We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb little gem outside Krakow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Farmona Hotel Business & Spa
Ranked #53 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Superb little gem outside Krakow”
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I'm normally pretty positive in my reviews but I really couldn't find any fault at all with this charming little hotel in the southern suburbs of Krakow. For those looking for a hotel in the centre of town this isn't for you. It is in a quiet location off the main road and in amongst the trees. Public transport is easily accessible and the friendly staff will advise you how to get into the centre but you are a little way out. We took a taxi one day which came to about 20zl heading in and 30zl home, so wasn't too bad. Bus/tram are far cheaper. It's conveniently on the bus route to the salt mines.

The hotel itself is new and elegantly designed with just thirty guest rooms on two floors. One note: there is no lift so be aware if you have trouble with stairs. On the ground floor, a smart reception with a cosy bar and excellent restaurant to the left. The spa is on the first floor above the restaurant. Both look out at the hotel garden.

The rooms are furnished to a high standard, are a good size and have flat screen TV and free internet access (cables available free from reception). The shower is warm and strong and as it's owned by the cosmetics firm, the complimentary toiletries are cool with lots of free samples. I had no idea what to do with some of them, which is probably a mercy. The beds are very comfortable and the overwhelming feeling in the hotel is one of peace and tranquility.

The restaurant serves high quality and well presented food at a reasonable price, which is fortunate as there is little immediately nearby the hotel. The decor is subdued and cosy and is one of those places where you naturally talk quietly. There is a limited wine selection but the food was delicious and a cocktail after dinner in front of the fire was excellent. We stayed up a bit late but the ever friendly staff were happy enough for us to take our night-caps to our room with us.

This hotel is very much built around the spa and we had to try the facilities. The sauna is free to guests and excellent but I had to try one of the treatments (not beauty though - I am a bloke after all). They specialise in Indonesian treatments alongside the more traditional styles and have to say this is a superb place to try something new. Professional but friendly and highly-skilled - this is definitely the place for a massage. Relaxing and soothing. Book before arrival to avoid disappointment. The range on the website boggles the mind, and there are a few that I'm not brave enough to go for but both of us thought the spa was excellent. I can't tell you about the beauty therapies but Farmona is a cosmetics firm so you may imagine they're very good.

We had a superb deal working out at about £25pppn and I've stayed in far more expensive hotels that weren't nearly as good. Value for money was excellent. If you're looking for nightlife or a town centre hotel to walk to all the sights of Krakow this isn't the right choice. However, if you're looking for a relaxing and calming spa break or somewhere to chill while still being able to do your sightseeing, this is a brilliant option. My recommendation is to book now before they twig and put the prices up. Great service, superb spa, relaxing break. Job done.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lambsie_the_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    110
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
147
12
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Stayed here for a three day break cannot fault this hotel lovley rooms very modern helpful staff first night we had a meal in the restaurant w hich was very good sat outside on the lovley terrace had breakfast here every morning we were fortunate to have really good weather 29 degrees every day probley alittle to warm for sight seeing a must was the trip to autshcwitz we booked in the town centre mini bus picked us up from the hotel we did a trip to the salt mines bus 204 from outside the hotel drops you more or less outside reception staff will point you in the right direction we hired a taxi to get into the centre about a 15 min ride away costs about 30 pln you can catch a tram 10 min walk away takes about 30 mins the only negative is its not near the centre so spent alot on taxis and tea and coffee making facilties would have been nice to have in the room although two bottles of water was left everyday other than that a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyraSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

By purpose I have chosen hotel located in the grean area with it's own garden and close to the Krakow City Center.
This hotel is a beautiful escape place with own beautiful Garden, Spa services, Nice rooms and Great Restaurant. Very Romantic :)
If you want to have Spa threatments, it is better to book those 3-4 weeks beforehand.
Direct web-page to SPA: www.cracowspa.com
e-mail: [---]
tel. [---]
They said that to make recervations it is better to send e-mail to the above mentioned address. Also I found very nice creams and etc. from SPA and hotel to buy :)
By taxi you get to the Krakow City Center in 10 - 15 minutes, to the airport about 30 min. drive.
Rooms are very nice. Restaurant and it's menu is very good. Please visit restaurant in the evening time, it is a most romantic place to spend. Breakfast was also very ok.
There are no shops near the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nata78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2008

Can only fault this hotel on it's distance from the city centre. Although only 15 mins by taxi, this is expensive if returning after 10pm. We chose it for it's proximity to the Divine Mercy Shrine, a 15/20 min walk which was really convenient.

The hotel was well furnished, very, very comfortable, and in pristine condition. We didn't use the spa facilities. Staff were very helpful and the desk was always manned.

Breakfast was very good with something for everyone and plenty of it. Go earlier rather than later though as it sits out for 4 hours and gets a bit elderly by 11am.

No complaints at all. Would recommend it very highly.

  • Liked — Very comfy bed and lovely bathroom
  • Disliked — Location. TV not cable, only some strange Euro channel in English.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank duchess00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HASTINGS
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2008

Excellent hotel if your looking to combine spa treatments with a citybreak. I had four spa treatments at a quarter of the price what they would cost in the UK. However it is a little challenging to actually book the spa treatments and you should give plenty of notice. Spa@farmonahotel.com is the way to book.
To get to and from the airport to the hotel took 30 mins and was 80 zloty by taxi. You can take a train for 9 zloty into the city stn (15 mins) and then tram 19 to Borek Falecki (this takes 20 mins) then bus 204 that starts at Borek Falecki bus stn two stops.
To buy a 1 hour integrated bus/tram ticket costs 3.10 zloty. I wouldnt recommend the bus or tram if you have more than one piece of luggage. This hotel is also excellently located for the Wieliczka Salt Mine as Bus 204 goes right there all for 2.50 zloty.
There is free Wifi and cabled internet access in the rooms but no tea, coffee or mini bar, complimentary bottled water is left daily.
There is a no lift at this hotel however the hotel is only on two floors. Average transportation time into Krakow old town is 30 mins. Bus 204 operates every 15 mins although 20 in evenings and Sundays and the tram connection 19, 8, 22 combined operate every few mins. There is a nightbus hourly from Krakow City Station to Borek Falecki bus 608. Borek Falecki is 10 mins walk from Farmona Hotel. Borek Falecki within 5 mins walk there is a Carrefour, Cinema City and Restaurants.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank RayChapmanHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2008

Enjoyed an excellent weekend break in Krakow as a group of four female friends. The hotel is very new, spotlessly clean and beds etc v comfortable. Spa is good but you do need to book any treatments promptly as they got very booked up at the weekend. The food in the restaurant is good but the staff are very slow. We arrived for an evening meal at 8 in a half full restaurant and were told we couldn't order desserts as the kitchen had closed when we finished our main course at 10! The hotel is about 15 minutes from the city centre by taxi. If I was going again (and Krakow is definitely worth a second visit) I'd choose a city centre hotel because its nice to be able to walk around the square in the evening and have a good choice of restaurants.

  • Liked — Spa - but couldn't book all treatments we wanted
  • Disliked — Location - out of town
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2007

The hotel is new, well designed (with taste) although the location is not very good if you're here for some sightseeing. The hotel is rather far from the city center and the surrounding is quite "industrial" - not much to do in the area.
Considering it's a wellness and spa hotel the location is not so important and it takes little time to get to the city center with a taxi.
The room I stayed in was quite spacious, well furnished, free wifi access in the whole hotel.
The spa is really great and the list of all services is very long.
You'll find a really nice restaurant in the hotel and the food won't disappoint anybody.

Some disadvantages are: smoking not allowed anywhere in the hotel, restaurant's opening time is quite short, some rooms I saw were quite small.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rbrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
4.6 mi away
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#18 of 259 in Krakow
393 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Galaxy
Hotel Galaxy
#34 of 259 in Krakow
1,338 reviews
12.0 mi away
Paszkowka Palace Hotel
Paszkowka Palace Hotel
#187 of 259 in Krakow
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Novotel Krakow City West
4.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Krakow Hotel & Convention Center
4.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Krakow
Hampton by Hilton Krakow
#40 of 259 in Krakow
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmona Hotel Business & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmona Hotel Business & Spa

Property: Farmona Hotel Business & Spa
Address: ul. Jugowicka 10 C, Krakow 30-443, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Krakow
#6 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#24 Family Hotel in Krakow
#29 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmona Hotel Business & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy Farmona Business Hotel & SPA,located in a picturesque old park, constitutes an oasis of peace, where 60 guests can rest in comfortable conditions. The hotel Wellness & SPA ofers a wide range of beauty treatments carried out only with the use of natural products. The guests have a choice of treatments based on the achievements of both European and Far East natural medicine. Here the symbiosis with nature and the belief in the fact that it is an inexhaustible source of beauty, harmony and relaxation form the basis for the philosophy of the Laboratory of Natural Cosmetics - Farmona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Farmona Hotel Business & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmona Business Hotel Krakow
Farmona Business And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing