrus arranged the rooms and transport for us and paid the difference as it was a more expensive hotel. So our stay was in the Wilga, great hotel, clean and in very good condition. Staff really helpful and pleasant. Restaurant was first class and no more expensive than in centre of town. It was situated close to Kazimeriz however we found it easier to get a Taxi into the centre and cost about 14zl. Transport and food really cheap. Watch out for the loos in Poland though even when you find a public one(which is rare) they are awful. You have to go into a cafe and buy something to use the loo. Krakow really great though.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cazCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michaelwI2729XR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Konrad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Galicya
Best Western Hotel Galicya
#106 of 262 in Krakow
298 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Apis
Hotel Apis
#132 of 262 in Krakow
152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Petrus Hotel
Petrus Hotel
#110 of 262 in Krakow
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
InterHouse Hotel
InterHouse Hotel
#217 of 262 in Krakow
125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Krakow Kazimierz
1 mi away
Sympozjum Hotel
Sympozjum Hotel
#130 of 262 in Krakow
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilga

Address: ul. Przedwiosnie 16, Krakow 30-502, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range: £45 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wilga 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wilga is a modern 3-star hotel situated in the vicinity of the most attractive (historic) places in Krakow. Its convenient location is only a few steps away from the Old Jewish District (Kazimierz), the Wawel Hill or the heart of Krakow - the Old Town.It is a perfect place for work and leisure. We offer accommodation in Krakow in competitive prices and a parking space. For our business clients we have prepared a 3 fully-equipped conference rooms and our restaurant provides catering during conferences, trainings, and business or family meetings.Our hotel staff guarantees the always to be remembered atmosphere of hospitality.We are the only hotel in Krakow to have the professional bowling centre - We invite everyone to enjoy bowling, both the Hotel Guests and people from Krakow.Have a great time with your friends having a drink, organising a bowling competition, enjoying billiards pool, table football or watching matches on the big screen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Wilga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing