We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff let down by decaying hotel”
Review of Hotel Poleski

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Poleski
Ranked #13 of 131 Krakow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I recently returned from a 6 night visit to Krakow having stayed in this hotel. I read the reviews and so was generally prepared for the average rating of the hotel. Unfortunately I was still rather disappointed.

Our arrival was welcoming if not a little daunted by the exterior of the hotel. Quite drab and dated but ok nonetheless. We went up to our room via the dark and dingy corridors to find that our room was also dark and dingy. The carpets throughout the hotel were honestly disgusting. I dread to think about what the stains were.

The beds were two singles despite booking a double room. The sheets were thin and had holes in them. There was also a mattress sponge on top of the actual mattresses which had obviously been folded at one point as there was a massive lump about half way down the bed. This was the source of a fair few nights bad sleep. The source of the other bad nights sleep was the sheets constantly slipping off.

The air con in the room is not actually air con its just an air ventilator system. Not really too much of a problem on the cooler nights but I can imagine would be quite uncomfortable in an already stuffy room with the window only able to open a small amount. At times the air that was being ventilated actually brought in a smell of smoke suggesting that people were smoking near the air vent outside that was bringing the 'fresh air' in.

On the plus side, the en-suite was lovely. On the contrary to the state of the room, it was clean, fresh, and spacious.

The hotel did provide us with drinking water but the bottles were bottle tops (not screw tops) and no bottle opener was provided. Possibly countless drinks being opened without the aid of a bottle opener might have been the source of the multiple stains on the carpet.

The restuarant was lovely and this was clearly where all the money was being spent. The breakfast was not though. Plain, boring. Just a few bits of processed ham and cheese slices, olives, feta cheese, bread, cereals, and scrambled egg (if you got up early enough). We didn't even bother going on one morning and decided to go to a local cafe. On the plus side the view from the restaurant is lovely. We did have lunch there one day which was lovely. The food was fresh and tasty - shame this wasn't the same for breakfast.

The staff at the hotel were really lovely and nothing was too much trouble. They were happy to speak English and did so fluently (a god-send to us non-speaking Polish folk!). The hotel could be so much better if the management took care of it better as its in a great location but I can't imagine wanting to go back should I want to visit Krakow again.

For £50 a night it was value for money but simple things made this hotel such a disappointment!

Room Tip: Don't go for anything to the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lrose88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

there are a number of differing reviews such that we began to wonder whether we have made a mistake before our holiday. The views are without question excellent whether at night on the roof top bar (the food was OK) or at breakfast on the 1st floor. Breakfast was a good continental - fresh food and a good variety. For those grumbling about lack of eggs and bacon NB you are in a foreign country which does things differently.

The room was a good size, river view and a very clean bathroom - the air conditioning did struggle (it was over 40 degrees C though). The room was dull with poor lighting and difficult to read at night. The reception staff were always pleasant and helpful.

One word of warning though - building work is starting nearby so woken early on our last day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Despite the fantastic location and lovely views the hotel fell short on a variety of levels.
The hotel air conditioning was experiencing "problems" on our first night and led to an overwhelming heat in the room, the second night despite me contacting reception the air conditioning was turned off? I asked why only for reception to say that the temperature was low enough?! Surely this is customers choice and they knew of the issues the previous night and my preference to a cool room for sleeping purposes.

Large stains on the cream carpets in room and throughout corridors were very unsightly, mirror light did not work, no fan in bathroom, no tea/coffee making facilities, glass light was broke at side of bed and I contacted reception (have a two year old boy), nothing was done. Smoke alarm was partly taped up. Fire exit fixing in corridor was hanging from ceiling wall. I did speak to reception about my concerns but nothing was done, manager did not speak to me.

Issues with service on hotel roof bar!

These views were also evident with other guests who had similar problems at the time of our stay. Very disappointing stay, Hotel needs updating and should not be charging £70 per night approx. we shall not be returning to the Poleski hotel.

Room Tip: See your room before you book in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lolly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Lovely location views over river and castle best in krakow, approach to hotel not the best but very clean and tidy. Breakfast very nice plenty of choice, rooms basic few scuffs here and their stains on carpets no tea making facility's . service on roof terrace not brilliant, wanted to order food was told that there was an hour wait which we were ok with, after waiting well over an hour we paid for our drinks and left as we felt priority was given to larger party's, also their was only one member of staff doing job of more than one person,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisajayne1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed 10 days in May in the room # 7 the view of the Vavel Castle over the river was amazing. Terrace is located on the roof of the hotel with amazing view as well. If weather is nice must to spent time to be they’re drinking a nice cold beer and enjoined to see Krakow and Wawel from the opposite side of the Vistula River. Restaurant is nice and clean with good food selection and nice service.Very friendly and help full staff, who all speak English very well.
Breakfast is a buffet style with excellent selection, for everybody (cheeses, sausages, eggs, herrings, salads etc.); the rolls are lovely and freshly baked. Coffee is fresh and done well. Very good tee selection.
Hotel is located not far from Central Market Square, excellent walking distance.
They drop me to the airport at very good price.
George Jerzy S. Mississauga, Canada

Room Tip: the room # 7 the view of the Vavel Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George Jerzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This little gem is right on the river and just across from the Wawel Castle and a very convenient walk to Old Town. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the breakfast, included, was very good. I would highly recommend this to anyone wishing to find a good hotel without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: Most of their rooms face the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ted61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Krakow is a great place to visit, clean, friendly, safe and cheap. This hotel lies on the river bank offering a lovely view of Warwel castle. Don't be put off by the surrounding area, its totally safe. Small friendly hotel. Clean rooms, clean hotel. Good nights sleep, no noise. Restuarant/Breakfast room takes up all of 1st floor. Must be best continental breaksfast in Poland, big selection and also scrambled eggs if required, on until 11.00am!. Because we were leaving at 7.00am on our last day, staff even packed us a box for breakfast! Shower rooms are 4 star quality. Second floor is being refurbished (Feb 2013) but couldnt see the reason why as all the hotel looks very fresh and clean. Twenty minute walk to the main square but restaurants can be found 10-15 mins away. Local polish diner across the bridge on corenr of main junction (Flisack Bar) where all main courses are under £1 but menu on wall is only in Polish, plastic cutlery but if you want to try local then this is the place!!. There is a free walking tour from the main square at 09.30am for main sites and 14.00 for the Jewish area, but dont tip less than a £5 a person as it's not really fair, this is the guides livelyhood.Its the best way to see all the sites. Auschwitz is a must, although can be hard for some people (mentally, not physically). Trips to Auschwitx are 130ZLT, just book it from your hotel as all the tour shops in town are all same price. Scindlers factory, now a museum, is good for 2nd world war information and worthwhile. Balloon ride near the hotel, you will be able to see it, goes up to about 150 meters for views, is tied to ground so no worries! Theres a fantastic chocolate shop which sells drinks to die for, off one of the turnings from the main square. Main building in the middle of the market square is full of souvenir booths and you can look without being hassled. Can't rate this hotel and Krawow highly enough. Three full days required.

Room Tip: Any roon from 16-20 on 3rd floor has veiw of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hampton by Hilton Krakow
#41 of 261 in Krakow
591 reviews
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#47 of 261 in Krakow
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Batory
#40 of 261 in Krakow
501 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Wyspianski
Hotel Wyspianski
#90 of 261 in Krakow
1,474 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#39 of 261 in Krakow
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poleski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poleski

Address: ul. Sandomierska 6, Krakow 30-301, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Krakow
Price Range: £35 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poleski 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Poleski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing