We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms, perfect service”
Review of Free Hostel

Free Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Free Hostel
Ranked #327 of 448 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We arrived on the 16th of august. We have booked a private room for 4 persons. The hostel is very nice and big. The employers are very friendly and kind. There is a good ambiance with people from all over the world. The service is good, clean chambers and a comfortable bathroom. It's also close to the centre of the very nice city Krakow. Only 10 minutes walk! I like this hostel and would recommend this to everybody who is planning a trip to krakow.

Room Tip: Book a private room if you need more privacy. Altough, for young people it's nice to share rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very good hostel, clean, every room has its own bathroom. Breakfast was included in the price. Near the city centre, which is very important, you can go almost everywhere on foot. The staff was very helpful.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank J1626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

his is my honest opinion of the place.
location: 3 trams station away from the bus terminal. or walk for 25mins. 10min walk to old city square
customer service: very helpul
cleanness: place was clean and tidy
bathrooms: Dorm of 8 had 1 own bathroom and shower. I was in there with 3 people so it was not used heavily.
extras: 1 computers to use as well as WIFI good. Kitchen is big and had everything including a fridge and microwave. Breakfast was great with polish ham and cheese.
Noisy: quite
Breakout area: the ground floor in kitchen
Suggestions: No air condition in the place or rooms, quite warm here in summer...

Room Tip: You can swing a cat in the dorm... Dorm called happy hour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrOzboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The hostel is next to stare miasto,it's like maximum 10 minutes walking.Staff couldnt be better.Very helpful and nice behavior. We left our luggage for 6 hours before the check in and also for many hours after the check out.And due to some problems with our train schedule,we were permitted to stay in the common room for like 5 hours and we had already check out earlier that day.The hostel is very interesting inside,with coloful paintings on the wall.Breakfast is the most satisfying someone can get at a hostel with so reasonable prices.Recommend it definitely for a pleasant and very affordable stay in krakow!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KtEliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

A very friendly hostel close to the centre (about 10 minutes walk). Clean and nice rooms with lots of interesting colourful paintings on the walls. It really suited our group of 20 students and two teachers. All rooms had private bathrooms. We were allowed to leave our luggage in the hostel as we arrived earlier than check-in time. Breakfast was really good with ham, cheese, jam and cereals. Coffee and tea was self-service all day in a very nice common room area. As we were the only guests on the corridor, we had the common room to ourselves to use for meetings, too. We were asked every night what time we would like breakfast and it was on the table ready at the time we asked for. Very friendly receptionists and youthful atmosphere. The only downside was the noise of the trams in the rooms that were on the side of the street. Great value for money. We would book it again.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank 598KateV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Good hostel, clean, enough places for big groups, close to the city center! There are o lot of interesting drawings in the hostel's rooms. Staffs were knowledgeable and they recommended us where to spend our time in Krakow! Good luck and thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
3  Thank ZeljkoPetrovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I spent couple of days around NYE 2013 in Krakow, in a "Free hostel", which I can say was totally worth the money we paid. It is well located, just 10 min from the center by walk, easy to find, quite interesting, youngish interior. We had a room upstairs, with 3 beds, quite clean for a hostel and luckily no big noise from outside or other rooms, though those rooms of 5+ people around the kitchen and common area, totally had the issue with noise, so take care if you can choose the room you can be at. Common area is ok, breakfast simple but enough - self service (corn flakes, bread, butter, jam and ham). If you leave the food in fridge, write your name on it, cause it might disappear. There is a pizza place just under the hostel so you can order food from there as well. All in all, satisfied for a low budget choice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Classy_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Wesoła Zachód
Atlantis Hostel
Atlantis Hostel
#31 of 448 in Krakow
273 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Kazimierz
Metropolitan Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Topolowa Residence
#1 of 261 in Krakow
589 reviews
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#44 of 261 in Krakow
1,665 reviews
ibis Krakow Centrum
#64 of 261 in Krakow
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Free Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Free Hostel

Address: ul. Starowislna 32, Krakow 31-032, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 448 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range: £11 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking not only for a place to sleep but most of all a place where nice, open people, professional staff, comfortable rooms and especially "free" atmosphere are waiting for you, our hostel is a perfect choice! Even in a rainy day you can enjoy your time in Free Hostel. We do our best to make you feel safe, comfortable, like at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Free Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing