We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet comfortable hotel with great breakfast and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rubinstein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Rubinstein
Ranked #63 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quiet comfortable hotel with great breakfast and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2009

From the moment I made a 'phone call to this hotel check on availability, I knew we had made the right choice! The receptionist was extremely polite and friendly and looked forward to welcoming us. Location is in the quiet old Jewish quarter square but only pleasant 15 minutes from the main square. The outside terrace vies for business with the many other restaurants in the square and daily specials on two for one cocktails were on offer!
We booked a family 3-bed room which was roomy enough with powerful air conditioning. The bathroom didn't have the trendy floor lighting mentioned in other rooms and the only complaint / comment I would make is that the towels were hard. Breakfast is a laid back affair and was probably one of the most comprehensive I've seen. Cooked breakfasts are cooked to order and the plentiful buffet, with plenty of smoked salmon, is restocked regularly and varied every day.
The lights in the bathroom failed one morning, mentioned it at reception, and when we came back from breakfast they had already been fixed! I would definitely recommend this hotel for its chic boutique style, quality of breakfast and polite staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exploratio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    126
    22
    16
    9
See reviews for
63
193
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

This hotel should be 2 star or possibly 3 at a push. It is a good 20 minutes walk from the city centre through dark dodgy streets. Service can be very hit and miss depending on who's on duty. If you're unlucky enough to be given a room facing the street be prepared to be awake each morning from about 5 am as the trams clatter past until late at night. Be careful if taking a taxi from the area of the train station/shopping centre as rip off merchants operate from there and demand 10 times the legitimate fare.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

This hotel should be a two star perhaps three at a push.It is a good twenty minute walk from the city centre through dark dodgy streets.Service is hit and miss,depending on who is on duty.If you are unlucky enough to be givena room facing the street be prepared to be awake around 5 am, as the trams clatter past the window,and continue until late at night.Be careful of ripoff merchants operating taxis from the railway station/shopping centre area who demand ten times the legimate fare

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

Booked hotel through Expedia and we were not disappointed. The hotel was charming and the staff were generally helpful and knowledgable. The hotel is situated in the atmospheric district of Kazimierz, containing a wonderful array of museums and places to eat.

The room was bright, clean and airy with a great power shower! Breakfast was served in an atrium style room with original exposed features. On offer for breakfast was a large selection with something for everyone.

A couple of minor disappointments were that there was little mention of the sauna and jacuzzi on the top floor and you need to book it in advance. There was also no mention that there is a charge for using these facilities .... until checkout! Being winter, it would also have been nice to have tea/coffee facilities in the room.

Would recommend asking for a room on one of the higher floors - we were on the 3rd floor and there was a very small amount of noise from the club next door which could be louder on lower floors.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkinBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2009

The Rubenstein was a wonderful place to stay, so good I almost want to keep it a secret! Lovely clean room with a superb marble bathroom with mood lighting. Tastefully decorated and in keeping with the building. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We ate in the restaurant twice and honestly couldn't fault it........delicious and really well presented. Loved the location, like stepping back in time. If ever we are in Krakow again we would certainly stay at the Rubinstein.......a real gem!

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

My wife and I ended a ten day tour of the Baltics with two nights in Krakow. We obtained a good rate through Booking.com and so chose the Hotel Rubenstein. The Hotel Rubenstein is probably one of the most satisfying hotels in which we have stayed over the last 20 years we have lived overseas.

Situated within the old Jewish district of Kazimierz on Szeroka Street, the boutique hotel itself overlooks a small square that is filled with restaurants, almost of which have charming sidewalk cafes. I am 60 and the lovely location is a 10 or 15 minute walk from the old town and castle, so is convenient for walking at a slower pace. For families and those choosing not to walk, very convenient golf cart tours of the city were available immediately outside the hotel.

The 15th century building has been completely renovated and they did an excellent job from the small ground floor dining room to the Jacuzzi on the fifth floor. We stayed on the fourth floor, and while the room did not match one of those shown on the website, it was air conditioned and clean with a view of the square. The spacious room consisted of twin beds (comfortable) with nice soft pillows (not the hard bags of cement usually found in hotels), armoire, TV and mini-bar (both unused by us), and desk and chair (also unused). The bathroom consisted of a large, modern kidney shaped tub with a sit-down shower.

Breakfast was served in the small inside dining room off of the lobby and small bar. The buffet consisted of a large choice of excellent quality cold meats, cheeses, fruit, breads, two different juices and coffee and tea. Hot items freshly prepared in the kitchen were offered at no additional cost (I had an excellent omelet while my wife enjoyed the French pancakes).

The hotel was quiet and we found the staff to be uniformly courteous and helpful at all times. This is not a hotel for business travelers, but rather for couples with time to enjoy the ambience of the area. Should we obtain a comparable rate, my wife and I would without doubt stay at the Hotel Rubenstein should we visit Krakow again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnsors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

A fantastic boutique hotel wih great staff and great service- very nice location very close to the city centre I would highly recommed this hotel

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bim66London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#10 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#89 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Kazimierz
Spatz Aparthotel
Spatz Aparthotel
#43 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
David Boutique Hotel
David Boutique Hotel
#76 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Stare Miasto
Wawel Hotel
Wawel Hotel
#23 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#44 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rubinstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rubinstein

Property: Hotel Rubinstein
Address: ul. Szeroka 12, Krakow 31-053, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#42 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#53 Business Hotel in Krakow
#60 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rubinstein 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rubinstein is a place with many faces. It combines functions of a restaurant, accommodation, as well as a conference and artistic center. Hotel Rubinstein offers its guest 28 comfortably appointed rooms: 4 single rooms, 10 standard double rooms, 9 deluxe double rooms and 5 exclusive suite apartments. All the interiors characterize a typical for Hotel Rubinstein boutique character and rich furnishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rubinstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rubinstein Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing