We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Krakow tips”
Review of Spatz Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spatz Aparthotel
Ranked #46 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Krakow tips”
Reviewed 2 November 2008

Fantastic hotel! We had a lovely room. Small but perfectly formed on the 2nd floor (no lift). It was clean, modern and comfortable. The shower room was also small, clean and modern. Great, powerful shower. I borrowed a hairdrier that was better than mine at home!
Breakfast was easy. Small buffet style breakfast with cereal, toast, rolls, cheese, ham and eggs. Orange juice and teas/coffee. The reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
It's easy to get to the hotel. We took the free bus from the airport to the train. We paid on the train to go to the centre of Krakow (6zl each) and then we walked through the plantry (park) to the Jewish quarter where the hotel is. It took us a good 30 minutes but we didn't mind as weather was lovely and sunny and we only had one small bag.
The location of the hotel is great. 15minutes nice walk up the royal route to the central square and 5 minutes to Wawel castle.
We recommend the places we went to - the main square, the salt mines, Auschwitz, the Jewish quarter and Wawel castle. Everyone is offering trips to the salt mines and Auschwitz for around 100zl each. We took the public bus to each and only paid about 20zl to Auschwitz and 3zl to the salt mines. The Auschwitz bus from the bus station leaves at 9.10am (others about every hour!?!?) and it's free to enter. The bus back is about half one (and then again every hour or so) You need to look for the bus that takes you to Oswiecim (the Polish name). It was very moving and not something that was a particularly pleasant. We chose not to do it with a tour guide which I was happy with as we could go at our own speed and everything was very self explanatory. Information boards told you everything you needed to know. It was very busy and the large groups of people where struggling to get round etc.
The salt mines were a little harder to find. We took a bus from outside the shopping centre/train station and had to pay on the buses ticket booth (all in Polish) then no one told us where to get off and it wasn't very obvious but someone on the bus told us in the end. Then we walked down the hill and to the mines (10 mins) When you get to the mines, you have to have a guided tour and the English tours are at specific times. We went on the 5pm tour. It lasts 2 hours and is really amazing. You walk down 380 steps and through lots of passages. The only bit that was uncomfortable was the lift back up. It's a miners lift that is like a double decker cage! It lasts about 30 seconds but very tightly packed with people you don't know!! The fee is about 64zl for the English tour and 10zl for a photo permit. You can get a minibus back to the centre of Krakow if you wait by the Salt mines bill board at the bottom of the hill. 5zl back aswell.
Wawel castle has great views of the river and town. We paid to go into the cathedral - 10zl each which allows you to go up the tower to see the main bell - but the best bit by far are the most amazing views from the top window over the whole of Krakow! We went very early and were the first in at 9am. If you wait till 10am you can pay 3zl to see the dragon and go down the steps into the cave etc but we didn't want to wait so we just walked out of the castle and long the river (5 mins) to the fire breathing dragon. Good fun!
Lots of nice food - cheap and easy! We ate in Avocado (opposite the hotel) as we were meeting friends and needed something near our hotel. It was really good food! Huge portions, nice surroundings and great staff. We also got a card from the hotel that gave us a complimentary drink - pink fizz!
The bars in the Jewish quarter are said to be very hip. We went to quite a few - one with singer sewing machines for tables, one with stuffed crocodiles and one that needed a good, deep clean but full of people! (Alcemy or something - it's on the corner in the square)
The prices in the main square are higher than else where as you would expect. We also struggled to find 'Polish' food. It was mainly Italian inflenced dishes. We ate in 'padre' (Wislna 11) which was a cellar restaurant with good reviews and an interesting mix of Italian and Indian food - not on the same plate!
We loved Krakow and would definately recommend it (and our hotel).

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bronzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    308
    80
    15
    8
See reviews for
122
464
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, Cheshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

We were a party of two staying at the Spatz on the 29th -31 st October 2008.

We flew by Ryanair (who had unfortunately put our flight back by a few hours so we only arrived at 14:30) As time was limited I arranged for a company called Hotel Raider to transfer us to and from the hotel at a cost of 150 pzl / 44 E. They were very prompt efficient and friendly. They saved us later that day when we had problems finding the bus station (20 minute walk from hotel) and we were not going to meet the 17:00 deadline at the Salt mine (last English tour) I called them and they sent a taxi to the train station within two minutes (75 pzl one way) - we arrived at the Salt mine with three minutes to spare! The Salt mine was interesting and took 2 hours guided walk to get around (with an option of a further hour in the museum) We returned to Krakow at 20:00 via public transport - the little white contra bus was at the main road slightly down the hill and to the right. It cost 2.5 pzl each -bargain!

We ate that night at the Avocado resto bar across the road. It was very nice....in fact we went back the next night! Meals averaged 7 - 10 Euro. Beore your meal arrives they serve beautiful fresh warm bread with Oive oil and balsemic vinegar - This is charged on your bill at 6 euro. Caraf of wine is about £7. I had the lamb ... it was beautiful though huge!

Reception was warm and welcoming and we were booked in promptly. We stayed in Room 8 on the first floor. It was bright clean and modern containing everything we needed. Storage (with three hangers) hair drier and tea and coffee making facilities (you ask in the restaurant downstairs for milk) They provide soap bars and mini shampoo and shower gel containers. The bed had two single quilts on and a large soft flat pillow. We were very hot the first night but it was better on the secnd night when we left the window open. The only minus point is that at night it was noisy. Where the hotel is located the Miodowa is very busy with cars and at night the sounds of people returning to their accommodation. (that is the only reason why I did't rate 'Excellent')

Breakfast was served downstairs in the Mexican restaurant area. There was plenty of cereal, salad, meat , plate of cheese and bread rolls. They also asked whether you would like eggs ... they came any way you wanted them to. They did have sausages but not as I have ever seen them before (huge steaming and pasty.... they were probably delicious!) Coffee and range of teas and fresh juices were also provided.

The following day after walking around the Market square we went to Aushwitz-Birkenau by public transport. The bus station is at the back of the railway station in a black building. We went under the railway to get to it. (We still don't know where to get the contra bus in Krakow -though it is only slightly cheaper than the coach bus) It cost 10 pzl each way and we found that the stopping and started actually gave you an opportunity to observe polish villages. When you arrive note straight away the shuttle bus times to Birkenau. We didn't and as it is only every hour and we had just missed it ended up taking a taxi (15pzl) I'm glad we went and paid our respects. I wish we could have gone when it was less busy ... there are hoards of coaches of people (particularly young people) and it is sometimes difficult to read the information.

On the Friday morning 31st we wandered around Stare Maestro. The weather had been beautiful - a blessing. At 11:30 (open to the public) We went into St Mary's church which is lovely. We walked up to the Barbican (old walls) and at the top of Florianska went into the Mc Donalds for a coffee..... (toilet really!) Go downstairs ... I have never seen a McDonalds like it ..... lovely

We arrived back at the hotel just on 12:00 and had lunch at the hotels own restaurant Manzana .The food was gorgeous! I had fajitas- the meat peppers and onion came on a sizzling platter (28 pzl)

Polish people are lovely and all in all we had great time!

  • Liked — staff, comfort, cleanliness .... restaurant and bar!
  • Disliked — mmmm.... bit noisy
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, NI
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2008

This hotel has a great location and is within walking distance of most if not all of the tourist locations and sights. The level of service given to us was excellent and the rooms we had were on the second floor and were very spacious by hotel room sizes. The breakfast was nice and always freshly prepared to order and the hotel bar had a nice relaxing atmosphere. Would recommend this hotel as a great location for tourists.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No hairdryer in the room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bluebell15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield England
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We stayed in the Spatz for 3 nights in Oct and loved it especially the young staff who were always very helpful,opening doors etc.The freshly cooked eggs at breakfast were a real bonus.The room was a good size(please more hanging space) and the tea making facilities an extra for a European hotel.For the price we had a really good stay,loved the area,good local restaurants,5 mins to the sights and shops.Would definitely reccommend it .

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank Akela61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

We loved the Hotel and very much enjoyed our stay. The room was on the top floor (no. 28), and very characterful with open beams. We think the room was probably smaller than the lower level rooms with small windows and no view, but there was still plenty of space, We didn't get slippers! There was no aircon, but we did have a fan and even in October the room was very warm. Fresh towels / bed linen have to be requested and the room was not cleaned during our stay and by day 4 we felt the bathroom and floors could have done with a clean. Perhaps you need to ask for cleaning, too.
Breakfast was good, but you need to ask for bacon.
Despite this sounding quite negative - we really enjoyed the hotel and would recommend to friend and would stay again.
The hotel's location was excellent, close to loads of bars and restaurants.
Trams stop close by, but we walked into the main square each day. If arriving in Krakow by train, Trams 10 and 19 can be caught near the train station, disembarking at the stop after the Castle and you are 5 minutes walk to the hotel.

  • Liked — Space
  • Disliked — No daily cleaning
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WeegieWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

nice hotel, the rooms are nice and clean with clean towels available at any time.
beds are comfortable the bathrooms are really nice with a power shower.
hairdryer is supplied along with coffee and tea making facilites.
the bar is very nice but the drinks are not cheap there but staff are very helpful.
breakfast is the continental type, nice and loads of it.
the hotel is only a 15 mins walk to the square and less than 10 mins to the castle
would recommend this hotel

  • Liked — location and food
  • Disliked — a bit noisy because of the marble floors
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2008

Stayed for four nights at the Spatz, and found we had unearthed another great place to stay. As many previous reviewershave said, the staff here are absolutely first class. The receptionists were great, advising on what to do, where to go, and asked how we had got on when we returned. They even enquired about a concert on our behalf and made calls to find out why our airport transfer hadn't arrived at the time we expected. The guys were happy to carry cases and open doors, and looked after our luggage on the day we came back.

There are no lifts as everyone suggested, but our room was only on the first floor, so no problems for us - the one over the balcony on pics of the hotel. The room was one of the superior, and was very spacious, had an excellent bathroom complete with robes and slippers. Tea and coffee (although no milk so we tended to pinch some at breakfast, and they did run out of coffee on the last day), plus hair-dryer. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows huge and very soft. Nice to have a table and sofa plus chairs in the room as well.

Location was pretty good - the trips pick up from the Hotel Royal, in front the castle, and is literally only 5 minutes. Some nice places to eat nearby (we did a Polish and an Italian within 6-7 minutes walk), and also found a great bar/restaurant (can't remember the name, but left hand side going up Stradomska, junction with Agnieszki towards the castle, with Heineken sign hanging outside!!) - served some of the biggest bowls of pasta ever seen and neither of us could finish them, and only about £4 each!!

The bar was good, although the glasses of wine were only 100ml! Breakfast pretty good on the whole, although maybe a little more choice might have been nice (only eggs, omelettes and sausages as hot choices), and again staff in both were very helpful.

Great base to explore from, very comfortable, very warm indoors, with excellent staff. Can't see where it could have been bettered for the value and comfort we got. Would recommend without a doubt.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — Not much!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wornomad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Leone Aparthotel
Leone Aparthotel
#59 of 259 in Krakow
488 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#4 of 259 in Krakow
980 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#12 of 259 in Krakow
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#50 of 259 in Krakow
153 reviews
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 259 in Krakow
918 reviews
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#18 of 259 in Krakow
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spatz Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spatz Aparthotel

Property: Spatz Aparthotel
Address: ul. Miodowa 11, Krakow 31-055, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Krakow
#39 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spatz Aparthotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spatz is a real jewel of Kazimierz district. It is situated in the historic centre of Cracow in cultural, shopping and business area, surrounded by climatic houses. This is an unforgettable journey to the past. Spatz is a perfect starting point for trips to Oscar Shindler's Factory, former ghetto and old Jewish synagogues. Spatz is one of three boutique hotels in Poland that are part of a world prestigious hotels' chain- Epoque Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Spatz Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Spatz Krakow
Aparthotel Spatz Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing