We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Major
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Grodek(Krakow)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wawel Hotel(Krakow)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Wyspianski(Krakow)(Great Value!)
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Spatz Aparthotel(Krakow)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rembrandt Aparthotel(Krakow)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kossak Hotel(Krakow)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$156
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
8
24
15
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
24
15
5
6
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2010

My wife and I just got back from a trip to Krakow. Stayed at this hotel for two nights. We found the place clean and tidy. All the staff were exceptionally helpful. On first arrival we were a little surprised as the hotel photo on the website makes it look much better than it looks in reality. The outside of the hotel is painted grey and the local area does look a little run down. However, do not worry this is a great little hotel to stay in and is reasonably close to the city center. Our room was a good size with a very nice en-suite shower/toilet. A bus into center will cost approx zl2.50 and a taxi will cost approx zl20 (£5) one way.
All in all we can't say anything bad about this hotel - decent place to stay at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sniggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

A new modern hotel in a quiet suberb of Krakow. Bus 130, 2 mins walk from the hotel every 15 mins and takes 15 mins into the centre. The staff especially on reception were really pleasant and were genuinely keen to speak English and learn what we had been doing each day. The hotel is clean, the breakfast buffet excellent and the rooms great for the purpose of the stay. There is a handy bar and a restaurant which we did not use as the food and bar ambience in Krakow is brilliant. The weather was superb in August, 5 days continuous sunshine. Recomended sites, the Jewish quarter is really interesting with loads of little side alleys with wonderful Art Nouveau style bars but during any visit to Krakow you cannot escape the connection with the Holocost. A short tram ride takes you to across the bridge where the Krakow jews were marched with all their belongings to a Square where Schlinders factory is a short walk. The square itself is a monument and memorial to those who were forced into the Krakow ghetto and contains about 50 copper chairs which signify peoples belongings which were thrown into the square as in the scene in Schlinders List as they emptied the ghetto and moved the people to their final death camp about a mile away. Two segments of the wall remain, a bleak sight! There is the chemist where people met and plotted and a small museum, don't miss it. A visit to Auschwitz is mandatory, do it yourself, easy to get a train to Oswiceim then a 20 minute walk. Its not all stuff of nightmares, its a fascinating museum although the harrowing stuff is there beyond the 'Work will set you free' gates. I thought a room about the size of a school classroom containing hundreds and hundreds of thousands of old shoes was the most moving sight of all. Then take the free shuttle to Birkenau which is the image you are more probably familer with, with the railway lines etc, a truly bleak place. It was interesting trying to explain to the hotel receptionists afterwards what 'Bleak' meant. Beer and food is great value compared to the euro zones, we will certainly be back and stay at Hotel Major.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

The Major is a relatively newly built, modern, small hotel. The room we had was not huge but was adequately sized, well decorated, clean and comfortable.
The breakfast buffet was more than adequate, and was a good start to the day.
Staff were pleasent & helpful.
Location wise the hotel was a little out of the way, but there is a bus stop just down the street, and a 15min bus ride takes you right into the centre of Krakow for about 70p. Being outside the city centre had the added advantage of being in a quiet location, so no traffic or crowd noise if you wanted a good nights sleep.
We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2008

We stayed a tthe Hotel Major in Northern Krakow (15 mins from centre by bus) for our 4 night stay in the city (Feb half term)
The hotel was clean and staff were very helpful and friendly.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable stay.
Although it is not in the centre I prefer the more peaceful location.
Bus 130 only takes 15 minutes direct to the train/bus stations (and Galeria shopping complex).

I recommed public transport (trains/trams/buses) as this is cheap and prompt).
We travelled to Auschwitz and Salt Mines by bus/train and this was done easilty at very little cost compared to organised tours.

A 10PLN day ticket gives you full bus/tram access for 24 hours.
Single trip tickets 2.50 PLN are avaliable from the Hotel reception.

Back to the Hotel.
We has breakfast there which was first class.
Rooms were spacious and clean.
No hot drinks in rooms but bottled water supplied.
Can get tea/coffed at bar area (along with some stronger stuff).

Krakow was a good experience and I would not hesitate using the Hotel Major agian.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

Just back from Krakow last nite and all in all it wasn't too bad! The hotel is a bit off the beaten track but there is a good bus route which is only 2 mins from the door. The bus journey into town is about 15mins- but remember to stamp (validate) your ticket in the machine!! we didn't know to do it and got fined 72ZLN (even after bringing the police!).
The hotel itself is very new, so make sure and carry the address with you as some taxi dirvers may not know where it is. The area around the hotel is quite built up with flats and nothing for tourists we were a bit worried about the area but we had no problems at all. The hotel staff were very accomodating and the food was lovely however you would use the hotel purely as somewhere to sleep as everything to see or do is in the centre of Krakow. If you are looking for a clean, quiet and comfortable hotel then I would recommend this one. If you are going into the centre dont be afraid to venture down the alleys off the main streets- we definitely found some of the best bars and restaurants there!! Try and do some of the trips/tours because after you have walked around for a while we didn't feel there was a huge amount left to do except sample the very reasonably priced beers- 5-8 ZLN was normal but wine was more expensive.
Check weather before you go and bring warm clothes for winter!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews