We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay”
Review of Hotel Poleski

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Poleski
Ranked #14 of 128 Krakow B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Excelent hotel for a 3 star rating.
Very friendly and helpful staff, who all speak english (my polish goes to please and thankyou only).
10 min walk from the market square, uphill (paved, slight to moderate in part) on the way but once you have had a drink / food / been sight seeing, that works out on the way back.
As mentioned by others does not look impresive from the outside,enclosed to the rear with other buildings, from over the river looks good.
Comments about requiring TLC seam to me to regard the odd case scuff mark on hall / door way walls, magnolia so inevitable and who cares!
Inclusive breakfast is continental and extensive for such in its options , with scrambled eggs and frankfurter (I like, but not for all I know) type sasuages as a hot option. The (very) fresh warm rolls & coffee were frankly good enough for me on their own though!
Having said that the hotel itself is not a masterpiece of architecture, the view of the castle over the river from the room is simply amazing!
Reception can book you trips to all the local sights with pick up from the door at very good prices.
Very close to some of the newer attraction, the city view ballon and the floating bar / restaurants.
The only disapointrment was that the rooftop bar was not open, but it was late in the season (nice before dinner but a little cool after) and occupancy appeared to be low, so I can fully understand that.
The hotel has no pool or gym (how wants the latter on holiday! and not the destination type for a pool in my opinion anyway, hence the average rating for something that is not there).
Overall thoroughly recomended.

Room Tip: We had room 8, on the second floor corner, excellent! the room on the third floor directly above (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    75
    38
    10
    4
See reviews for
32
87
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The hotel has beautiful location overlooking river and castle. The restaurant is very pretty and food good and reasonably priced. Breakfast is adequate. The roof top bar is lovely. Staff very polite although very young. The room had a side river view - a nice seating area with fridge and bed was clean and big. The bathroom was brand new and lovely. However this hotel has yellowish carpets in bedrooms and communal areas and they are really disgusting - such a shame when the rest was such good value. The tv was as old as me and should also be retired! And if you stay here pack a plug for sink - non of us staying had one! I would stay again but insist on a clean floor - 3 star does not equal dirty and this place could be 4 star with a little tlc.

Room Tip: We asked for river view and did not get one right away so insist on it. This is the main attraction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel. When arriving it does not look impressive. Reception is ground floor. 1st floor house the restaurant for both breakfast and daytime and evening meals. This restaurant has fantastic views of the river Wisla. Also the famous Wawel Castle is right opposite on the opposite river bank. 2nd and 3rd floors are the guests bedrooms. Very roomy with excellent modern bathroom. Again most rooms overlook the river. One downside is that although the hotel is very clean, the carpets in the bedrooms as well as the landings, are in dire need of refurbishment. The 4th floor is another treat. This if the rooftop terrace bar which again has fantastic views over the rivver. Breakfast is above average and could not fault the restaurant food. Prices are so so cheap compared to the UK. Polish ' pint' 8 Zloty (£1.65) Latte 10 Zloty (£2.05). Staff are very friendly and helpful. The main square is across the river and takes about 20 minutes at a leisurely walk. Or feeling lazy? take a taxi to the Main Square for 17 Zloty (£3.50).

Room Tip: Rooms 4,5,6 & 7 0n 2nd floor ( plus others, but not sure of room numbers) have river views. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley and Pau... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The hotel is clean, Well situated, Staff polite if approached, I never saw anyone working here older than 20yrs. There was no service, no one asked if everything was ok, The bars were not open as no one used them, (a bit difficult if not open) One morning coffee was cold in the urn, reported this to a waitress who mumbled something, disappeared and never offered an alternative. It lacks direction and management. Shame really.

Room Tip: Dont pick room 6 large tree blocks out light room gloomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldstar69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at Poleski for one week at the beginning of Sept 2012. Taxi from the airport is about 80 Zloty (about £16), and takes about 30 mins.
When we arrived we were disappointed with our room (No 9), and we were offered a change to (No2) which was the only other room available, which had a marginally better view of the river and castle, it was a slightly bigger room, but the air con was broken, so we opened the windows when we got warm.
We arrived quite late so opted to eat in the hotel restaurant, which was the only time we had a evening meal there, we did enjoy the meal and the price was not to really much more than we paid in the town.
Breakfast was as described in all the other reviews, which is just about adequate for your needs.
Yes the rooms need a little attention as regards decoration and the carpets are stained, and other peoples reviews have reflected other faults that can bother some people during there stay. But this is a 3 star hotel and the price you pay dictates the quality, so perhaps you should look at paying more for a better quality hotel if that is what you really want.
For ourselves this hotel was ok for our needs as we intended to get out and about during our stay, and really only needed a base to spend the minimum amount of time there mainly sleeping, as we only had a week to see as much as we could in that time.
If we came to Krakow again we would probally not stay here, a location nearer the main square would be better for ourselves as the 15/20 minute walk both ways between the hotel and city centre became a bit of a bind, but on the other hand the lovely views of the river and castle is something you would not get in the town centre.

Room Tip: You need to ask in advance for a room with views of the river and castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoggintheNogYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanko, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed in the room number 15 a week in July and I was very pleased with my stay. The view from the room was fantastic and the hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. The bathroom was spacious and clean and the room was comfortable if a bit worn out. Breakfast wasn’t anything fancy but a good solid basic breakfast that kept one going long into the day.

However, I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone suffering from arachnophobia. The air-conditioning had a bad habit of dying every now and then, usually in the middle of the night making sleeping impossible. Opening the large windows helped a lot, but also the big spiders liked to come and enjoy the comforts of the room.

If, or should I say when, I return to Krakow this will still be my number one choice of a hotel. It was good value for the price I paid.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I am just back from a 5 day break in Krakow and I stayed at this hotel which overlooks the beautiful Wawel castle across the river from this 20 room hotel in a quiet location 15-20 mins walk away from the old town market square. The room me and my sister stayed in was spacious and had a sitting area, twin bedroom, and large bathroom. The only complaint about the room was it had lots of stains on a pale carpet, but if you're not seeking perfection then this is easily overlooked.The room was cleaned every day, had fresh towels, complimentary bottles of water (no tea making facilities though) and when we asked for anything we had instant service. The strength of this hotel is undoubtedly its fantastic staff, especially the girls who worked at reception and in the restaurant. These young, efficient, attentive, polite staff are a credit and made sure we had everything we needed, took care of any requests immediately and were 100% on the ball. Fab!!
The restaurant menu is limited. Eating out in Krakow old town square is a much better option and gives you a wider range of choice and atmosphere! Bags of interest, visually and culinary.
We went on a river cruise as the moorings for many of the craft are a few minutes walk from the Poleski and on a hot August afternoon this was a wonderful way to spend an hour.
We also went to Auchwitz on a day long excursion. One word of warning...we went with 'Seekrakow' tours but the promised air conditioned bus was a wreck which had neither aircon or inertia seatbelts. In 30 degree heat this trip was extremely uncomfortable and the tour company fobbed us off when we complained. Seek another tour company would be my advice. We also visited the saltmines which Hotel Poleski arranged through a company they recommend. My tip would be to arrange all excursions through the hotel. You will probably pay the equivilent of an extra pound or two but you get excellent service with tried and tested tour companies and it takes the hassle out of it.
A good way to see a bit of Krakow (in the absence of double decker tour buses and the like) is to hop on an electric tour buggy and get to travel aroud the old town and the Jewish quarter etc. We hit Krakow in a heatwave and in temps climbing to 40 degrees walking was a nightmare! The hotel sorted us with taxies and this made getting in and out from the centre cooler!
There is a roof terrace with views so stunning that this makes the Poleski worth staying in for them alone. Wow factor indeed!!
Overall this is an excellent value for money hotel with a decent buffet breakfast (but no toast making machine...for those who love their toast, sadly there is none to be had!), in a good location, with a diamond staff who exemplify all that is good in hospitality and service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river, what a view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosemary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Batory
#44 of 260 in Krakow
484 reviews
Hampton by Hilton Krakow
#42 of 260 in Krakow
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 260 in Krakow
988 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#40 of 260 in Krakow
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poleski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poleski

Property: Hotel Poleski
Address: ul. Sandomierska 6, Krakow 30-301, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poleski 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Poleski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing