We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean metropolitan feel with great menu”
Review of Plac Nowy 1

Plac Nowy 1
Ranked #58 of 1,521 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$11
Cuisines: American, Italian, Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our main motto is to provide you with a cozy and modern place where you can spend time with family, friends or business partners, tasting American, Italian and Polish quisine, prepared according to our Chef's recipes. We invite you to taste beer taken from small local breweries for even more great experience!
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Clean metropolitan feel with great menu”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by the taxi driver from the airport. It was a great tip.
This is a new place (opened May 2014) in the Kazimierz district. The menu is contemporary and eclectic with plenty of choice. They were also flexible with choices - e.g. We wanted chip and aioli as a side and this was no problem. The aioli was fab. Sadly the chips were hard and lukewarm.
There is outside seating on the pavement which is good for people watching in this more funky, boho district. The downside is the smokers. Why can't restaurants separate smoking/non-smoking areas outside? There's also an inside garden area.
The food was good. We chose light chicken liver pate and prawns in garlic to start, followed by beef teriyaki salad (great flavour & crispy fresh) and carbonara.
Service was friendly, helpful and surprisingly efficient given 2 big tables that came in before & after us
The big drawback here is the wine list. The only option for a glass or half bottle is a Slovenian wine. After a decent Chilean Merlot the contrast would be hideous. What a missed opportunity not to sell up by offering an extra glass of something a little more sophisticated before and after your meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zetland41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    239
    70
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lemont, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Food in Kazimierz”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We found this restaurant after walking around Kazimierz and choosing it based on it's trendy feel. The decor has an urban but trendy feel. The food was excellent. Wild boar burger, Roasted Salmon with Polenta, and the pizza were all enjoyed by our group. If you're in Kazimierz, I'd recommend this place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LoveTheWildWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great ambiance ,Bad service , average food, ”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This place looks so great from the outside and i thought I would be worth while going in for a bite .. The interiors and ambiance are impressive ... But the food is average first course tempura shrimp .. Great batter but the sauce was way too sweet.. Next up basil gnocchi would be great but not seasoned at all .. Last up desert was disappointing cause the Creme anglaise sauce was like water and lacked any flavor .. Took almost 25 minutes for anyone to take my order .. But I hope it gets better coz this place has great potential

Helpful?
Thank Johann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant restautant”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Plac Nowy 1 is in the Jewish district, not far from the Plac Nowy square in the Kazimierz district. Modern and trendy Polish food, it is definitely worth a try if you're in the area!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Zapiekanka heaven”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Best place to eat zapiekanka, but be careful about the pigeons. Also try out the surrounding cafes. You can find interesting stuffs on second hand stalls.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zehra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plac Nowy 1 also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Plac Nowy 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing