We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality hotel.”
Review of Hotel Rubinstein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Rubinstein
Ranked #77 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Wick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great quality hotel.”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Met all of our expectations. The welcome was excellent, room was large and very well presented with a superior quality shower room. Although we ate out most nights we always had breakfast in the hotel and were never disappointed, with the vast array of cheeses, fruits, fish, bread, cereals and pastries. The two evening meals we had were of amazing quality.
The hotel is located in the old jewish quarter, which suited us perfectly.
Truly a lovely hotel of excellent standards, ideal for couples looking for a quiet break.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nisbet45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    132
    22
    18
    10
See reviews for
66
196
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We arrived pretty early - 10.30am & knew that check in may not be possible, but one of our two rooms was ready ...result... so we put cases in & headed out. The hotel is beautiful & clean & the staff could not be more helpful or pleasant.
Located on the square - a great location within a 20 minute walk of the old town/castle. The area is a must for fantastic restaurants too.
Our room - 302, was huge & the comfiest bed ever! The bathroom was amazing! Breakfasts were excellent with a huge choice that set us up for the day.
I have no hesitation in recommending the great hotel - go, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah--X0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Nice hotel, very comfortable for a short stay and a good location in the Jewish quarter. Would have liked to have stayed in a more authentic room as ours was a bit dingy with a boring view. Fabulous bathroom and comfy beds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if you're going for the romance and the atmosphere of staying in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22Natty05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my mum, dad and sister for a family break. The hotel is located in a prime spot for the immediate Jewish quarter and a fifteen min walk from the old town! The staff couldn't do enough for us and were very helpful in advising us of places to visit and transport. We visited Auschwitz with a group organised through the hotel which I imagine saved a lot of bother with travel. We used public transport to visit the salt mines which was very simple- 304 from the galaria krakowska!! Half the price of the arranged tour and the bus is only half an hour! A tour of the old town is recommended also! The hotel has many restaurants and bars around it. There is a rooftop terrace in the hotel which would be ideal for when the weather is nice! We had breakfast in the hotel each morning and as the other reviews say it is excellent! All in all, the hotel is excellent value for money and a great location!! We plan on returning to this hotel as our three day break was not long enough to cover everything the city has to offer!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This traditional style hotel was a very pleasant, last minute booking. Recently completely rebuilt, (with a little work still being undertaken), the Rubinstein is a cosy small hotel in the Jewish Quarter of Kazimierz, with only 27 rooms. Unfortunately ours was a modern room on one of the upper floors, rather than one of the traditionally furnished rooms with beamed ceiling. Even so, it was large, comfortable and completely spotless. The bathroom was a joy: marble, underfloor heating and 'mood' lighting at floor level. Bath time with wine has never been such a delight! Beds are warm and comfortable, with everything you could want other than tea and coffee making facilities.

Breakfast, for us, was in the lower ground restaurant - although it moved each day due to the continuing building work (which was not noisy or disruptive in any way). A buffet with great selection of fresh produce: cheese, meats, pastries. If you want something cooked, then do try the scrambled eggs: beautiful golden yellow and full of flavour.

There is a small jacuzzi/sauna and fitness area on one of the upper floors but you must ask at reception for this service as it is not left open for general use. The real plus for this hotel is its reception staff who are only to happy to help with all needs and enquiries. Dariusz in particular, is a very welcoming young man who is well informed and passionate about the area's history and was a pleasure to talk to when planning our trip to Auschwitz. He was equally keen to hear our views on our return - and seemed to enjoy any opportunity to use the English language. Normally we like to make our own way to local areas of interest. However, for Auschwitz I would certainly recommend taking an organised trip. We were in a minibus of about 14 people which picked us up and dropped us off at the hotel and organised introduction to guides and transport between sites. We could easily have wasted half a day trying to do this ourselves.

The Rubinstein is well located for eating out. There are many hotels within easy walking distance, and, once again, Dariusz was able to recommend restaurants to suit all tastes and pockets. Our favourites were U Sasiada (for more formal dining) and Chajim Kohan (an informal 'museum' type interior in the same street as the hotel).

We stayed for 3 nights but really 4-5 nights are needed to see enough of Krakow to get a full idea of its history in a more relaxed way. The Rubinstein is a hotel that I would fully recommend to anyone wanting to visit this area - either for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Views of street from front rooms. Request a lower floor if you want to experience the traditional fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_BugReading_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Standard room this time, previously stayed for 7 nights and had a superior room which was large with larger bathroom, this time a smaller room but still just as nice.
Breakfast is an excellent choice and you may select items from the cooked menu also.
Location is superb with Old Town about 20 minutes walk away, same in the other direction for Podgorze just over the bridge. Tram stop very close if required. Ten minute walk to centre of Kazimierz. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby too.
Staff are nearly all extremely pleasant and helpful apart from the man who blew smoke into my partner's face while he walked through the bar and abruptly asked "Yes?". Very unfriendly and uncalled for, we do not expect this kind of treatment.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square may be quieter than those facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_dude_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Krakow is a marvelous place to visit as a tourist, and it has many wonderful sites to see. Of particular note are the very friendly local folks. Most of the younger people speak English, and are helpful if you have questions or are just seeking directions. In the heart of the old Jewish Quarter lies the Rubinstein Hotel - named after the cosmetics founder (Helena Rubinstein) who grew up next door to where the hotel is located. The hotel staff is most pleasant and helpful and in front of the hotel is a large open area with numerous tables - served by the restaurants on either side of the hotel. There are also restaurants and bars across the street from the restaurant. Likewise, across the street from the hotel is an area where you can pick up one of the modified golf carts (for lack of a better description) to carry you all around Krakow. You can usually negotiate a lower price the service. The hotel is about a 25 minute walk from the Castle and a shorter walk to the Old Town Market Square. The rooms at the hotel are quite nice and some have antiquities in the room. The entire hotel was renovated (rebuilt) and the 'before' photo's should not be missed. The room we had was very large and well appointed. However, the phone did not work and could not be fixed while we were there since the wall had to be opened up to fix the phone, Also, if you have a late arrival - be sure to call the hotel a day or so before your arrival and remind the staff that you will be coming in late - just to ensure that your room is not given to someone else. All-in-all a very convenient, enjoyable place to stay. jr

Room Tip: Ask for a room with antiquities - whether an old statute or painting. Also, ask for a room that doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#95 of 259 in Krakow
442 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#23 of 259 in Krakow
503 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#13 of 259 in Krakow
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Spatz Aparthotel
Spatz Aparthotel
#47 of 259 in Krakow
859 reviews
Stare Miasto
Kossak Hotel
Kossak Hotel
#19 of 259 in Krakow
1,403 reviews
Kazimierz
David Boutique Hotel
David Boutique Hotel
#70 of 259 in Krakow
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rubinstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rubinstein

Property: Hotel Rubinstein
Address: ul. Szeroka 12, Krakow 31-053, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#42 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#53 Business Hotel in Krakow
#60 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rubinstein 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rubinstein is a place with many faces. It combines functions of a restaurant, accommodation, as well as a conference and artistic center. Hotel Rubinstein offers its guest 28 comfortably appointed rooms: 4 single rooms, 10 standard double rooms, 9 deluxe double rooms and 5 exclusive suite apartments. All the interiors characterize a typical for Hotel Rubinstein boutique character and rich furnishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rubinstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rubinstein Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing