We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel and location”
Review of Hotel Rubinstein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Rubinstein
Ranked #69 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2009

The Rubenstein is a fully and recently renovated building in the heart of the Kazimierz district - the old Jewish quarter outside the main centre of Krakow. Sited in the Szeroka Square it is surrounded by other hotels, restaurants and bars, in a world of its own. It takes about 15 minutes to walk into the heart of Krakow from the hotel which means you return at night to some peace and tranquility, away from the noise and hubub of central Krakow. A lovely location and excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thecolourgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2009

Me and my girlfriend have decided to visit Kraków during the first weekend of May. We had an opportunity to stay at Rubinstein Hotel for a special price, so we decided to give it a try.

The hotel is located in Kazimierz - the old Jewish district of Kraków at Szeroka street which means wide street - it is really wide :-) It looks like a little square. It is lovely place! Lots of restaurants, gardens, hotels and tourists. There is even a police station. Hotel's building has been completely renovated what you can see at hotel's website. They did a really good work. It looks great! Double room rate is over $210 USD which is very expensive. That's almost the same as in five star Sheraton.

We got room number 105 at the first floor. It was very small. Not at all in comparison with official pictures from the website. Hopefully the room had air condition, comfortable double bed, little desk with a chair, little LCD TV with a few poor quality channels, fridge with extremely expensive alcohol miniatures (I really can't understand why most of hotels don't want guests to use mini bar?) , slippers, sewing kit. No restaurant menu, no welcome fruits or wine. The bathroom was also very small, but designed very nice! Especially automatic fancy floor light :-) There were some free cosmetics in the bathroom. Shampoo, bar of soap, body balm, but no shower get at all which was disappointing. This room had a view to Starowiślana street. It is rather noisy street as there is a tram track, so you hear passing trams all the time since the very morning...

A the top on the building (the 5th floor) there is jacuzzi, little GYM, sauna and a nice terrace. We had a chance to have the jacuzzi only for both of us :-)

The breakfast is served near the lobby bar. I must say that we were VERY VERY disappointed with it. Usually breakfast in a hotel is one of the best things. Especially in four stars hotel. There is a cold buffet with some meats, cheese and vegetables. Tea and coffee booth (NO lemon and NO sweetener!). Milk, some fruit juices. Hot items were on a'la carte basis. Mainly eggs (scrambled, hard boiled etc.) and some sausages and frankfurters. I have ordered my favorite scrambled eggs with beacon and chive. i got some chopped ham almost with no eggs, PLENTY of black pepper and a large piece of fresh chive. Not tasty at all! I also ordered frankfurters - they tasted like the lowest quality ones. Really awful! Unfortunately there were also no fresh newspapers everyday (maybe because of weekend). We haven't tried the restaurant.

The service was fine. The staff very gentle and friendly, so I can't complain.

It is really nice and good quality hotel, but they need to improve some things to be the best. If you had an opportunity to stay there for half price - it's worth a try! :-)

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alojzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

Just stayed at the Rubinstein for a weekend with husband and 14 year old daughter. Our room was ready on arrival and was a front facing room overlooking the square. It was huge and made a great change from squeezing around a 3rd bed. The bathroom was well equipped with lovely fixtures and the funky lighting was a highlight for my teenager!
We walked up to the Main Square in about 15 leisurely minutes at various times of day and it was pleasant. Also visited Galleria Kazimierz which is a large shopping mall about 5-10 minutes walk the other way from the hotel.
The first night we ate at the hotel and the restaurant was SUPERB. The meal was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious - this chef is good. The breakfasts were fresh and tasy - both the cold selection and the hot eggs orders too.
The 2nd night we ate across the square at another restaurant, as we felt the ambiance in the Jewish Quarter was so convivial and safe, rather than heading back to the main Square where no doubt it would have been lively with more stag weekenders (as it had seemed to be lively at mid-day).
We sat out on the Saturday evening after dinner at the hotel tables in the square and enjoyed the atmosphere. The hotel is currently offering 10% off meal bills if you are a resident. Service was excellent throughout from the reception to the restaurant + bar staff.
The hotel had so much character and has been wonderfully restored. It was so nice not to feel like you were in a "chain" style hotel.
We are not Jewish, however I wish we had done a Jewish tour of the area on the Friday as obviously Saturdays are not possible and we were leaving for the airport on Sunday morning.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerkshireWildthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

We had a great weekend at The Rubinstein Hotel - the rooms are very nice, bathrooms superb and so clean. Our only "complain" was the noise from the trams right outside our room. Started at 0430 am. So ask for a room at the frontside. Breakfast is delicious - they are making omelets etc. at your request. Also all types of coffee and tea, fruit, yourhurt and so on.
The location of the hotel is fantastic. There are a lot of restaurants at the front square and just a short walk (10 min) to the old town. We loved it, and hope to go back. Krakow city is very beatiful, the Salt mines and the Maria Churh is a must. We used taxi - remeber to ask for price.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrammenDrammen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

I have just returned with my daughter from a 4 night stay at the Rubinstein Hotel. What a wonderful hotel - fantastic service, beautiful food (plenty of it), good sized bedrooms with a beautiful bathroom, great location and all located in a lovely city. There are lovely restaurants close by and you are only about 10-15 minutes walk to the centre of the town. There are a lot of roadworks just now in and around this area but do not let that put you off. Krakow off is a wonderful city to visit and the Hotel Rubinstein is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Anamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Wonderful hotel right in the Old Jewish Quarter. The room (for 3 of us) was huge with three very comfortable single beds. The bathroom was lovely and everything was spotless. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us maps and tour leaflets when we checked in.

The breakfast was really good with a cold buffet and also a selection of hot dishes all included in the price.

There are quite a few restaurants and a couple of nice bars very close to the hotel and the main square is around a 15 - 20 minute stroll.

Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeenaGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2008

Just back from a 3 night stay in the Rubinstein. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Our room was spacious and well equipped with huge shower, wooden panelled ceiling, flat screen TV etc. We made use of the jacuzzi on the top floor and the staff were so helpful. The breakfast choice was huge- we didn't eat lunch at all! Also I noticed there were fresh flowers all around the hotel on a daily basis which was a nice touch.

The location is in a lovely square and there are a dozen restaurants nearby. You could easily walk to the castle and we used the trams a few times to get to the Old Town.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Elizinishargy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#44 of 261 in Krakow
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#12 of 261 in Krakow
1,322 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 261 in Krakow
1,002 reviews
Kleparz
PURO Krakow Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rubinstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rubinstein

Address: ul. Szeroka 12, Krakow 31-053, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#42 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#53 Business Hotel in Krakow
#60 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £47 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rubinstein 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rubinstein is a place with many faces. It combines functions of a restaurant, accommodation, as well as a conference and artistic center. Hotel Rubinstein offers its guest 28 comfortably appointed rooms: 4 single rooms, 10 standard double rooms, 9 deluxe double rooms and 5 exclusive suite apartments. All the interiors characterize a typical for Hotel Rubinstein boutique character and rich furnishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, HostelWorld, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Rubinstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rubinstein Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing