We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a bed, and if the price fits go for it!”
Review of Hotel Daisy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Daisy
Ranked #234 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Hotel Daisy wouldn't be my first choice of hotel, in fact it probably wouldn't be a second or third. Its one of those hotels you end up staying in & depending on the group your with will either work or won't.

We took a late break to Krakow early November. A very last minute booking with the primary aim to visit Auschwitz - Krakow itself was just a bit of a bonus.

Firstly the hotel. The hotel itself is in a really strange location - described as being 4km outside of Krakow city centre, it felt considerably longer. Its smack bang in a small residential area, nestled between a number of large houses off the beaten track. As per other reviews the hotel is surrounded by building work, but unless you’re actually making use of hotel facilities you'll never be bothered by these.
Our visit was fleeting, so we never made use of the hotel facilities at all. The swimming pool and hot tub did look excellent though, and for a weekend break may offer a little light comfort.
The reception staff were friendly and offered advice when asked, but didn't go out of their way to make your stay more welcoming - for me, and the group of lads I was with, this was fine. For us the hotel was simply a base and a bed, and as long as we could get a taxi and a fresh towel it was fine. Taxi’s could be ordered at reception and would normally arrive within 5 minutes.

We stayed in the standard room, which as other reviews suggest is basic. We were a group of 4 lads, each with a single room. The rooms varied in size and layout, but were all much the same – a bed, a small tv, a wardrobe, and an en suite bathroom.
The Bed itself was rock hard, more like an old sofa than a bed. Pillows were soft, but supported by a solid arm rest type thing!?!
The bathrooms were basic, and as a group we had mixed results with the shower. Luckily for me mine was steaming hot and very powerful, but two of the lads ended up with trickles of water and random heat settings.

We ventured into breakfast on the first morning, but weren’t overly blown away by the spread. A small toasting machine, scrambled eggs, ham & cheese, and the odd bit of toast. We didn’t really expect anything else to be honest, so instead decided to trek into town and find something a bit more filling.

Overall I don’t really want to fault the hotel. Its basic, but its cheap. If you just fancy a very cheap weekend away & you’re not fussy about your bed or hotel facilities, Hotel Daisy works. One additional plus point, the hotel had 3 open wireless networks which you could access from your room – if you’re travelling, or just in need of a facebook burst you’ll love this.

Transport.

You’ll spend most of your time getting around Krakow by taxi, and to be honest they are quite reasonably priced. Transfers from the Airport to the hotel cost around 35-40zl, which works out about £10 – it’s about a 10-15 minute journey.
Getting into the city centre from the hotel is a similar distance and will generally set you back in the region of 25-30zl during the day, but anything up to double this at night. Be careful when getting taxi’s at night, don’t be shy in asking the price prior to jumping in – the taxi’s are metered and will quickly rack up in the early hours.
The city also has a tram line and local bus service, both of which run from the airport – given more time I would have liked to explore these options, but being a very last minute deal we just went with convenience.

Krakow

The City itself is stunning and would make an excellent location for a weekend away for couples. Due to our very swift visit (Fri-Sun) we didn’t really get a chance to explore the city as much as I would have liked, but I’ve already got plans to revisit and see more. Something about Krakow reminds me a bit of Barcelona.
The central square is amazing, truly stunning to look at, and lined with restaurants and bars. The food is excellent quality & very reasonably priced – £20-£25 will easily fill your stomach with a beer or two to boot.
Off the central square you’ll find mazes of little alleys, each leading to smaller equally picturesque squares. Bars and restaurants are everywhere. Each bar you walk into you’ll be amazed by – most descend downstairs in to large open plan dimly lit cellars (making them all the more spectacular).
Considering the number of bars, Krakow didn’t strike us as a party city. The average beer costs £1.50 and Vodka is practically coming out of the fountains, but despite this it actually comes across quite refined. Large groups of English and Irish travellers could be found in some of the larger bars near the central square, but as you head off into the maze of alleys you soon find yourself in quite more local bars. Saturday night is definitely the day the locals go out, so if you’re planning one big night make it Saturday.

On a final note – Auschwitz. If you travel to Krakow you should definitely visit Auschwitz. Whilst for some it may not seem high on the priority list, it’s a day visit that will stay with you for the rest of your life. Truly remarkable, moving, and shocking at the same time. Auschwitz is roughly an hours drive from Krakow & the easiest way to get there is via a tour – We booked through SeeKrakow which I would highly recommend. Door to door taxi service, fully guided tour, helpful staff – all in can’t fault.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LostBhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

Stayed here with 3 friends for a long weekend of sight-seeing. On arrival we asked to see a standard room and the superior room. For the small cost of £6 per night we upgraded to the superior room which was lovely. Beautiful, large ornate beds with huge pillows, crisp white bedding and everything smelled so clean. The room had everything we needed for our visit, bottles of water, TV (for the news)! clean bathroom with clean towels and a safe. The hotel manager showed us around and was very informative. We paid 20 zloty for breakfast (although the brochure in the bedroom stated 15 zloty) it was't really our thing but it was perfectly adequate. When we needed a taxi the reception would call us one and it would arrive within 5 minutes, brilliant service. A small issue occured on our final evening when we tried to purchase some bars of chocolate from their fridge for the stated 2 zloty - we were informed that the price was incorrect, it some how turned into the reception staff member becoming highly agressive. It didn't however detract from the fact that we had thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to future travellers. I would recommend the upgrade to the superior room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smilingflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

the hotel was fine, it was clean and the staff very friendly.the breakfast was a buffet of cheese hams and various salads with scrambled eggs to order again ok with plenty on offer.the rooms basic with ensuite shower and tv ,the beds are very hard but this is normal in polish hotels.the swimming pool is an extra charge of about 4euro an hour very expensive if you have a few kids.the location is good if you are travelling by car as it is about 5km to the airport and the centre of krakow and the zoo is close by.also the avation museum is a must with a vast range of aeroplanes jets and military items on display.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellhappy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We have a mixed opinion about this hotel. We stayed in a superior room which was very nice indeed - quite luxurious in fact - but the rest of the experience didn't quite match up. The bed sheets did not fit the bed (it was a massive bed) and left about a foot of bare mattress at the top. There was no maid service, the safe broke, and the shower did not drain properly meaning the bathroom flooded all the time.

The staff were very nice apart from when we were 25 minutes late to check out and they came knocking at our door to hurry us up.

The breakfast was OK and there was fresh scrambled eggs made to order to go with freshly heated frankfurters.

The pool was very nice and was free if you had a superior room. It said it was open from 7am but did not really open unitl the afternoon whilst we were there.

There was no restaurant as advertised and the bar was closed.

We had a standard room initially which was pretty grim (tiny, dark, weird beds, no carpet, odd smell), and we upgraded to superior for a reasonable rate.

You will be OK here if you are happy with a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smith88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaisyStuff, Manager at Hotel Daisy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2010

I want to thank for an opinion and ask our guests to tell problems at reception during their stay. Most of them have would be solved at once. All safes are new they have instruction on the door and work correctly. We cover the swimming pool when nobody is in the swimming pool area for keeping the water warm. It takes 3 minutes to uncover when a guest wants to swim and it is enough to tell someone at reception desk which is next to the pool.

Once again I ask our future and present guest to tell all the problems during their stay. The sooner we will know the problem the sooner will be solved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Even before we arrived at ‘Hotel Daisy’ we knew not to expect the Ritz. After all, you get what you pay for. We arrived early and were pleasantly surprised to be checked in way before the stated time. Reception was clean, airy and light. Some might call it glitzy, what with the 6-carat plastic (we touched them) chandeliers.

We were welcomed by the expressionless proprietor (if he wasn’t the proprietor, I’ve no idea who was, as he was there 24/7) and we were thrilled to be offered a choice of room: [--], or [--]. We went for the former. I hasten to add at this point that this is not a complaint, merely a factual account, which is required when writing a review.

The most important part of any hotel room is of course the beds. Sadly in our room, there were none. As we entered the room we saw two pieces of furniture masquerading as the aforementioned items, even going so far as to have a pillow and a blanket. On closer inspection they were two (solid) sofas, imitating beds. Cheeky. These sofas were so close to each other that you could stroke your roommates face if desired.

The en suite was beautifully finished, however it appeared that captain Hook was a previous occupant of room 6 (please see pic 1). The bathroom was perfect for that morning after feeling as it was possible to rest your forehead on the cool, soothing tiles of the wall, whilst seated. Not only thoughtful, but also practical. The shower, although with a gentle nudge to left became hotter than the sun, was modern, powerful and refreshing. The decent/disembarkation from the shower cubical was a risky business. Should your foot befall the postage-stamp-sized bathmat at this pivotal point, you might find yourself groping at all 3 pieces of porcelain in a desperate attempt to not crack your skull. We assume no help would come despite the paper-thin walls.

Room décor was standard and included a traditional (I can only imagine to be Polish) tapestry. Sadly, it was bursting free from its (probably antique) wooden frame. It was hung at a funky jaunty angle of approx. 25°. Unfortunately we can neither confirm nor refute this measurement as neither of us thought to pack a protractor as we were constrained by the rigid Ryan Air hand luggage allowance policy. Other features of the room included curtains that although were made from the same, very thin fabric were hung in opposite directions (please see pic 3). For that extra piece of pizazz one was at least 4” longer than the other. We can neither confirm nor refute this measurement as neither of us thought to pack a ruler as we were constrained by the rigid Ryan Air hand luggage allowance policy.

There were four plug sockets available. Unfortunately two of these were only useful if you were 8’ tall. A hairdryer was available from reception on request and produced gusts of air akin to gentle odourless flatulence.

Your early morning wake-up call at this hotel consists firstly of a slowly seeping aroma or Marlborough Lights (most evident in the bathroom) followed by the sound of staff scurrying around and scraping chairs whilst arguing loudly as they prepare for another day of hard work at ‘Hotel’ Daisy. Probably doodling pictures of willies on the back of note paper which then gladly hand over to guests along with information such as bus times. (Yes, this really did happen)

Breakfast can only be reviewed based on one experience, which was enough. Amongst the Polish sausages, ham, cheese and cake were cereals and some chemical-laced jams. The very sweet and helpful lady showed us some eggs and frankfurters and we nodded vigorously in anticipation of dippy eggs and soldiers. What we got was a plate of about 12 scrambled eggs with a garnish of spring onion. As we gingerly tucked into the gelatinous mound, we could feel the stares of the breakfast staff upon us. We ate in uncomfortable silence as there were no other diners and only the steady blink of the CCTV camera kept us company. We assume that this was to deter guests from helping themselves to a packed lunch.

Other facilities at Hotel Daisy include a swimming pool. We cannot vouch for the superior rooms, however in our very standard (read: Borstal) room it cost 15PLN an hour. Due to the glass window in reception the staff also have the option to stare at you whilst you swim/use the sauna/Jacuzzi. Other intrusions on your privacy comprise maid service. Even if you don’t want them to empty your bin or replace the loo roll they will open the door to gain the opportunity to stare at you in bed, and will ignore your attempts to let them know you are not prepared for unknown human contact. Voyeurism, it seems, is big business in Poland.

On a less optimistic note, despite Hotel Daisy only being ten years old, it is already in dire need of refurbishment. The shower can, and will, detach itself from the wall whilst you are using it. Thankfully, due to the Legoä-like nature of the Polish plumbing you are able to affix it back with ease.

There is a living room downstairs, complete with coffee machine and TV. The DVD player only bears the legend ‘NO DISC’ no matter how many discs you attempt to insert. There was an exciting opportunity to view a promotional disc of the roller skates/trainers advertised in reception, however that particular experience is no longer available as we purloined the disc and it currently resides in my pocket. You can however view a music channel specialising in videos from the 1990’s, should that appeal to you. If not, you can watch several Polish stations, a couple of French ones and BBC world news, if the sound ever comes back on it that is.

Overall, if you require a hotel that gives you drinking water, beds and tea and coffee making facilities, then ‘Hotel Daisy’ is not for you. However, if all you require is a room resembling something from Communist rule, somewhere to wash and helpful, if typically sullen staff then go ahead. The motto is ‘You get what you pay for’ and possibly a little less.


Post Script: After a few nights in a standard room, we upgraded to a superior room. We highly recommend that you select a superior room as for around £7.50 extra a night, you get a bed, a flat-screen TV/DVD player, a safe and carpet. As well as this, you get access to the pool.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank btownroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Although a little far from the main town, buses were frequent and efficient. Staff at the hotel tried as hard as possible to ensure we had all that we needed. The room was small but comfortable and we slept well. There was a fantastic massage chair in the foyer which only cost 5 zlotys and lasted a good ten minutes. Breakfast was plentiful and I can only say, if you don't want a Polish style breakfast, don't go to Poland. Too many people like to pick fault instead of looking at the positives. We would go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buckwheatcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We were a bunch of lads on a stag do and it was just right. Somewhere to sleep and get clean before going out in Krakow. Garden to sip beer in when warm. Staff a bit unfriendly but probably more the language barrier, hardly any English spoken and of course us Brits never learn other languages! Nice area, residential and quiet although the cement mixer at 7am in the car park was a rude awakening. Should be a decent place looking at the extension. If you are looking for a hotel for a romantic break with your sugnificant other this is not the place. If you want a base for sleeping and getting cleaned up then it is fine. It's not the Hilton, it's a cheap and cheerful B&B without much of the 2nd B!

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casanunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaisyStuff, owner at Hotel Daisy, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2009

Hotel has just finished his extension. The new part is finished and it has inside swimming pool, fitness room and artificial ice rink during winter. I am apologize that during the construction job guests could expect some inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Dom Turystyczny Indigo
#200 of 262 in Krakow
19 reviews
Daisy Superior
#227 of 262 in Krakow
82 reviews
Hotel System
#155 of 262 in Krakow
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel Faust
#189 of 262 in Krakow
62 reviews
System Hotel Krakow
#231 of 262 in Krakow
250 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Nowa Panorama
Hotel Nowa Panorama
#137 of 262 in Krakow
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daisy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daisy

Address: ul. Morelowa 26A, Krakow 30-222, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range: £20 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Daisy 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Daisy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daisy Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing