We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch out for City tax a extra charges for breakfast!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Spatz Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spatz Aparthotel
Ranked #45 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Watch out for City tax a extra charges for breakfast!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in may 2014. Hotel is very basic and can be noisey due to passing traffic and other guests. We did not spend much time in the hotel due to this being a short break. Rooms are clean enough although wouldnt look too closely, a little dusty and windows could do with a good scrub. The bed was very soft and very squeaky, even if you rolled over it made a noise!!
The breakfast was just ok with cereal, fruit, juice, fried eggs and sausage on offer but the milk and juice were warm from sitting out!!
The Hotel is in the jewish quarter close to some cool bars and nice restaurants. easy walking distance to castle and main sqaure (15-20min walk to square)
Our main issue with this hotel was when checking out we were asked had we had anything from the mini bar and had we had any breakfasts we needed to pay for. The receptionist Patryca was rather rude and advised that the breakfast would be 84Zloty for the two people roughly £19. However when we checked in we were advised that the breakfast was 50Zloty for two people. I challenged the receptionist on the price and she said it was becasue I had booked the break in December therefore the price was dearer. My response but im eating it in May and didnt pre book. All seemed a little strange, finally she agreed that I would pay 50 zloty but because of the city tax this would mean I must pay 64 zloty. I asked could I have a receipt for this and Patryca advised that the receipt would not show the tax. I then asked to speak to a manager, conveniently a manager was not available and we left paying only what we owed ie 50 zloty we were told that breakfast would cost. Something not right with this receptionist, im not sure if she was chancing her arm but it was all very odd and she was very rude. We had prebooked are stay and paid everything up front therefore we wernt expecting to pay any extras. My advice, when going for breakfast and checking in ask what the price is and maybe pay up front!! Apart from this one staff member we had a rather enjoyable stay in Krakow and would go back but maybe pick a different hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    289
    79
    14
    8
See reviews for
110
454
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed in the Spatz for 5 nights in October 2013, rooms were warm and well furnished. Bathroom was adequate for tourists. Staff were friendly and catered to our every need. Quiet area and breakfast was freshly cooked and served quickly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vixen2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here in mid February for 4 days with my boyfriend. We loved it! Room was bigger than expected, bathroom was a little small but great for just the two of us. Fantastic location to explore the Jewish quarter, close to supermarket and lots of good places to eat! Super friendly staff who always wanted to help us make the most of our trip. Rooms were spotless and housekeepers were helpful when we asked for extra towels or toiletries! Extremely happy with our staff and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again! Great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavella22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

we stayed at this hotel for one night, the location is great, staff very helpful.
very nice bar and restaurant.
we asked for directions and the lobby girl was very clear. we also needed a charger for are phone and got it immediately.
well recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anyway-trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Recently stayed at Aparthotel Spatz, ul.Midlowa 11, within the Kazimierz, Krakow's former Jewish district. Great location for those wishing to visit Wawel Castle and Rynek Glowny (main market square) as easy to walk within 15mins. Staff extremely friendly and hotel very clean. There is no lift, so that is something to be mindful on when booking.

Stayed on second floor, and room was comfortable. Situated on the street side, the room was a good size, and the bathroom although compact, had a great shower; both temperature and pressure wise. No air conditioning in room, so may cause problems for those staying in the warmer months unless you request a room on the upper floor. However, the room booklet advised that fans were available from reception. We did not need one during our stay.

Breakfast was a mix of continental and a small cooked option, which was available upon request. And if you get stuck for somewhere to eat for dinner (which I very much doubt!), you can rely on the Mexican "Manzana" restaurant attached to the hotel. Oh and not forgetting the vodka. Would highly recommend that you try some of the Soplica cherry vodka from the bar!

Overall, great value and would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Only rooms on the top floor have air conditioning. However, fans are available from reception should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeD_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just returned from a hectic long weekend in krakow, staying in this lovely hotel. Situated in the Jewish Quarter, about 5 min walk from the restaurants, and the oldest synagogue in Poland. The hotel is clean, rooms a little small but the beds comfortable and all the room amenities are in place. We had room 11 which is at the back but extremely quiet. The choice of food in the Manzana restaurant is excellent and reasonably priced with a bar in a mexican cantina style with snacks to match. All food is well presented and served. The breakfasts are a mix of continental with a small cooked breakfast.
The reception staff are always willing to show you the best sites to visit, give you directions etc and there is an abundance of maps and booklets available. All the staff are helpful and polite.
Turn left out of the hotel, left again and you come to another large square surrounded by restaurants and bars with a row of takeaway huts in the middle. Most bars serve lager style drinks. We found one on this square called Plac Nowy 1 which serves a brown beer called Majer if you like a change. The hotel is a steady 15 min walk to Wawel castle which is the start of the old city and where you can pick up the hop on hop off bus. The city is well worth a visit and the hotel is an excellent base to do your sightseeing from.
Every place we ate served good food, and even the snacks were huge. There are a lot of Alkohole shops around to get any drinks you fancy, Bison Grass vodka is a speciality and Palona whisky which is matured in cherry casks. There is an alkohole shop next door which seems to attract a few drunks.They can be a bit of a nuisance begging etc but just walk past and ignore them.
That said, this hotel would be our first choice should we come again and we would enjoy it just as much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrandDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We recently stayed at Aparthotel Spatz for a 4 day city break. I chose the hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews for the location, and I agree that the location of this accomodation is very good for sightseeing in Kazimierz and the Old Jewish Quarter of Krakow.

The hotel was generally small but clean, staff friendly and courteous and ideal for what we had planned during the week. We had a very good price for the hotel via Booking.com for a triple family room, which was big enough for three persons, with 3 single beds and a good sized bathroom. The hotel restaurant is Manzana, which is a Mexican and the food here is excellent. The hotel's cocktail bar is also very good, and drinks were very well priced by comparison to the Market Square and City Centre.

This hotel is ideal if your looking for basic, well priced accommodation which is within good walking distance to Rynek Glowny and The Jewish Getto, Shindlers Factory etc. Good hotel, recommended.

Room Tip: We had room 10 on the 1st floor which had 3 single beds, average space, well sized bathroom. Rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandy_thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia M, Manager at Spatz Aparthotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear mandy_thomas,

Thank you very much for your review. We always try to make our guests enjoying their stay. A little tip for the next time: you can book a room directly with us (via email, phone) with our member ship card and you will get the best price. Best regards.
Kind Regards,
Julia Armatys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#10 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Kazimierz
Leone Aparthotel
Leone Aparthotel
#56 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#6 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#21 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Venetian House Aparthotel
#14 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Kazimierz
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#46 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spatz Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spatz Aparthotel

Property: Spatz Aparthotel
Address: ul. Miodowa 11, Krakow 31-055, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Krakow
#39 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spatz Aparthotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spatz is a real jewel of Kazimierz district. It is situated in the historic centre of Cracow in cultural, shopping and business area, surrounded by climatic houses. This is an unforgettable journey to the past. Spatz is a perfect starting point for trips to Oscar Shindler's Factory, former ghetto and old Jewish synagogues. Spatz is one of three boutique hotels in Poland that are part of a world prestigious hotels' chain- Epoque Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spatz Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Spatz Krakow
Aparthotel Spatz Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing