We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for sightseeing in the Old Jewish Quarter”
Review of Spatz Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spatz Aparthotel
Ranked #40 of 267 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We recently stayed at Aparthotel Spatz for a 4 day city break. I chose the hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews for the location, and I agree that the location of this accomodation is very good for sightseeing in Kazimierz and the Old Jewish Quarter of Krakow.

The hotel was generally small but clean, staff friendly and courteous and ideal for what we had planned during the week. We had a very good price for the hotel via Booking.com for a triple family room, which was big enough for three persons, with 3 single beds and a good sized bathroom. The hotel restaurant is Manzana, which is a Mexican and the food here is excellent. The hotel's cocktail bar is also very good, and drinks were very well priced by comparison to the Market Square and City Centre.

This hotel is ideal if your looking for basic, well priced accommodation which is within good walking distance to Rynek Glowny and The Jewish Getto, Shindlers Factory etc. Good hotel, recommended.

Room Tip: We had room 10 on the 1st floor which had 3 single beds, average space, well sized bathroom. Rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandy_thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia M, Manager at Spatz Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear mandy_thomas,

Thank you very much for your review. We always try to make our guests enjoying their stay. A little tip for the next time: you can book a room directly with us (via email, phone) with our member ship card and you will get the best price. Best regards.
Kind Regards,
Julia Armatys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Great location in jewish quater! Hotel small and rooms average tho very clean, all you really need to get your head down at night.
Staff friendly and really helpfull, underneath hotel is a mexican restuarant with tasty food and cocktails to die for. All in all i would recommend!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jango13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia M, Manager at Spatz Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear jango13,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with other travellers. Firstly, I am glad you liked the restaurant. I will definetely forward your review to the manager of Manzana.
I am happy you enjoyed your visit! It is always good to hear possitive reviews about what you do. You are always welcomed in Spatz and remember about 10% discount next time (I hope you had received our Membership Card. If not, please, tell about it next time).
Kind Regards,
Julia Armatys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in April! The hotel was fantastic in responding to emails and booked a taxi from the airport for us (£13 bargain) - our flight was delayed but the taxi man was still there waiting - with a little sign with our name! I really don't agree with some of the reviews which state that the hotel is tired looking - we had room 5 and it looked like it had been newly fitted! The hotel is in an excellent location! We didn't realise that just behind the hotel there is a lovely square with restaurants and bars - found this on the last night :( the restaurant downstairs was brilliant - a little pricey but good! We ate at a restaurant around the corner on our last night called the binary of taste (although it has a different polish name on the door so ask at reception) I can't recommend this restaurant highly enough - very fine dinning at a fraction of the price! All in all a very good stay- the only reason it didn't get 5 is due to a FEW of the receptionist coming across as a little miserable and unhelpful!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dvickers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia M, Manager at Spatz Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Dvickers99,

Thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry you got a not nice feeling about our staff at the restaurant, we always feel responsible for everything if you are our guest. I am very happy that the Spatz meet your expectations and I remain to your disposal for your future visits. You can always send us an email in order to receive exactly what you expect.
I hope you will forgive us all the inconveniences and the next time will give us 5* :)

Kind Regards,
Julia Armatys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I booked this hotel after reading lots of glowing reviews on Trip Advisor. There are lots of good things about this hotel, the main one being location - it's in a great spot, not too far to walk to the centre, lots of lovely bars and restaurants around. Perfect.

The down side for me was that it is all a bit tired, and in need of some TLC. We had two rooms booked, a double and a twin. Our teenage sons were in the twin room, which was a good size, nice, light and airy - but with curtains falling off their hooks (the cleaners did not seem to notice this, or do anything about it). We were given room 22 - on the top floor (no lift, oxygen needed!), this turned out to be dark, dreary, unloved and awful - especially after seeing the other room! We asked to be moved, but the only room available was again on the top floor - room 26. This was better, but not as nice as the rooms on the lower floor. It had lower ceilings, with Velux windows, so no view to speak of. One of the blinds didn't work, and although we reported it to reception nothing got done about it, so we ended up getting woken early on in the mornings. One other really bizarre thing was that there is an air vent which links room 26 and 27 - and you can hear what is happening in the next door room. At one point I thought the woman in the next room was being murdered, but she had hurt her back and was in agony, her cries came through the vent and I felt I had to help so I went to reception and arranged for a doctor to come out to her. Not the quiet evening I had anticipated! As for the cleanliness, the same large ball of fluff remained on the stairs for the four nights we were there... not sure how the cleaners missed it!

Breakfasts were a hit and miss affair, depending on who took your order. Our first breakfast on the Friday morning was brilliant, they cooked our order perfectly and it was delicious - however no matter how well we explained 'bacon sandwich' on the other days it arrived in a different form every day. One day we just got one piece of bacon on a plate! In the end we resorted to drawing pictures, despite the staff having fairly good English. The weekday staff seem to be much more on the ball than weekend staff.

Would I go back? Yes - but I would request a room that wasn't on the top floor when we booked and take a paper and pencil to draw our breakfast order... :-)

Room Tip: Room 20 - twin room was nice, but had a view ofthe courtyard and houses opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esskay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta K, Kierownik recepcji at Spatz Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the good review of our hotel!

Hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Marta Kutrzeba
Front Office Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned from four nights here in this lovely city We were very pleased with our choice of accommodation. We liked the area, lots of restaurants and bars. 10 minutes walk to the Main Square. Food, Beer and Vodka are very cheap!
We were on the first floor, no lift so this was OK. Would not have liked to be any higher (not getting any younger).
Spotless City, Spotless Hotel and very helpful staff

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lintonlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia M, Manager at Spatz Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Lintonlass,

I am delighted to hear that you were so impressed by the hotel, thank you for recommending Aparthotel Spatz to others through the website and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.
Please consider this a warm welcome for your future return.
Kind Regards,
Julia Armatys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My husband and I went for a long weekend in February. The hotel doesn't look much from the outside when you turn up but is nice when you go in.

We were on the first floor. Which was only one flight of stairs. Rooms were nice and clean. The mini bar was chargeable but wasn't expensive but a nice touch in bedrooms. The only thing was the outside noise. The first night we slept with our window open and got woken constantly from people shouting when walking past. Once closed it was fine and as it was February this wasn't a problem but I don't know what it would be like in summer when the weather is hot.

There is a restaurant in same building with hotel but not part of hotel. Food is lovely and good price. The bar opposite is reasonably priced too. I loved the cherry vodka.


There is lots of nice places to eat near the hotel. We always seemed to go out the front door and go straight but if you came out of hotel and turned left and went round the corner there is some lovely places to eat and little querky coffee bars.

We went on some day trips to the camp and salt mine and had a lovely chap called michal from local taxi firm take us.

We would 100% go back to this hotel and poland. We loved poland and the whole old Jewish area was very theatrical and looked like time had stood still.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curlyclaired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta K, Kierownik recepcji at Spatz Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the good review of our hotel!

Hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Marta Kutrzeba
Front Office Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here nearly two years ago and have booked to go back again in June. The hotel itself is in good location with loads bars and restaurants beside it. The bar and restaurant in the hotel itself were brilliant.. Great food, atmosphere and prices. Staff were also super, couldn't do enough for you. The hotel itself was great.. Rooms spotless and very comfortable, but the main reason we would recommend it was the staff.. When we were there the staff were so helpful and friendly., they were fantastic. We can't wait to return :-)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Edel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia M, Manager at Spatz Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Edel C,
Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of the hotel Spatz on TripAdvisor.
It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its location, indeed perfectly situated on the Kazimierz district in Kraków. Maybe you will have the possibility to come back to see the wonderful Christmas market on main square!
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Kraków soon, until then, we remain
With Best Regards,
Julia Armatys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#13 of 267 in Krakow
507 reviews
Kazimierz
Leone Aparthotel
Leone Aparthotel
#56 of 267 in Krakow
554 reviews
Kazimierz
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#25 of 267 in Krakow
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#52 of 267 in Krakow
601 reviews
Kazimierz
Aparthotel Oberza
Aparthotel Oberza
#83 of 267 in Krakow
163 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 267 in Krakow
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spatz Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spatz Aparthotel

Address: ul. Miodowa 11, Krakow 31-055, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Krakow
#39 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £34 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spatz Aparthotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spatz is a real jewel of Kazimierz district. It is situated in the historic centre of Cracow in cultural, shopping and business area, surrounded by climatic houses. This is an unforgettable journey to the past. Spatz is a perfect starting point for trips to Oscar Shindler's Factory, former ghetto and old Jewish synagogues. Spatz is one of three boutique hotels in Poland that are part of a world prestigious hotels' chain- Epoque Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Spatz Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Spatz Krakow
Aparthotel Spatz Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing