We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel Poleski

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Poleski
Ranked #14 of 128 Krakow B&B and Inns
Prague
1 review
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The location of the Hotel is perfect and the view on Wavel Castle over Vistula is breathtaking. Our stay was very pleasant also thanks to the kind staff. The only thing I missed was hairdryer. I can only recommend.







  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Petra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    72
    37
    10
    4
See reviews for
31
84
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Simply a great, clean, modern hotel. Perfect location, only 20 minutes from the centre. Great breakfast and really helpful staff. And you can't ask for a better view from the hotel.We really couldn't have asked for anymore, great little find and perfect for all those other travellers looking to get a great value place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 104Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Nice & friendly service, great view both from the room window and an amazing roof terrace (!), Rooms were nice & clean and the price was decent. Maybe the wifi-connection was a bit weak, but it worked from other end of the room. Right place when you need a peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matsiu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Despite asking for a room with a river view, we got placed in one of the only 2 rooms with a view of a dark and dingy courtyard and several dirty looking windows. Not a great start to the holiday. When we asked to change rooms, the hotel staff said the hotel was fully booked and there was nothing she could do. This would be fine only the hotel seemed very empty considering all the rooms were supposedly full. The room was not upto standard; no tea/coffee making facilities, carpet stains and lumpy beds as described by other reviewers, no hairdryer and no telephone. As we had no tea/coffee facilities in the room we decided we would like to order room service, so, we went down to reception to ask for a telephone to ring down and order. The lady on the desk said that there was a problem with the line in our room- this problem has already been mentioned by another reviewer several months before our trip, yet still the problem has not been resolved. She said that we couldn't have a telephone in our room but that we could phone "150" for room service.... again we explained we had no internal phone for our room, to which she said you are better walking down to the restaurant to order drinks as it is cheaper, there is nothing I can do. So we went to the restaurant for two cups of tea... only to find it to be more expensive than the room service menu. Nonetheless, we paid and drank our luke warm cups of tea. We ate our first lunch in the hotel, one meal was lovely, the second not so great, but the staff in the restaurant couldn't be faulted. The breakfast was the same everyday, so after a week you are ready to go home! The view from the restaurant is also fantastic. A few days before we were due to leave, we asked reception to book us a taxi to the airport which they said was no problem. On our final morning we go down to reception 20mins before we are due to leave and the lady at the desk says "your driver will be here in a minute, he is just in the office" and points to a door behind us. The driver appears and introduces himself then leads us to the car outside; turns out it is the hotel transfer service and has cost us nearly double the price of a taxi.
If we were to return to Krakow, it would not be to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

breathtaking view on the wawel castle and cathedral from the restaurant for breakfast and dinner
very friendly and good english speaking staff
the breakfast is good continental and there is a lot of choice
very good value for th money you pay
hotel Poleski is on walking distance from the centre, a good and quiet starting point for several excursions but the view on the river and the Wawel castle is beautiful

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norbert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

The views from the wavel castle rooms are breathtaking. The roof terrace is an excellent place to relax and all the staff are friendly and English speaking. Highly recommended and made our stay in Krakow a memorable one!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteTPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I recently returned from a 6 night visit to Krakow having stayed in this hotel. I read the reviews and so was generally prepared for the average rating of the hotel. Unfortunately I was still rather disappointed.

Our arrival was welcoming if not a little daunted by the exterior of the hotel. Quite drab and dated but ok nonetheless. We went up to our room via the dark and dingy corridors to find that our room was also dark and dingy. The carpets throughout the hotel were honestly disgusting. I dread to think about what the stains were.

The beds were two singles despite booking a double room. The sheets were thin and had holes in them. There was also a mattress sponge on top of the actual mattresses which had obviously been folded at one point as there was a massive lump about half way down the bed. This was the source of a fair few nights bad sleep. The source of the other bad nights sleep was the sheets constantly slipping off.

The air con in the room is not actually air con its just an air ventilator system. Not really too much of a problem on the cooler nights but I can imagine would be quite uncomfortable in an already stuffy room with the window only able to open a small amount. At times the air that was being ventilated actually brought in a smell of smoke suggesting that people were smoking near the air vent outside that was bringing the 'fresh air' in.

On the plus side, the en-suite was lovely. On the contrary to the state of the room, it was clean, fresh, and spacious.

The hotel did provide us with drinking water but the bottles were bottle tops (not screw tops) and no bottle opener was provided. Possibly countless drinks being opened without the aid of a bottle opener might have been the source of the multiple stains on the carpet.

The restuarant was lovely and this was clearly where all the money was being spent. The breakfast was not though. Plain, boring. Just a few bits of processed ham and cheese slices, olives, feta cheese, bread, cereals, and scrambled egg (if you got up early enough). We didn't even bother going on one morning and decided to go to a local cafe. On the plus side the view from the restaurant is lovely. We did have lunch there one day which was lovely. The food was fresh and tasty - shame this wasn't the same for breakfast.

The staff at the hotel were really lovely and nothing was too much trouble. They were happy to speak English and did so fluently (a god-send to us non-speaking Polish folk!). The hotel could be so much better if the management took care of it better as its in a great location but I can't imagine wanting to go back should I want to visit Krakow again.

For £50 a night it was value for money but simple things made this hotel such a disappointment!

Room Tip: Don't go for anything to the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrose88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Batory
#52 of 259 in Krakow
472 reviews
Kazimierz
The Secret Garden Hostel
The Secret Garden Hostel
#73 of 259 in Krakow
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zamkowa 15 Apartments
#86 of 259 in Krakow
117 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#13 of 259 in Krakow
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poleski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poleski

Property: Hotel Poleski
Address: ul. Sandomierska 6, Krakow 30-301, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 128 B&Bs / Inns in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poleski 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Poleski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing